轉換 WordPress 站點到靜態HTML(以提高速度,安全性和SEO)

Written by

WordPress 已成為首選的 CMS 選擇。 對於博客或企業而言,這是最簡單、最快捷的上網方式,其多功能性、定制化以及設置和操作的簡便性是首屈一指的。

然而,這確實有很多不足之處,這就是為什麼人們尋求其他替代方案的原因,或者在這種情況下,人們尋求一種更完善的解決方案,同時兼顧兩個方面的優勢。 是的,我們正在談論 轉換 WordPress 網站到靜態HTML網站,而不會放棄您的 WordPress 不育系.

換句話說,像我們正在討論的那樣的設置將使您可以輕鬆地使用以下方法管理內容和網站: WordPress 同時避免了與CMS相關的一些重大問題,包括 黑客漏洞,速度和性能問題,過度依賴 託管服務 等等。

但是,當我們逐步引導您完成所有工作時,讓我們一次只做一件事情 轉換的利弊 WordPress 網站到靜態HTML網站 以及您可以用來執行此操作的不同選項。

WordPress 及其越來越受歡迎

WordPress全球最受歡迎的CMS(內容管理系統). CMS 基本上是允許用戶創建和管理他們的 沒有任何編碼知識的網站.

和 WordPress 事實證明,他擅長於此。 它非常通用,並提供大量插件,使用戶無需觸摸代碼即可在網站上實現他們想要的任何功能。

WordPress的多功能性也是其受歡迎的原因,這一點在以下事實中顯而易見: 它目前的功率約為33.5% 互聯網上的所有網站。

WordPress 網站和您必須考慮的重要因素

雖然我們只是給您概述 WordPress, 這也是 重要的是要考慮以下方面的安全性,性能和SEO: WordPress 網站 因為它們通常是影響企業整體Web體驗的關鍵因素。

安全性 這是大多數用戶沒有給予太多重視的令人驚訝地低估的因素。 有很多成功的企業倒閉,而且永遠無法從其網站和數據的重大安全漏洞中恢復的案例。

可以公平地說 WordPress 不能提供最好的安全性,尤其是默認情況下。 但是,您可以聘請專家或採取一些安全措施來提高您的整體水平 WordPress 網站的安全性。

幾乎相同 性能 方面。 默認情況下,性能並非完全不理想, WordPress 網站確實需要進行一些優化才能更有效,更快捷地運行。

(搜索引擎優化) 方面當然是東西 WordPress 與其他 CMS 選項相比,具有相當的優勢。 WordPress 網站非常容易針對SEO進行優化,並且有許多插件可以滿足您網站幾乎所有的SEO優化需求。

但是許多用戶仍然發現需要遷移到其靜態版本 WordPress 網站。 讓我們找出原因。

動態與靜態網站

我們已經介紹了與 的動態性質 WordPress。 實際上有 主題和插件可供選擇的無盡選項 您可以輕鬆快速地為您的網站提供所需的外觀和功能,而不必完全弄亂代碼。

資料來源:https://www.pluralsight.com/blog/creative-professional/static-dynamic-websites-theres-difference

這種動態的性質確實有其自身的局限性,這是我們需要更詳細討論的內容。

從技術上講,動態內容意味著每次用戶訪問您的網站時,都會發出請求,並且將從您的數據庫中獲取所需的數據,以為他們提供他們所請求的內容。

想像一下,對於中高流量網站,這種情況每月發生一百萬次,對於真正高流量的網站,每月發生一千萬次。

這確實引起了一些擔憂,尤其是在性能和​​安全性方面。 至於前者,您網站的速度往往會受到影響,這是 搜索引擎優化的重要因素 Google的眼睛.

但是還有更多。 由於數據庫有其自身的局限性,因此流量的巨大峰值可能會導致它停止運行,因為它可能無法處理增加的負載,從而導致您的網站也關閉。

而且,即使與您的網站位於同一服務器上的許多其他網站之一的流量激增,您的網站也可能會崩潰。 廉價的共享主機服務.

