Scala Hosting Review (Managed Cloud VPS For the Price of Shared Hosting!)

Written by

Our content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission. How we review.

Scala Hosting provides excellent hosting features, strong performance, and security. If you’re looking for high-quality, reliable fully managed cloud VPS hosting that won’t break your budget, you should definitely consider this cloud VPS host. This Scala Hosting review will explain why.

From $29.95 per month

Save Up To 36% (No Setup Fee)

Scala VPS Hosting Review Summary (TL;DR)
Rating
Rated 4.5 out of 5
Pricing
From $29.95 per month
Hosting Types
Cloud VPS, Shared, WordPress
Speed & Performance
LiteSpeed, LSCache caching, HTTP/2, PHP7, NvME
WordPress
Managed WordPress cloud VPS hosting. WordPress comes preinstalled
Servers
LiteSpeed, SSD NvME. DigitalOcean & AWS data centers
Security
Free SSL. SShield security protection
Control Panel
SWordpress Manager, SPanel Control Panel
Extras
Free website migration. Free domain name. Dedicated IP address
Refund Policy
30-day money-back guarantee
Owner
Privately-owned (Dallas, Texas)
Current Deal
Save Up To 36% (No Setup Fee)

I have analyzed and tested countless web hosting providers offering extremely attractive deals and seemingly unbeatable services.

However, very few of them actually provide the level of service they claim to, which can get extremely frustrating. Especially if you've paid more for something that you're expecting to be a high-end solution.

The first time I came across Scala Hosting, I thought the same deception would apply. But in many ways, I was wrong.

Because Scala Hosting gives you managed cloud VPS hosting at the price of shared hosting!

And in this Scala Hosting review, I'm going to show you why. Keep reading to find out more about this provider's main pros and cons, along with information about its plans and pricing, and why it's one of my top picks for best managed cloud VPS hosting.

Scala VPS Hosting Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Fully management VPS, including 24/7/365 support and regular server maintenance and snapshots
  • Automatic daily backups to a remote server
  • SShield security protection, SWordpress Manager, SPanel “all-in-one” controlpanel
  • LiteSpeed web server, SSD NVMe storage drives, free SSL & CDN
  • Free and unlimited website migrations
  • Free domain name for one year
  • Dedicated IP address and dedicated CPU/RAM resources
  • Choose from ScalaHosting, DigitalOcean and AWS data centers
  • 24/7/365 expert support

Cons

  • Limited server locations (US/Europe only)
  • SSD on VPS plans only
DEAL

Save Up To 36% (No Setup Fee)

From $29.95 per month

Here is how our web hosting review process works:

1. We sign up for the web hosting plan & install a blank WordPress site.
2. We monitor the site's performance, uptime, & page load time speed.
3. We analyze the good/bad A2 hosting features, pricing, & customer support.
4. We publish the great review (and update it throughout the year).

In this Scala Hosting VPS review, I'll explore the most important features, what the pros and cons are, and what the plans and prices are like.

When you have finished reading this you will know if Scala Hosting is the right (or wrong) web host for you.

Scala Hosting homepage

Scala Hosting Pros

1. Budget-Friendly Managed Cloud VPS Hosting

Scala Hosting offers some of the most competitively-priced cloud VPS hosting I've ever seen.

Prices start from a very low $29.95 per month for fully managed VPS or $59 per month for self-managed VPS plans, and a very generous amount of resources are included.

On top of this, even the cheapest plans come with a suite of add-ons to streamline the hosting experience. These include everything from free domains and SSL certificates to impressive security tools and automatic backups.

Backups of all data are stored on at least three different servers to prevent downtime in the case of hardware failure, and you can scale your resource allocations up or down as required.

Scala hosting offers competitively-priced cloud VPS solutions

With so much choice when it comes to cloud VPS hosting, what sets Scala Hosting apart from the competition?

scalahosting icon

The big difference between ScalaHosting and the rest of the companies comes from the SPanel cloud management platform and the opportunities it brings to the website owners.

Basically, every website owner can now choose between a good shared hosting plan and a fully managed VPS with a control panel, cybersecurity system, and backups at the same price ($29.95/mo). The advantages of VPS hosting compared to the shared hosting are well-known.

We've completed the integration of the SPanel cloud management platform in the cloud environments of the top infrastructure providers such as AWS, Google Cloud, DigitalOcean, Linode, and Vultr which we will announce to customers in the next 2 months. Every website owner will be able to choose between 50+ datacenter locations for their fully managed SPanel VPS.

