2022 年最佳黑色星期五/网络星期一特卖 点击这里 🤑

如何知道是否免费 WordPress 插件值得使用

作者

启动 WordPress 网站并不是天生的困难。 但是,关于 WordPress 许多网站所有者在使用它一段时间之前不会理解。 至少这就是它对我的工作方式。

当你 着手建立一个网站 在世界上最流行、灵活且易于使用的内容管理系统 (CMS) 上,您必须从一个想法开始。 从那里来的东西,如:

简而言之,这就是奠定一个良好网站的基础。 但是,作为 WordPress 网站所有者,您将需要补充您网站的基本整体 设计与 WordPress 主题,并使用 WordPress 插件。

有时这意味着利用免费的主题和插件 WordPress 用户

但是是免费的 WordPress 值得使用的插件?

今天,我将为您简要概述 WordPress 插件是,在哪里可以找到您的网站,以及如何判断免费插件是否值得使用。

什么是 WordPress 插入?

根据 WordPress 法典,插件提供的网站通常是轻量级和灵活的增强自定义功能,以满足网站所有者的个性化需求。

WordPress 插件是具有自定义功能的软件,可以在您的网站上启用新功能或使您的网站执行特定功能(例如 添加联系表格 或阻止垃圾邮件)。

WordPress 插件使用PHP编程语言编写,并无缝集成到 WordPress。 而且,它们使各个级别的网站所有者都可以轻松地向其网站添加功能,而无需了解代码的复杂性。

免费 WordPress 插件- WordPress 知识库
点击 WordPress 知识库 并找到大量的免费插件。

实际上有成千上万 WordPress 官方提供的插件 WordPress 知识库。 事实上,截至目前,还有 免费51,090 WordPress 可供选择的插件。 当然,你的网站上永远不需要那么多的插件。

这是因为许多插件提供了非常相似的功能。 因此,您必须进行研究并根据自己的特定需求选择最佳的研究。

在哪里找到 WordPress 插件

除了 WordPress 存储库,许多第三方 交易市场 提供免费和高级插件 WordPress 用户。 因此,要仔细研究成千上万的选择并做出决定是困难的。

好消息是,有这么多免费的优质音乐 WordPress 从购买高级插件中选择的插件并非总是唯一的选择。 实际上,一些免费的插件远远超过了高级竞争对手,您可以在其他地方花钱。

但是哪里可以找到免费的最佳地方 WordPress 插件吗?

好吧,要解决这个问题并不容易。 而 WordPress 存储库为您提供了很多选择,还有一些令人难以置信的第三方公司和开发人员可以提供优质的服务 WordPress 网站所有者的插件, 免费.

这就是为什么,而不是列出每个地方,您都可以找到免费的地方 WordPress 插件,我将与您分享一些提示,让您知道何时开始安装免费版本 WordPress 网站上的插件,以及何时谨慎使用-无论它来自何处。

选择免费的提示 WordPress 插件

1。 如果它来自存储库..这很好

免费 WordPress 插件- WordPress 存储库示例插件
每种设计和功能需求都有免费插件; 你只需要找到它们。

好的,我知道我已经说过有一些很棒的第三方公司和插件开发者可以为网站所有者提供高质量的免费插件。 而且,我仍然坚持这一点。

但是,如果你真的想确保你的免费插件是好的,那么从中获取它 官方 WordPress 知识库。 插件目录位于 WordPress.org不允许任何免费 WordPress 插件在那里列出。

实际上,他们有一个非常严格的筛选流程,旨在保护网站所有者免受臃肿,编码不良和易受攻击的插件的侵害,这些插件会对网站造成严重破坏。

2。 确保代码质量

免费 WordPress 插件-清洁代码
WPMU DEV 是可靠的来源 WordPress 内容和插件。

如果您决定使用其他来源的插件,可能会遇到挑战。 WordPress 插件目录。 这是因为任何人都可以声称自己的插件是“干净编码”,“没有膨胀”和“可靠使用”的。

但事实是,有大量的免费插件,由经验不足的插件开发人员编写得很差。 更糟糕的是,有一些旨在将您的网站暴露给黑客和恶意软件,使您的网站面临风险。

确保免费插件安全使用的最佳方法之一是对插件开发人员进行一些研究。 如果开发人员在 WordPress 社区,经营着名的 WordPress 网站,在插件开发方面有多年的经验,并且有来自现有用户的社会证明,那么使用它可能是安全的。