然後是安全部分。 大多數黑客事件通常發生在數據庫方面。 此外, 開源平台,例如 WordPress 更容易受到黑客攻擊,因為攻擊者所需要做的就是找到一個特定的漏洞,以後可以將其擴展到更高的級別。

同樣,就像性能一樣,如果與您的站點託管在同一數據庫上的其他任何站點都遭到了黑客入侵,那麼您的站點被黑客入侵的機會也會大大增加。

不用說,這些問題在維護方面確實需要很多。 過時的主題和插件會使您的網站更容易受到安全性和其他問題的影響,因此需要定期進行更新。

任何被黑客入侵或感染了惡意代碼的插件或主題也會導致大規模的黑客嘗試和攻擊,因此您還需要注意所使用的主題和插件的類型,並刪除已變得易受攻擊的主題和插件。

然而,大多數真正關心的用戶 他們的安全 WordPress 網站 還必須實施額外的安全措施,例如高級安全插件。

靜態網站的優勢

由於靜態站點不使用數據庫,因此它們不易受到上文討論的大多數潛在問題的影響。 此外,它們還提供了許多性能和安全性優勢。

讓我們在下面詳細介紹它們。

安全性

正如我們上面提到的, 靜態網站不需要使用數據庫。 這表示 它不能被黑客入侵 通過SQL注入(SQLi)和跨站點腳本(XSS)等做法入侵數據庫,這一點在 WordPress 網站取決於數據庫。

同樣,僅通過在與您的網站相同的數據庫中入侵其他網站也無法入侵靜態網站。 靜態網站也不會受到大多數使用開放源代碼軟件的網站(例如, WordPress 是。

您也不會因為使用過時或受感染的主題或 免費插件。 因此,僅通過使用靜態網站,就可以顯著提高網站的安全性。

速度

上面我們討論了 動態網站可能存在速度問題 因為他們需要向數據庫發出請求並從中獲取請求的內容。 但是作為 靜態網站使用預渲染的頁面而不是數據庫,因此加載速度更快 因為與動態網站沒有來回牽扯。

資料來源:https://www.thecrazyprogrammer.com/2016/11/difference-between-static-and-dynamic-websites.html

速度的提升不僅有助於確保更好的用戶體驗,還可以讓您了解 Google 在 SEO 方面。

保養

同樣, 對於靜態網站,沒有插件或主題可以定期更新。 在速度或性能優化方面沒有太多要做。 無需聘請專家來提高靜態網站的速度或性能。

與動態網站的流量峰值相比,不必擔心何時會有流量峰值。 所有這些事情無疑意味著維護您的網站更加輕鬆,並且能夠更好地專注於在線業務中更重要的部分。

靜態網站的缺點

至於靜態網站的弊端,很大程度上取決於您的工作方式 轉換您的動態 WordPress 網站變成靜態網站。 由於使用插件通常是比使用其他解決方案更受歡迎的選擇,因此讓我們從這種角度討論缺點。

對於普通用戶來說太技術性了

將動態站點轉換為靜態站點可能對普通技術而言太過技術化 WordPress 用戶。 其中涉及許多複雜的步驟,在此過程中的任何錯誤都很難修復。

例如,如果您決定使用熱門 靜態插件 要將網站轉換為靜態網站,您首先必須創建一個子域並轉移您的 WordPress 在插件設置中設置靜態站點以接收站點文件的同時,在此處進行安裝。

如果您的 WordPress 安裝和您的網站文件位於不同的服務器上,則您必須將靜態文件下載為zip文件並將其上傳到您的服務器。

如果您以前沒有做過這樣的事情,它可能很快就會變得不知所措,並且為錯誤和混亂弄了很多空間,這可能很難修復或代價很高。 一些相當常見的潛在問題包括圖像文件未與站點的其余文件一起傳輸,或者CSS遇到問題。

沒有簡單的CDN選項

如果您還不知道,CDN 是指內容交付網絡。 它基本上是一個向用戶提供靜態站點所需文件的源,最好是從最靠近大多數用戶的位置的位置,以便他們獲得 快速加載時間.