The traditional hosting companies cannot offer that and for us, it doesn't matter which is the provider of the infrastructure (servers) as long as people use the most secure, reliable, and scalable cloud VPS environment instead of shared.

Vlad G. – Scala Hosting CEO & Co-founder

2. Native SPanel Control Panel

Rather than forcing users to pay for a cPanel or similar license when they purchase a managed cloud VPS hosting plan, Scala includes its own native SPanel. This is extremely powerful, with tools and features that are comparable to the widely-used cPanel control panel.

And the best thing? It's 100% free, forever! Unlike cPanel there are no additional addon costs.

In short, the SPanel interface was designed specifically for cloud VPS hosting. It includes a selection of management tools, as well as built-in security, unlimited free website migrations, and full 24/7/365 management support from the Scala team.

On top of this, the SPanel interface is very intuitive and user-friendly. Useful management modules are organized under logical headings, while general information about your server and long-term resource usage is presented in a sidebar on the right of the screen.

The SPanel interface is tidy and intuitive

What is SPanel, and what makes it different and better than cPanel?

scalahosting icon

SPanel is an all-in-one cloud management platform featuring a control panel, a cybersecurity system, a backup system, and tons of tools and features website owners need to efficiently manage their websites.

SPanel is light-weight and doesn't eat much CPU/RAM resources which can be almost 100% used to serve website visitors hence the website owner will pay less for hosting. The new features in SPanel are being developed based on the demand of users. cPanel prefers to add features when they bring more money.

A good example of this is the integration of the Nginx web server which cPanel users asked for 7 years ago and it is still not implemented. Instead, they integrated LiteSpeed Enterprise which costs extra.

SPanel supports all major web servers such as Apache, Nginx, LiteSpeed Enterprise, and OpenLiteSpeed which is as fast as the enterprise version but free. SPanel allows the user to create and host unlimited accounts/websites while cPanel will charge extra if you want to create more than 5 accounts. 20% of our cPanel clients already migrated to SPanel.

Vlad G. – Scala Hosting CEO & Co-founder

3. Numerous Freebies Included

I'm a sucker for getting the best value possible when I purchase a web hosting plan, and I love the number of free features Scala Hosting includes with its managed cloud VPS. These include:

  • An unlimited number of free website migrations completed manually by the Scala team.
  • A dedicated IP address to help ensure your site isn't blacklisted by the search engines.
  • Snapshots and daily automatic backups so you can restore your site if required.
  • Free domain name for one year, free SSL and free Cloudflare CDN integration.

But these are just a start. You will also have access to a wide range of security and other tools that would ordinarily cost over $84 per month with cPanel.

spanel vs cpanel

4. Automatic Daily Backups

One of my favorite things about Scala is the fact that it offers automatic daily backups with all managed cloud VPS plans.

In short, this means that your site will be backed up to a remote server, so you will always have access to a recent copy of your data, files, emails, databases, and all other important information in case something goes wrong.

On top of this, it's extremely easy to restore a backup when required. Simply log in to your SPanel and navigate to the Restore Backups module at the bottom of the page.

Here, you will find a list of backups, and you can restore all or part of your website and it's information with the click of a button.

Scala offers automatic daily backups

5. Impressive Uptime

Another impressive feature of Scala Hosting's service is that it uses a highly redundant cloud network that allows it to offer near-100% uptime. Your VPS resources are drawn from a resource pool, so if there is a hardware failure anywhere in the network, your site won't be affected.

This means that you can comfortably host your site without worrying about any amount of downtime. Of course, there is always a small risk that you may be offline for a short period, but Scala does everything possible to ensure this doesn't happen.

Over the last couple of months, I have monitored and analyzed the uptime, speed, and overall performance of my test site hosted on ScalaHosting.com.

The above screenshot only shows the past 30 days, you can view historical uptime data and server response time at this uptime monitor page.

6. Fast Load Times

We all know, as far as websites go, speed is everything. Fast page load times not only correlates with higher conversion rates, but also impacts SEO.

A study from Google found that a one-second delay in mobile page load times can impact conversion rates by up to 20%.

Having a fast loading site is essential these days, what speed technology stack does Scala Hosting use?

scalahosting icon

Speed is a huge factor not only for SEO but also for the sales your ecommerce store will get. If your website doesn't load in less than 3 seconds, you are losing a lot of visitors and sales. There are multiple important factors to have in mind when we talk about speed – from the optimization of the website to the hardware specifications of the server, the software installed, and how it is configured.

