Liquid Web Review (Best Managed WordPress and WooCommerce Hosting?)

Written by

Our content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission. How we review.

Liquid Web is an industry leader when it comes to managed WordPress and managed WooCommerce hosting. Though not designed for website owners on tight budgets, this is a web host that offers guaranteed reliability, speed, and uptime at all times.

From $19 per month

Use code WHR40VIP to get 40% OFF

If you're on the lookout for a powerful managed WordPress or WooCommerce hosting solution from just $19/month that never falls short on performance, reliability, or uptime, then Liquid Web is the host for you.

Liquid Web is a great web host for website owners that are growing exponentially and need guaranteed reliability, performance, and uptime, fast load times (see my page speed test ⇣ ) all the time – 24/7/365.

Liquid Web Review Summary (TL;DR)
Rating
Rated 3.9 out of 5
Price From
From $19 per month
Hosting Types
WordPress, WooCommerce, Cloud, VPS, Dedicated
Speed & Performance
Platform built on PHP7, SSL and Nginx. Nexcess page cache
WordPress
Managed WordPress hosting
Servers
SSD installed on all servers
Security
GlobalSign SSL certificates included in all plans
Control Panel
Nexcess Client Portal (proprietary)
Extras
100% network and power uptime guarantee, site migration service at no extra cost, Heroic Support
Refund Policy
Free 30-day trial offer for new hosting customers
Owner
Privately-owned (Lansing, Michigan)
Current Deal
Use code WHR40VIP to get 40% OFF

Pros and Cons

Liquid Web Pros

  • Fully managed hosting infrastructure (WordPress, WooCommerce, VPS, Dedicated Servers)
  • Fast and secure tech stack (PHP7, HTTP/2, NGINX, SSD, PHP Workers)
  • Automatic daily backups and nightly plugin updates
  • 100% uptime guarantee, or they will credit you
  • Free SSL, CDN, DDoS protection and White-glove site migrations
  • Premium tools included for free (BeaverBuilder, All IconicWP, Jilt, Glew.io, iThemes sync, iThemes Security Pro)
  • 24/7/365 phone, email, and live chat support (“59” guarantee)

Liquid Web Cons

  • US/Europe centric (no data centers in Asia-Pacific)
  • Expensive (is not shared hosting)
  • No email hosting (paid addon)

To help you make that decision before you start investing your hard-earned cash, in this Liquid Web review I look at everything they have to offer large-scale WordPress websites.

Liquid Web doesn't rely on caching to ensure speed, instead, they focus on PHP workers which are responsible for executing your website’s PHP code. Every plan has at least 10 dedicated PHP workers and some of their managed WooCommerce plans ⇣ come with up to 300 PHP workers.

All managed WordPress hosting plans come with pre-installed plugins, automatic updates, website staging, nightly backups, iThemes sync, iThemes Security Pro, free SSL, and all the essential features.

Liquid Web must be doing something right (around speed and customer support):

liquid web reviews 2022

I reached out and asked them about the three S’s of hosting, speed, security, and support:

What sets Liquid Web apart from the competition when it comes to the three S’s of hosting, speed, security, and support?

“When it comes to the three S's of hosting, speed, security, and support, Liquid Web shines. We have a 59-second support response guarantee, ensuring prompt service, for all plans. Our managed hosting and managed application offerings were all individually created with the modern web professional's speed requirements in mind, and it shows: small and medium enterprises have trusted us with their business for over 20 years. For security, we offer Mod Security, and hold multiple data and security certifications, listed here, and incorporate a number of best-practice security settings that we then monitor using our Security Check technology.”
liquid web logo
Christie Chirinos – WooCommerce Product Manager at Liquid Web


DEAL

Use code WHR40VIP to get 40% OFF

From $19 per month

Here is how our web hosting review process works:

1. We sign up for the web hosting plan & install a blank WordPress site.
2. We monitor the site's performance, uptime, & page load time speed.
3. We analyze the good/bad A2 hosting features, pricing, & customer support.
4. We publish the great review (and update it throughout the year).

About Liquid Web

Liquid Web was established in 1997 and has since grown into one of the most reliable web hosting companies offering VPS, managed cloud, dedicated, and managed WordPress and WooCommerce hosting solutions.

hosting plans

It's a perfect solution for SMBs with websites, stores, applications, mission-critical sites, designers, developers, and even digital agencies.