3。 检查 统计

免费 WordPress 插件-Jetpack统计
流行的(和免费的)Jetpack插件拥有超过3百万活跃用户。

有几种统计数据可供您选择免费商品时检查 WordPress 您网站的插件:

  • 最近更新时间。 确保插件在过去6个月左右的时间内进行了更新。 过时的插件中可能包含漏洞,可能会使您的网站容易受到攻击。 此外,您的更新 WordPress 版本可能不适用于过时的插件。
  • 活动安装。 积极使用插件的人越多,导致问题的可能性就越小。 例如,
    Yoast 已超过3百万次安装。
  • WordPress 版。 就像选择最新的插件一样,重要的是该插件必须与最新版本的 WordPress.
  • 收视率。 社会证明可以(也许应该)影响你的插件选择。
免费 WordPress 插件-Jetpack统计-评分
选择免费插件时应考虑评级。

4.寻找支持

免费 WordPress 插件-Jetpack支持论坛
Jetpack 的支持论坛总是热闹非凡。

免费插件并不总是附带的一件事就是支持。 毕竟,如果您不为插件付费,则开发人员没有义务提供任何形式的支持。 但是,这并不意味着不需要支持。 如果您的插件有问题,很高兴认识那里的人会有所帮助。

任何高质量的插件都会有一些支持。 通常,免费插件有一个支持论坛。 但是,有一些插件开发人员会直接帮助您。 此外,一些第三方公司也有支持团队来帮助您,即使使用他们的免费插件。

5。 测试现场速度

免费 WordPress 插件-查询监视器
使用Query Monitor插件来衡量免费插件对您网站的影响。

为了确保您在网站上使用的免费插件真正轻量级,这对您至关重要 衡量网站的速度 之前和之后的性能和安装它。 以下是一些很好的方法:

最后的思考

最后,没有理由不应该在您的免费插件上使用免费插件 WordPress 网站。 如此众多可靠的产品提供了足够的功能,您不必“仅仅因为”就将血汗钱花在了高级插件上。

也就是说,在网站上安装免费插件时,绝对应该采取预防措施。 特别是如果它不是来自可信赖的 WordPress 库。 即使这样,仍应谨慎使用过时的不受支持的插件。

总之,如果您听取我的建议并进行研究,就会发现自己拥有高质量,免费的武库 WordPress 满足您各种需求的插件。

您免费使用的经验是什么 WordPress 插件吗? 我是否有一个重要的技巧来决定免费插件是否值得使用? 我很想在下面的评论中听到所有关于它的信息!

加入我们的通讯

订阅我们的每周综述通讯,获取最新的行业新闻和趋势

点击“订阅”即表示您同意我们的 使用条款和隐私政策.

How to Know if A Free WordPress Plugin is Worth Using

Written by

Starting a WordPress website is not inherently difficult. However, there is a lot about WordPress that many website owners will not understand until they have been using it for some time. At least that’s how it worked for me anyway.

When you set out to build a website on the world’s most popular, flexible, and easy-to-use content management system (CMS), you have to start with an idea.  From there come things such as:

In short, this is all it takes to lay the foundation of a good website. However, as a WordPress website owner, you will need to supplement your site’s basic overall design with a WordPress theme, and implement added functionality with WordPress plugins.

And sometimes this means utilizing the free themes and plugins available to WordPress users

But are free WordPress plugins worth using?

Today I am going to give you a brief overview of what a WordPress plugin is, where to find them for your website, and how to tell if a free plugin is worth using.

What is a WordPress Plugin?

According to WordPress Codex, plugins offer websites that are normally lightweight and flexible enhanced custom functionality to meet a website owner’s individual needs.

WordPress plugins are pieces of software with custom functions that enable a new feature on your website or make your website perform a specific function (such as add a contact form or block spam).

WordPress plugins are written in PHP programming language and integrate seamlessly into the core of WordPress. What’s more, they make it easy for website owners of all levels to add features to their websites without having to understand the complex nature of code.

Free WordPress Plugins - WordPress Repository
Visit the WordPress Repository and find tons of free plugins.

There are literally thousands of WordPress plugins available in the official WordPress Repository. In fact, as of now, there are 51,090 free WordPress plugins to choose from. Now of course, you will never need that many plugins on your website.

This is because many plugins offer very similar features.  That’s why you have to do your research and pick the best one for your specific needs.

Where to Find WordPress Plugins

Besides the WordPress Repository, many third-party marketplaces offer free and premium plugins to WordPress users. Therefore, wading through the thousands of options and making a decision is tough.