SPanel takes care of the software, its configuration, and its management. SPanel supports all the major web servers – Apache, Nginx, OpenLiteSpeed, and LiteSpeed Enterprise. OpenLiteSpeed is the most interesting one because it is the fastest web server in the world for processing both static and dynamic content (PHP).

It allows everyone using WordPress, Joomla, Prestashop, OpenCart to also use the most efficient and the fastest caching plugins developed by the LiteSpeed developers which can only be used on LiteSpeed Enterprise (paid) and the OpenLiteSpeed (free) servers.

OpenLiteSpeed allows the website owner to have a faster website and serve 12-15x more visitors with the same hardware specifications of the server. OpenLiteSpeed is not supported by most of the hosting providers mainly because they are using cPanel which 6-7 years ago started to add support mainly for software that brings more money to the table and makes the customer pay more.

I can tell you about a funny story we had 2-3 weeks ago with the founder of Joomla. He decided to test SPanel and compared the speed with the Siteground's most expensive shared hosting plan. The result was that the website on SPanel VPS was 2x times faster although the VPS cost less. He also said he has never seen a Joomla website to load so fast.

Vlad G. – Scala Hosting CEO & Co-founder

How fast is cloud VPS hosting from Scala Hosting?

I created a test website hosted on Scala's managed cloud VPS (the $29.95/mo Start plan). Then I installed WordPress using the Twenty Twenty theme, and I created dummy lorem ipsum posts and pages.

The results?

scalahosting gtmetrix speed

FYI my test page does not utilize CDN, caching technologies, or any other speed optimizations to improve webpage load times.

However, even without any optimizations whatsoever, all the important speed metrics are ticked. The final fully loading speed of 1.1 seconds is also pretty fantastic.

Next, I wanted to see how the test site would handle receiving 1000 visits over just 1 minute, using the Loader.io free stress testing tool.

stress test load times

Scala's cloud VPS handled things perfectly. Flooding the test site with 1000 requests in just 1 minute resulted in a 0% error rate and an average response time of just 86ms.

Very good! This is one of the reasons why Scala Hosting is my top pick for managed cloud VPS hosting.

7. Free Website Migrations

Those with existing websites that want to move to a new host will love Scala's unlimited free site migrations.

Basically, this means that the Scala team will manually transfer all existing sites from your previous host to your new server. To start the process, simply provide login details for your old host.

Many web hosts only offer either free migrations (but do-it-yourself i.e. done via a plugin) or paid site migrations, and these can range from a few dollars per website to hundreds of dollars.

Not Scala Hosting! Their specialists will migrate as many websites as you ask, free of charge. There will be no downtime, and they'll also ensure they work properly on the new server.

Well done Scala!

free website migration

8. Native SShield Cybersecurity Tool

Security is an essential consideration when it comes to web hosting. Without the appropriate protection, your website could be left vulnerable to attacks from hackers, data thieves, and parties who simply want you offline for some reason or another.

With Scala Hosting's native SShield Cybersecurity tool, your site will be highly secure.

It uses artificial intelligence to detect potentially harmful behavior, has been proven to block over 99.998% of all attacks, and includes automatic notifications if something does go wrong.

The SShield cybersecurity program is designed to protect your site

9. High-Quality Customer Support

Anyone who has tried to host a website in the past will know that it's not always smooth sailing. Sometimes, you will need to contact support to clear things up or for technical assistance, and, fortunately, Scala Hosting excels here.

For starters, the support team is extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive. I tested out the live chat and received a reply within minutes. When the agent I spoke with wasn't sure about something, they told me so and went away and checked.

In addition, there is also email customer support options, as well as a comprehensive knowledge-base containing an impressive selection of self-help resources.

Scala offers a selection of customer support services

Scala Hosting Cons

1. Limited Server Locations

One of the major cons of Scala Hosting is its limited datacenter locations. There are only three choices available, with servers located in Dallas, New York, and Sofia, Bulgaria.

This could be a concern for those with the majority of their audience in Asia, Africa, or South America.

In short, the closer your data center is to your audience, the better your site's performance will be. Otherwise, you may suffer from slow load speeds, slow server response times, and poor overall performance. And, this could even affect your SEO score and search engine rankings.

Scala Hosting has recently partnered with DigitalOcean and AWS, meaning you can now choose from 3 cloud hosting providers and global data centers, including New York and San Francisco (US), Toronto (Canada), London (UK), Frankfurt (Germany), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Singapore (Singapore), Bangalore (India).