現在,由於沒有靜態站點生成器插件(包括我們上面提到的Simply Static)都使用CDN來為您處理此任務,因此,這將留給您。 換句話說,您將必須在此處配置自己的解決方案。

功能限制

談到功能方面,使用靜態網站生成器插件創建靜態網站有很多限制。 您不能使用聯繫表格,具有網站搜索功能和評論,或其他任何功能動態的事情。 使用第三方解決方案是一種選擇,但它可能會變得昂貴且難以設置。

另外,如果您的站點上有很多重定向,那麼通過靜態化,您將失去在SEO方面獲得的很多優勢。 這是因為插件不會為您的網站創建.htaccess文件,而是為所有重定向使用元標記,這對SEO不利。

最後,還有一個事實是,使用插件生成的靜態站點也存在一些維護困難。 這裡要注意的最大事情是,您對網站所做的任何更改都將導致整個網站被重新發布,這對於較小的網站可能不是什麼大問題,但對於較大的網站可能會花費大量時間。

如何轉換 WordPress 網站變成靜態HTML網站?

現在,您已經知道製作自己的利弊 WordPress 網站靜態,讓我們討論如何實施此更改,您有兩個選擇以及如何克服大多數弊端。

靜態網站生成器插件

如上所述,您可以 WordPress 通過使用靜態站點生成器插件之一來實現站點靜態,最流行的選項是Simply Static和WP2Static。 但是,如果您決定使用這些插件中的任何一個,則必須處理上面討論的限制和問題。

話雖如此,讓我們在下面快速回顧這兩個流行的選項。

簡單靜態

只是靜態的 wordpress 插入

簡單靜態 is 最受歡迎的靜態網站生成器插件 超過20,000 WordPress 在撰寫本文時使用它的網站。 它可以幫助您創建靜態版本的 WordPress 您可以在鎖定訪客的同時為訪客提供服務的網站 WordPress 將其安裝在安全的地方,無論您在哪裡。

這可以幫助您避免與以下情況相關的大多數潛在安全問題 WordPress 網站,同時藉助預先渲染的靜態頁面,您可以更快地向訪問者提供內容。

WP2靜態

WP2靜態 wordpress 插入

WP2靜態 is 另一個流行的靜態網站生成器插件 允許您提供靜態版本的 WordPress 網站,同時讓您使用 WordPress 用於管理您網站的內容。

它的一些其他流行功能包括從您的 顯示它正在使用的站點 WordPress 這樣一來,黑客就不會感興趣,可以選擇使用它以GitHub頁面形式提供的一種選擇來免費託管您的網站,以及其他選擇,在導出任務完成後發送桌面通知,等等。

雖然默認情況下它不適用於WooCommerce或會員網站,但是您可以使用第三方工具,例如 狙擊車 使其在這些類型的網站上也能正常工作。

此外,您還可以使用WP2Static的付費附加組件來進一步增強靜態站點的功能,其中包括靜態表單轉換器(在靜態站點上具有聯繫人和其他表單),高級CSS處理器(更好地自定義站點外觀) ),高級抓取和檢測等功能。

總而言之,在某些情況下,使用其中一個插件可能是一個不錯的選擇,尤其是包括 提供登錄頁面,而不是整個網站,或沒有動態元素(如評論)的較小網站。

那麼在這些情況下有什麼更好的選擇? 讓我們在下面找到。

無服務器靜態 WordPress 託管解決方案

有一些第三方解決方案可以作為 靜態,無頭 WordPress 網絡主機,是使用插件的絕佳選擇,因為它們可以幫助您解決與插件相關的問題。 讓我們回顧一下3種特定的解決方案,這些解決方案確實是使您的業務全面發展的絕佳選擇 WordPress 網站靜態。