The good news is, however, there are so many high-quality free WordPress plugins to pick from that investing in a premium plugin is not always the only option. In fact, some free plugins out there far surpass premium competitors allowing you to spend money elsewhere.

But where is the best place to find free WordPress plugins?

Well, the answer to that is not an easy one. While the WordPress Repository has plenty of options for you, there are also some incredible third-party companies and developers that provide premium quality WordPress plugins to website owners, free of charge.

That’s why, rather than list every single place you can find a free WordPress plugin, I am going to share with you some tips for knowing when to go ahead and install a free WordPress plugin on your website, and when to be cautious – no matter where it comes from.

Tips for Choosing a Free WordPress Plugin

1. If It Comes From the Repository.. It’s Good

Free WordPress Plugins - WordPress Repository Example Plugins
There are free plugins for every design and functionality need; you just need to find them.

Okay, I know I already said there are some great third-party companies and plugin developers out there that provide high-quality free plugins to website owners. And, I still stand by that.

However, if you really want to make sure your free plugin is good, get it from the official WordPress Repository. The plugin directory at WordPress.org does not allow just any free WordPress plugin to be listed there.

In fact, they have a very strict screening process in place designed to protect website owners from bloated, poorly coded, and vulnerable plugins wreaking havoc on websites.

2. Ensure Code Quality

Free WordPress Plugins - Clean Code
WPMU DEV is a reliable source for WordPress content and plugins.

This can be challenging if you decide to use a plugin that is from a source other than the WordPress plugin directory. This is because anyone can claim their plugin is “cleanly coded”, “free of bloat”, and “reliable to use”.

But the truth is, there are tons of free plugins out there that are poorly coded by inexperienced plugin developers. Worse yet, there are some out there that are intended to expose your website to hackers and malware, putting your website at risk.

One of the best ways to ensure your free plugin is safe to use is to do some research on the plugin developer. If the developer has a solid presence in the WordPress community, runs a well-known WordPress website, has years of experience in plugin development, and has social proof from existing users, then it's probably safe to use.

3. Check the Stats

Free WordPress Plugins - Jetpack Stats
The popular (and free) Jetpack plugin boasts over 3 million active users.

There are several statistics you can check when it comes to choosing a free WordPress plugin for your website:

  • Last Updated. Make sure the plugin has been updated within the past 6 months or so. Outdated plugins may have bugs in them that can make your site vulnerable. Additionally, an update to your WordPress version may not work well with an outdated plugin.
  • Active Installs. The more people actively using a plugin, the less likely it is to cause you issues. For example,
    Yoast has over 3 million installs.
  • WordPress Version. Just like choosing an up-to-date plugin, it is important the plugin work well with the most updated version of WordPress.
  • Ratings. Social proof can (and possibly should) influence your plugin choices.
Free WordPress Plugins - Jetpack Stats - Ratings
Ratings should be taken into account when choosing a free plugin.

4.  Look for Support

Free WordPress Plugins - Jetpack Support Forum
Jetpack's support forum is always bustling with activity.

One thing that free plugins do not always come with is support.  After all, if you are not paying for a plugin, there is no obligation on the developer’s part to provide any kind of support. However, this does not mean that support is unnecessary. If you have issues with your plugin, it’s good to know someone out there will help.

Any high-quality plugin will have some sort of support in place. Typically, free plugins have a support forum. However, there are plugin developers that will help you directly. Moreover, some third-party companies have support teams to help you, even with their free plugins.

5. Test Site Speed

Free WordPress Plugins - Query Monitor
Use the Query Monitor plugin to gauge the effects of free plugins on your website.

In order to ensure that the free plugin you are using on your website is truly lightweight, it is crucial you measure you site’s speed and performance both before and after and you install it. Here are some great ways to do just that:

Final Thoughts

In the end, there is no reason why you shouldn’t use free plugins on your WordPress website. So many reliable ones out there provide enough features that you shouldn’t have to spend your hard-earned cash on a premium plugin “just because”.

That said, there are definitely precautions you should take when installing a free plugin on your website. Especially if it does not come from the trustworthy WordPress Repository. And even then, outdated, non-supported plugins should be used with caution.

In all, if you heed my advice and do your research, you will find yourself with an arsenal of high-quality, free WordPress plugins that meet your every need.

What is your experience with using free WordPress plugins? Have I left out a crucial tip for deciding whether a free plugin is worth using or not? I would love to hear all about it in the comments below!

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.