Scala Hosting datacenter locations

2. SSD Storage Is Only Available With VPS Plans

Another concern is Scala Hosting's use of outdated hard disk drive (HDD) storage with its lower-end shared and WordPress hosting plans.

In general, HDD storage is much slower than modern solid-state drive (SSD) storage, which could affect the performance of your website.

Now, the company is a little sneaky here. It actually advertised “SSD powered servers” with its shared hosting plans, which is a little deceiving.

In reality, only your operating system and databases are stored on SSD drives, while the rest of your site's files and information are stored on HDD drives.

This isn't a huge issue, but make sure that you're aware of it. Fortunately, all managed and self-managed cloud VPS plans use 100% SSD storage.

Scala uses slow HDD storage with its shared and WordPress solutions

3. Fees Increase on Renewal for Some Plans

One thing I don't like about Scala Hosting's price structure is the fact that its fees increase on renewal. However, in their defense, almost every other web host also does this (with exceptions).

Although advertising lower introductory prices that increase after your first subscription term is a common practice in the web hosting industry, it's still frustrating.

Fortunately, though, Scala Hosting's renewal prices aren't ridiculously higher than the introductory ones.

For example, the cheapest Start managed cloud VPS plan costs $29.95 for your initial term and $29.95 on renewal. This is an increase of 0%, compared to the 100-200% increase many other hosts will hit you with.

Scala's prices increase on renewal

Scala Hosting Pricing & Plans

Scala Hosting offers a selection of web hosting solutions, including Shared, WordPress, and Reseller options.

However, the thing I really love is this provider's cloud VPS hosting. It stands out from the competition due to its extremely competitive prices and the abundance of features on offer.

There are both managed and self-managed cloud VPS options available, with prices starting from just $29.95 per month for an initial plan.

Managed Cloud VPS Hosting

Scala Hosting has four managed cloud VPS plans, with prices ranging from $29.95 to $179.95 per month for an initial first-term subscription. All four plans come with a range of advanced features, including:

  • Full management, including 24/7/365 support and regular server maintenance.
  • Automatic daily backups to a remote server.
  • SShield security protection proven to block more than 99.998% of all web attacks.
  • Free website migrations.
  • A dedicated IP address.
  • A free domain name for one year.
  • and lots more!

On top of this, you will be able to control your site through Scala Hosting's free native SPanel control panel. This is very similar to the popular cPanel control panel software and includes all the tools you need to configure and manage your server and website.

The cheapest Start plan costs $29.95 per month for an initial 36-month subscription and includes two CPU cores, 4GB of RAM, and 50GB of SSD NVMe storage.

Upgrading further to the Advanced plan costs $63.95 per month and will give you four CPU cores, 8GB of RAM, and 100GB of SSD NVMe storage. And finally, the Enterprise plan ($179.95 per month) comes with twelve CPU cores, 24GB of RAM, and 200GB of SSD NVMe storage.

One thing I particularly liked here is that these plans are all fully configurable. Extra resources can be added (or removed) at the following rates:

  • SSD NVMe storage for $2 per 10GB (max 500GB).
  • CPU cores at $6 per additional core (max 24 cores).
  • RAM for $2 per GB (max 128GB).

You can also select from data centers in the USA and Europe as required.

Overall, Scala Hosting's managed cloud VPS plans are among the most competitively-priced I've seen. I'd really recommend giving them a go if you're looking for a high-quality, reliable hosting solution that won't break the bank.

Self-Managed Cloud VPS Hosting

Alongside its fully managed solutions, Scala Hosting offers a selection of self-managed cloud VPS plans. Prices start from just $59 per month, and you can customize your server to meet your exact needs.

The base plan comes with one CPU core, 2GB of RAM, 50GB of SSD storage, and 3000GB of bandwidth. You can select from European and US data centers, and there are numerous Windows and Linux operating systems available.

Additional resources can be added to your plan at the following cost:

  • CPU cores at $6 per core.
  • RAM at $2 per GB.
  • Storage at $2 per 10GB.
  • Bandwidth at $10 per 1000GB.

There are also various other add-ons that can be purchased to streamline the hosting experience, including 24/7 proactive monitoring ($5), and more. SPanel gives you free Premium Softaculous giving you automated setup for over 420 applications like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Magento – plus hundreds more.

Scala offers highly configurable self-managed cloud VPS solutions

One thing I love about Scala's self-managed servers is that they still keep free data snapshots in case of hardware failure.

If you're looking for a powerful feature-rich unmanaged cloud VPS server, you shouldn't need to look any further than this.