地層

層狀無頭靜 wordpress 託管

Stattic 無頭 WordPress 主機,可讓您創建輕量級的靜態版本 WordPress 網站,同時允許您使用 WordPress 像往常一樣作為後端。

與其他選項不同,它可以創建您的靜態版本 WordPress 網站,Strattic超越了有限的功能,擁有遍布全球的龐大CDN網絡,這意味著無論您網站的訪問者來自何處,他們都將始終以極快的速度加載它們,因為它們將從最接近該位置的位置提供內容他們的位置。

分層儀表板

分層斷開動態 WordPress 網站上的網站,並將其放在身份驗證後面的其他URL上,因此只有網站所有者可以訪問該網站。 您可以繼續使用 WordPress 就像您一直擁有的一樣-營銷人員仍然可以添加內容,您仍然可以添加插件,依此類推。

同樣,它也設法克服了傳統靜態站點生成解決方案的大部分限制,這要歸功於動態元素的內置功能,例如 聯繫表格,網站搜索功能等等。

Strattic自豪地宣稱它是無服務器靜態的 WordPress 具有自己的無服務器架構的託管解決方案,該架構可自動消除與託管服務器相關的大多數黑客漏洞和性能問題。

分層託管計劃

Strattic的入門計劃每月收費35美元 並具有一個網站的所有功能。 無論您選擇哪種計劃,Strattic都會免費為您處理遷移過程。

哈代出版社

無服務器 wordpress 託管

哈代出版社 是另一個無服務器託管選項 WordPress 用戶。 它實際上比Strattic便宜得多,而且個人網站計劃的價格也差不多 每月5美元 (如果您按年付費),但在功能方面不會缺少任何東西。

優惠價格

提升你的 WordPress 網站的表現 和安全性在任何時候! 訪問者訪問您網站的完全靜態版本。 你的真實 WordPress 安裝位於單獨的域中,並且僅在編輯者需要對內容進行某些更改時才運行。

實際上,它更通用,因為它允許您使用所有 WordPress 沒有任何前端動態組件的插件。 HardyPress還支持流行的聯繫表7,
同時在您的網站上實現自己的搜索功能。

就像Strattic一樣, WordPress 將您的網站安裝在一個單獨的域中,除了您自己,同時創建網站的完全靜態版本(在全球有30個位置)以更快地加載時,您除外。

它的其他一些功能包括SSD技術,HTTPS,關閉您的計算機的功能。 WordPress 實例等等。

Shifter無服務器靜態 WordPress 託管

如果您想與自己的靜態環境保持一致,則是另一個不錯的選擇 WordPress 現場。 它 允許您使用所有 WordPress 主題 和插件(帶有動態元素的插件除外),同時易於設置和維護。

使用 同 WordPress 主題,插件和您熟悉和喜愛的工具,而無需擔心託管問題或機器人和黑客的威脅。

一鍵式選項幾乎可以完成您需要做的所有事情,以及設置新站點或遷移舊站點 WordPress Shifter使站點變得輕而易舉。

安全性和性能將與我們上面回顧的其他兩個靜態站點生成選項一樣好,具有一些非常簡潔的功能,包括部署到 Netlify 和通知 鬆弛,甚至根據您的需要進行自定義集成、啟用 HTTP/2 的網關、IPv6 部署等。

它有 您的評論和聯繫表的替代方法 並與基於Shopify的電子商務網站一樣好。

轉移定價

至於定價,它的最基本計劃(無自定義域選項)可免費用於一個網站,而最便宜的自定義域計劃則定價為 每月16美元.

轉換 WordPress 靜態HTML網站:摘要

轉換 wordpress 網站到靜態html網站

靜靜地與您 WordPress 網站有很多好處,但並不適合所有人。 雖然這很大程度上取決於您的喜好和需求,但是根據經驗,如果您傾向於登錄自己的 WordPress 儀表板每天或每天幾次,然後可能會使 WordPress 站點靜態將給您帶來比實際更多的維護麻煩。

也就是說,即使您不傾向於對自己的內容進行太多更改 WordPress 網站,您應該時不時考慮要使用哪個選項才能過渡到網站的靜態版本。

儘管對於預算有限的用戶來說,插件選項似乎很誘人,這可能會導致大型網站難以處理的問題。 但是,這可能是一個不錯的預算選擇 登陸頁面 和小型的純內容網站。

如果您需要更多功能或功能相當龐大 WordPress 網站,然後使用其中之一 第三方無服務器靜態 WordPress 託管解決方案 我們上面回顧的是要走的路。 它不僅可以確保超級順暢的過渡,還可以讓您使用 WordPress 就像以前一樣,同時還為聯繫人表格和網站搜索等重要的動態元素提供了內置功能。

最後,請記住 向靜態過渡肯定會提高整體速度,性能和安全性 您 WordPress 網站,這是 僅在不需要使用太多動態元素的情況下.

如果您這樣做,那麼 優質共享託管 和適當的 速度和性能優化 是您應該追求的。

首頁 » WordPress » 轉換 WordPress 站點到靜態HTML(以提高速度,安全性和SEO)

加入我們的通訊

訂閱我們的每週綜述通訊,獲取最新的行業新聞和趨勢

點擊“訂閱”即表示您同意我們的 使用條款和隱私政策.

Converting WordPress Sites to Static HTML (To Boost Speed, Security & SEO)

Written by

WordPress has become the go-to CMS choice. It’s the easiest and fastest way to get online for a blog or a business, and the versatility, customization, and ease of setup and operation are second to none.

Yet, it does leave quite a bit to be desired, which is why people seek other alternatives, or in this case, a more complete solution that offers the best of both worlds. Yes, we are talking about converting WordPress sites to static HTML sites without ditching your WordPress CMS.

In other words, a setup like the one we are talking about would allow you to have the ease of use of managing your content and site with WordPress while avoiding some major issues associated with the CMS including hacking vulnerabilities, speed and performance issues, overdependence on a hosting service and so on.

But let’s take one thing at a time as we walk you through all the pros and cons of converting WordPress sites to static HTML sites and also the different options you can use to do it.

WordPress and its growing popularity

WordPress is the world’s most popular CMS (Content Management System). A CMS is basically software that allows users to create and manage their websites without any coding knowledge.

And WordPress turns out to be pretty good at doing just that. It’s very versatile and offers tons of plugins to allow users to implement any kind of functionality they want on their website without having to even touch the code.

WordPress’s versatility is also the reason for its popularity, which is clearly evident in the fact that it currently powers about 33.5% of all the websites on the internet.

WordPress sites and the important factors you must consider

While we just gave you an overview of WordPress, it’s also important to consider the security, performance, and SEO of WordPress sites as they tend to be crucial factors when it comes to the overall web experience of your business.

Security is a surprisingly underrated factor that most users do not give much importance to. There are more than a few cases of successful businesses going down and never being able to recover from major security breaches of their website and data.

It’s fair to say that WordPress doesn’t offer the best in terms of security, especially by default. However, you can hire an expert or take some security measures to improve the overall level of your WordPress site’s security.

Pretty much the same goes for the performance aspect as well. While the performance isn’t exactly bad by default, a WordPress site does require a fair few optimizations to be more functional and faster.

The SEO aspect is certainly something WordPress has quite an edge on compared to other CMS options. WordPress sites are very easy to optimize for SEO, and there are many plugins that handle almost all the SEO optimization needs of your site.

But many users still do find the need to migrate to a static version of their WordPress website. Let’s find out why.

Dynamic vs. static websites

We have already covered most of the important benefits related to the dynamic nature of WordPress. There are virtually endless options to choose from as far as the themes and plugins are concerned so that you can easily and quickly give your website the kind of look and functionality you want without having to mess around with the code at all.