Shared/WordPress Hosting

Along with its excellent cloud VPS solutions, Scala has a selection of shared, WordPress, and reseller hosting options targetted at different users. These also represent great value for money, and I've covered them briefly below.

For starters, basic shared hosting starts from $3.95 per month the Mini plan, which allows you to connect one website with up to 50GB of storage, unmetered bandwidth, and a free SSL certificate and domain.

Upgrading to the Start plan (from $5.95 per month) allows you to connect unlimited websites with unlimited storage and SShield cybersecurity, while the Advanced plan (from $9.95 per month) adds priority support and Pro Spam Protection.

Scala offers a selection of shared hosting plans

Although Scala Hosting advertises its WordPress plans separately, they are actually identical to the shared hosting options. There aren't a lot of WordPress-specific features here, so I'd recommend looking elsewhere if you want a powerful managed WordPress solution.

Scala's WordPress hosting is identical to its shared options

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Scala Hosting?

Scala Hosting is a web hosting provider that has been working in the industry since 2007. Despite not being one of the most popular hosts in the world, it offers highly affordable hosting solutions, including some of the best managed and self-managed cloud VPS hosting I've ever seen.

scalahosting icon ScalaHosting is a company with a mission to lead the hosting industry to the next step in its evolution and that make the Internet a safer place for everyone. The obsolete shared hosting model is broken by nature. Today's world and online businesses have different requirements that shared hosting cannot meet. More and more people are selling online, administrating sensitive personal data such as credit cards, and need higher security.

The only solution is for every website to have its own server. With IPv6 and hardware costs decreasing all the time that solution became possible. The only problem was the cost, because while a good shared hosting plan costs ~$10, a managed VPS from the top providers costs $50+.

That’s why ScalaHosting started building the SPanel all-in-one cloud management platform and the SShield cybersecurity protection system. They allow every website owner to have their own fully managed VPS at the same price as shared hosting increasing security, scalability, and speed.

Vlad G. – Scala Hosting CEO & Co-founder

How much does Scala Hosting cost?

Scala Hosting offers managed cloud VPS hosting from $29.95 per month, self-managed cloud VPS solutions from $59 per month, and powerful shared hosting and WordPress hosting from $3.95 per month. Renewal prices are slightly higher than the advertised ones, but the difference is minor.

What is the difference between the self-managed cloud VPS and managed cloud VPS?

The main difference between the self-managed and managed cloud VPS plans is the control you have over your server. With the managed option, the technical aspects of your server will be looked after by the Scala team.

On the other hand, a self-managed server gives you a clean operating system install that you can configure as needed. Both options use cloud-based hosting and SSD storage.

What is SPanel, SShield and SWordPress?

SPanel is an all-in-one hosting platform and cPanel alternative for managing cloud VPS services. SShield is an innovative security system that protects your websites in real-time and blocks 99.998% of attacks. SWordPress makes managing your WordPress websites much easier and adds multiple layers of security.

Does Scala Hosting come with cPanel?

Scala Hosting's shared web hosting plans come with cPanel. But the VPS plans come with SPanel which is a proprietary control panel and an all-in-one cPanel alternative.

Is Scala Hosting any good?

Scala Hosting offers excellent web hosting features with strong performance and security. But cloud VPS hosting is where Scala Hosting really shines. Scala VPS Hosting gives you fully managed cloud VPS hosting for the price of shared hosting.

Scala VPS Hosting Review 2022 – Summary

scala hosting reviews

Despite providing excellent service for over a decade, Scala Hosting continues to fall under the radar It's one of my favorite VPS web hosting providers, and Scala Hosting's managed and self-managed cloud VPS solutions stand out as some of the best I've seen.

They are backed by extremely competitive prices, include generous server resources, and are use Scala's native SPanel control panel, SShield Cybersecurity tool, and SWordPress manager. And on top of this, all VPS plans are fully configurable, which means that you will only ever pay for the resources you need.

There are a few small concerns to be aware of, such as limited data center locations, high renewal prices, and the use of HDD storage with the shared and WordPress plans. But overall, Scala Hosting deserves to be much more popular than it is.

The bottom line: If you're looking for high-quality, reliable cloud VPS hosting that won't break your budget, you should definitely consider Scala Hosting.

DEAL

Save Up To 36% (No Setup Fee)

From $29.95 per month

User Reviews

Cheapest VPS

Rated 4 out of 5
May 23, 2022

Other than the price, I don't have much to complain about. Scala Hosting's dashboard/SPanel is really simple and easy to use. Even my clients find it easy to learn. Their servers deliver 100% uptime most months and I have never had a day when any of client sites have slowed down.