Source: https://www.pluralsight.com/blog/creative-professional/static-dynamic-websites-theres-difference

But this dynamic nature does come with its own limitations, which is something we need to discuss in a bit more detail.

Dynamic content technically means that every time a user visits your website, a request will be made and the required data will be fetched from your database to serve them what they requested.

Imagine this happening a million times a month for medium to high traffic websites and like 10 million times a month for really high traffic websites.

This does raise some concerns, particularly on the performance and security front. As for the former, your site’s speed tends to take a hit, which is one of the important SEO factors in Google’s eyes.

But there’s more to it. As the database has its own limitations, a huge spike in your traffic may cause it to stop functioning as it may not be able to handle the increased load, resulting in your website going down too.

What’s more, your website may go down even if there’s a huge spike in traffic of one of the many other websites hosted on the same server as your site, which is what the case is with most cheap shared hosting services.

Then comes the security part. Most hacking incidents usually happen on the database side. Furthermore, Open Source platforms like WordPress are far more vulnerable to hacking attacks, as all the attackers need to do is find a particular vulnerability that can later be scaled on a much higher level.

Similarly, just like with the performance, if any other site hosted on the same database as your site gets hacked, the chances of your site getting hacked too increase significantly.

Needless to say, these issues do call for a lot on the maintenance front. Outdated themes and plugins can make your site more vulnerable to security and other issues, so they need to be updated regularly.

Any plugin or theme getting hacked or infected with malicious code can lead to mass-level hacking attempts and attacks too, so you also need to be careful about the type of themes and plugins you use and remove the ones that have become vulnerable.

However, most users that are really concerned about the security of their WordPress site also have to implement additional security measures, such as premium security plugins.

Advantages of static websites

As static sites do not use a database, they are not vulnerable to most of the potential issues we discussed above. In addition, they offer a lot of performance and security benefits as well.

Let us cover them in detail below.

Security

As we just mentioned above, a static website doesn’t need to use a database. This means it can’t be hacked by hacking a database through practices like SQL injections (SQLi), and Cross-site Scripting (XSS), which is alarmingly common with WordPress sites depending on a database.

Similarly, a static site also can’t be hacked just by hacking some other site on the same database as your website. A static website is also not vulnerable to all the hacking possibilities that most sites using Open Source software like WordPress are.

You also don’t run the risk of getting hacked due to using outdated or infected themes or free plugins. So by simply using a static website, you improve the security of your website significantly.

Speed

We discussed above how dynamic websites may have speed issues as they need to make requests to the database and fetch the requested content from it. But as a static website uses pre-rendered pages and not a database, it loads much faster as there’s no back-and-forth involved as with dynamic sites.

Source: https://www.thecrazyprogrammer.com/2016/11/difference-between-static-and-dynamic-websites.html

The speed improvement will not only help ensure a better user experience but also get you in the good books of Google on the SEO front.

Maintenance

Again, with static websites, there are no plugins or themes to keep updating regularly. There’s not much to do in terms of speed or performance optimization. There’s no need to hire an expert to improve the speed or performance of a static site.

There’s much less to worry about when there are traffic spikes when compared to traffic spikes for dynamic sites. All these things certainly mean a much easier time maintaining your site and being able to focus better on the more important parts of your online business.

Disadvantages of static websites

As far as the disadvantages of a static website go, a lot depends on how you go about converting your dynamic WordPress site into a static one. As using plugins is usually the more popular option than using other solutions, let us discuss the disadvantages from that point of view.

Too technical for the average user

Converting a dynamic site into a static site can get too technical for the average WordPress user. There are a lot of complicated steps involved and any mistakes during the process can be hard to fix.

For instance, if you decide to use the popular Simply Static plugin for converting your site into a static one, you would first have to create a subdomain and transfer your WordPress installation there, while you set up the static site in the plugin settings to receive the site files.

There would be an additional step involved if your WordPress installation and your website files are on different servers, and you would have to download the static files as a zip file and upload them to your server.

If you haven’t done anything like this before, it can quickly get overwhelming and leave a lot of room for mistakes and messing things up, which can be hard or expensive to fix. Some rather common potential issues include the image files not getting transferred along with the rest of your site’s files, or your CSS encountering issues.

No easy CDN option

If you don’t already know, a CDN refers to a Content Delivery Network. It’s basically a source that serves the required files of your static site to your users, ideally from a location closest to where most of your users come from so that they get a fast loading time.

Now, as no static site generator plugin – including Simply Static that we referred to above – use a CDN that would handle this task for you, it’s something that would be left to you. In other words, you would have to configure your own solution here.

Limitations in functionality

Coming to the functionality side of things, creating a static site using static site generator plugins have quite a few limitations. You can’t use contact forms, have a site search function and comments, or anything else for that matter that are dynamic in their function. Using third-party solutions is an option but it can get expensive and difficult to set up as well.

In addition, if you have a lot of redirects on your site, you would lose much of the advantage that you gain on the SEO front by going static. This is because the plugins don’t create a .htaccess file for your site, and instead use meta tags for all your redirects which isn’t good for SEO.

Finally, there’s also the fact that static sites generated using plugins come with some maintenance difficulties as well. The biggest thing to note here is that any change you make to your site would lead to your whole site being republished, which may not be much of an issue for smaller sites but could get considerably time-consuming for bigger sites.

How to convert a WordPress site into a static HTML site?

Now that you’re aware of both the advantages and disadvantages of making your WordPress site static, let us discuss how to go about implementing this change, the two options you have, and how you can get around most of the disadvantages.

Static site generator plugins

As already discussed above, you can make your WordPress site static by using one of the static site generator plugins out there, with the most popular options being Simply Static and WP2Static. However, if you decide to use any of these plugins, you will have to deal with the limitations and issues we discussed above.

With that said, let us quickly review these two popular options below.

Simply Static

simply static wordpress plugin

Simply Static is the most popular static site generator plugin with over 20,000 WordPress sites using it at the time of writing this post. It helps you create a static version of your WordPress site that you can serve to your visitors while locking away your WordPress installation in a secure place, wherever you want.

This helps you avoid most of the potential security issues associated with WordPress sites while allowing you to serve content to your visitors faster thanks to pre-rendered static pages.

WP2Static

WP2Static wordpress plugin

WP2Static is another popular static site generator plugin that allows you to serve a static version of your WordPress website to your users while letting you use WordPress for managing your site’s content.

Some of its other popular features include removing all signs from your site that show it’s using WordPress so that it doesn’t interest hackers, option to host your site for free using one of the choices it offers in the form of GitHub pages and other options, sending desktop notifications when your exporting tasks are complete and so on.

While it doesn’t work with WooCommerce or membership sites by default, you can use a third-party tool like Snipcart to make it work just as well for those type of sites as well.

Furthermore, you can enhance the functionality of your static site even further with WP2Static’s paid add-ons, including a static form converter (to have contact and other forms on your static site), advanced CSS processor (to customize the look of your site better), and advanced crawling and detection, among others.

All said and done, using one of these plugins may be a good option in some cases, particularly including serving landing pages and not the websites as a whole, or smaller websites that do not have dynamic elements like comments.

So what’s a better option in these cases? Let’s find out below.

Serverless static WordPress hosting solutions

There are some third party solutions that work as a static, headless WordPress web hosts, and are an excellent alternative to using plugins as they help you get around the issues associated with the latter. Let's review 3 particular solutions that are indeed great all-round options for making your WordPress site static.

Strattic

strattic headless static wordpress hosting

Stattic is a headless WordPress host that allows you to create a lightweight, static version of your WordPress website while allowing you to use WordPress as the backend as usual.