Avatar for Lovisa
Lovisa

No downtime

Rated 5 out of 5
April 28, 2022

My website used to go down whenever I got even a tiny spike in traffic. When I moved to ScalaHosting, their support team was very helpful and patient with me. I don't know a lot about websites and web hosting, but they were really helpful. They made the process of moving my sites over painless and simple. I highly recommend Scala to anyone who's looking for a web host that actually cares abotu their customers.

Avatar for Shyla
Shyla

Love it

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2022

Scala Hosting is the best web host I have found in all my years running an online business. Their servers are really fast and their support team is always quick to help me solve my problems. The pricing is also very affordable for such a great level of service.

Avatar for Samantha Miami
Samantha Miami

The Best With All Its Freebies

Rated 5 out of 5
October 4, 2021

Scala Hosting is the cheapest managed cloud VPS hosting. Yet, this is the best I got with all the freebies loaded in it. I can say I'm lucky to have it!

Avatar for David M
David M

Server Location's a Big Issue

Rated 1 out of 5
September 9, 2021

My country/region is not included in Scala Hosting's server locations. I find this a big issue in choosing a web hosting provider. So, I'd rather stay away from it.

Avatar for Tricia J.
Tricia J.

Highly Affordable

Rated 5 out of 5
September 9, 2021

Scala Hosting is the cheapest when it comes to fully managed cloud VPS hosting. With a dedicated IP address, free domain name, and free website migration, the starting plan's cost is indeed highly affordable.

Avatar for Keith Marx
Keith Marx

Great but with a few cons

Rated 4 out of 5
March 14, 2021

I wish their could be a way for loyal customers to keep following the initially subscribed prices. I think this has been commonly occurring around providers with subscription prices spiking up. Is there no way to keep similar pricing for already existing customers? But perhaps they have good reason for that.

Avatar for Dylan J
Dylan J

10/10 would go for it

Rated 5 out of 5
February 1, 2021

Scala VPS is great. I've been through many hosting providers and these guys help with things other providers would say that it's my job to know how to do this bla, bla, bla the I don't want to spend more time with you kind of thing. If you're a beginner, then you should consider going with Scala.

Avatar for Willie
Willie

No regrets

Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2021

If you are looking to get a hosting provider, you cannot afford to go with any company lesser than the best. Scala Hosting is one of the best providers I've worked with. I think they've been around for a good 10 years now if I'm not mistaken? The are veterans here, they are here to help. I am simply one happy customer. Thanks guys

Avatar for Scott Wright
Scott Wright

Scala Hosting has the Best VPS

Rated 5 out of 5
December 14, 2020

Scala Hosting has the best VPS hosting at a very good price. I bet you won't find cheaper managed VPS hosting anywhere else.

Avatar for Johny
Johny

Thanks Scala Hosting!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 11, 2020

I just passed the 3 months mark with Scala Hosting after being a hosting customer of Bluehost for 8 years. Can't tell you how much better my site performs. Fast load times and great customer service. Glad to renew for another term. Thanks Scala Hosting!

Avatar for Tim Olsen
Tim Olsen

I've been with ScalaHosting since 2019

Rated 4 out of 5
August 30, 2020

I've been with ScalaHosting since 2019 and found it a huge improvement over my 5 years with GoDaddy. I've appreciated the personal support, the speed, and the ease of installing WordPress. For me, it's been a great host. The only downside I experienced is support, and the lack of picking up the phone and calling them.

Avatar for The Web Guy
The Web Guy

So cheap managed VPS hosting!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 11, 2020

Scala is honestly the best hosting provider I have ever used. Their managed VPS is a gift to any business. They migrated my site by hand to the VPS plan. The site loads fast and the support is always quick, professional, and there to help you with pretty much anything.

Avatar for Laura NYC
Laura NYC

Submit Review

Review Updates

  • 23/12/2021 – Cloud VPS features added
  • 14/06/2021 – HTTP/3 support
  • 22/03/2021 – DigitalOcean and AWS data centers added
  • 30/01/2021 – Free premium Softaculous on all plans
  • 14/01/2021 – New datacenter in New York
  • 01/01/2021 – Scala Hosting price edit
  • 25/08/2020 – Review published

Home » Web Hosting » Scala Hosting Review (Managed Cloud VPS For the Price of Shared Hosting!)

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.