Unlike other options to create a static version of your WordPress site, Strattic goes beyond the limited functionality and boasts a large network of CDNs spread across the world, meaning no matter where your website’s visitors are coming from they will always get blazingly fast loading speed as they will be served the content from the location closest to their location.

strattic dashboard

Strattic disconnects the dynamic WordPress site from the web and puts it on a different URL behind authentication so only site owners can access that site. You can continue using your WordPress like you always have – marketing people can still add content, you can still add plugins, and so on.

Similarly, it manages to get around most of the limitations of traditional static site generation solutions as well, thanks to built-in functionality for dynamic elements like contact form, site search function and more.

Strattic proudly claims how it’s a serverless static WordPress hosting solution with its own serverless architecture, which automatically removes most hacking vulnerabilities and performance concerns associated with hosting servers.

strattic hosting plans

The Starter plan at Strattic is priced at $35 per month and comes with all the features for one website. Strattic will take care of the migration process for you for free no matter which plans you go with.

HardyPress

hardypress serverless wordpress hosting

HardyPress is another serverless hosting option for WordPress users. It’s actually much cheaper than Strattic, with the personal website plan being priced just around $5 per month (if you pay yearly), but doesn’t lack anything in terms of functionality.

hardypress pricing

Boost your WordPress site's performance and security in no time! Visitors access a completely static version of your website. Your real WordPress installation lives on a separate domain and only runs when an editor needs to make some changes to the content.

In fact, it’s more versatile in that it allows you to use all WordPress plugins that do not have any front-facing dynamic components. HardyPress also supports the popular Contact Forms 7,
while it implements its own search function on your website.

Just like the Strattic, it puts your WordPress installation on a separate domain that no one can access except you while creating a fully static version of your website with 30 locations across the world for even faster loading time.

Some of its other features include SSD technology, HTTPS, the ability to shut down your WordPress instance and more.

Shifter

Shifter Serverless Static WordPress Hosting

Shifter is another great option if you’re looking to go static with your WordPress site. It allows you to use all your WordPress themes and plugins (barring the ones with dynamic elements) while being surprisingly easy to set up and maintain.

Use the same WordPress themes, plugins, and tools you know and love without the headaches of hosting or threats from bots and hackers.

There are 1-click options for pretty much everything you need to do, and setting up a new site or migrating your old WordPress site is a breeze with Shifter.

The security and performance would be as good as with the other two static site generation options we reviewed above, with some pretty neat features including deploying to Netlify and notifications for Slack, or even a custom integration as per your needs, HTTP/2 enabled gateway, IPv6 deployment and more.

It has alternatives for your comments and contact form and works just as well with Shopify-based e-commerce sites.

shifter pricing

As for the pricing, its most basic plan with no custom domain option is available to use for free for one website, while the cheapest plan with a custom domain is priced at $16 per month.

Converting WordPress Sites to Static HTML: Summary

converting wordpress sites to static html sites

Going static with your WordPress site comes with many benefits, but it’s not for everyone. While a lot depends on your preferences and needs here, a kind of a rule of thumb is that if you tend to login into your WordPress dashboard every day or a few times a day, then probably making your WordPress site static would cause more maintenance hassle for you than it would be worth.

That said, even if you don’t tend to make too many changes to your WordPress site every now and then, you should consider which option you need to use to make the transition to a static version of your site.

While the plugin option may seem tempting for users on a budget, it can cause issues for large websites that can be hard to deal with. However, it would likely turn out to be a great budget option for landing pages and small content-only sites.

If you need more functionality or have a fairly large WordPress site, then using one of the third-party serverless static WordPress hosting solutions we reviewed above is the way to go. It not only ensures a super smooth transition but also allows you to use WordPress just the way you did before, while also offering built-in functionality for important dynamic elements like contact forms and website search.

Finally, remember that while a transition to static is sure to improve the overall speed, performance and security of your WordPress website, it’s only an option if you don’t need to use too many dynamic elements.

If you do, then a quality shared hosting and proper speed and performance optimizations is what you should go for instead.

Home » WordPress » Converting WordPress Sites to Static HTML (To Boost Speed, Security & SEO)

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.