Headquartered in Lansing, Michigan, the team at Liquid Web strives to be The Most Helpful Humans in Hosting®. In other words, they “believe the more you need technology to fuel your business, the more you need expert, caring people to be there for you.”

This unique web hosting company boasts over 30,000 customers across 130 countries and continues to grow every year. Not to mention, its claim to fame is having one of the highest loyalty rates in the industry. So, if you're looking for a web hosting company you can rely on, you should consider Liquid Web.

about

One of the most notable ways Liquid Web has set itself apart in the hosting industry is by stepping away from the highly competitive shared hosting race. Instead, it opts to offer only high-quality, premium (think more expensive and value-packed) hosting services that people are willing to pay for.

In the end, Liquid Web employs over 250+ administrators, engineers, and technicians dedicated and empowered to make your life easier, so you can focus on the work you love (and let them do the rest). For Liquid Web, it's all about Powering Your Business Potential™.

That said, what does Liquid Web really offer that other, cheaper web hosts don't? And is the higher price worth it? Let's dive into the Liquid Web review (2022 update) and find out:

Hosting Features

1. Fully Managed Hosting

Offering fully managed web hosting means Liquid Web does it all for you. This includes all software updates and security patches, so your website always runs fast and is never compromised.

managed web hosting

For example, Liquid Web will update any WordPress plugins you run on your website every single night. What's better, it's done in a specialized testing environment to protect your website from plugin vulnerabilities and to prevent downtime. Once the team gets the all-clear, then your updates are pushed live.

Liquid Web also does a great job offering website owners the opportunity to create customized hosting solutions that meet their growing needs.

For instance, help with PCI and HIPAA compliance, reseller hosting, ecommerce site protection, and so much more are available for site owners looking for something specific.

And to top it off, every custom hosting solution comes with a dedicated account manager that knows everything about your website and collaborates with your IT team to ensure a seamless hosting experience.

2. Impressive PageSpeed

If you want to keep your site visitors happy (and convert), and get to the first page of Google and stay there, you need your website to load fast.

A study from Google found that a 1-second delay in mobile page load times can impact conversion rates by up to 20%.

When it comes to fast load times, Liquid Web does not disappoint!

I have created a test site hosted on LiquidWeb.com to monitor uptime and server response time:

The above screenshot only shows the past 30 days, you can view historical uptime data and server response time at this uptime monitor page.

Here below is the result of the page speed test I did.

Before:

An “out-of-the-box” WordPress demo site was hosted on Liquid Web, using autogenerated content and with Liquid Web's built-in caching enabled:

load times before optimization

In GTmetrix the site loaded in 0.9 seconds. Not bad, at all!

After:

Just by simple activating and configuring Liquid Web's suggested speed plugins (Async JavaScript, Autoptimize, BJ Lazy Load, Compress JPEG & PNG images & Lazy Load for Comments – already installed but not activated):

wordpress speed plugins

Resulted in a huge impact on pagespeed:

page speed after optimization

In GTmetrix now the site loaded in 0.6 seconds. That's 0.3 seconds faster, that's impressive – and FAST!

Get started with Liquid Web now!
Use code WHR40VIP and get 40% OFF for 2 months on ALL hosting products!

3. High Performance

Liquid Web has averaged a below 1 second load time, which is pretty good for the hosting industry. But when you break things down into datacenters (3 of them to be exact), you'll find that based on your geographic location, the web speeds are much better:

  • US Central Region: 615ms
  • US-West Region: 330ms
  • EU-Central Region: 867ms

Liquid Web doesn't stop there though. After all, there's a lot more to a fast-performing website than loading speeds.

Take a look:

  • Liquid Web has over 25,000 servers in privately owned operated core datacenters
  • Data centers have redundant cooling, networks, and power to ensure uptime and speed
  • The Tier-1 bandwidth connection minimizes latency and fast connections to all points of the global internet
  • Experts monitor network performance 24/7/365
  • You'll get a built-in image optimization solution with your hosting package to use on your site
  • HTTP/2 is available, which not only increases site speed and performance but helps with site security

Lastly, Liquid Web supports PHP 7. And it's a good thing too because PHP 7.0 is no longer supported, PHP 7.1 is on a security fix only schedule, and PHP 7.2 is about to follow suit come to the end of 2019.

Adding to that, PHP 7.4 is expected to be released in November of 2019. So any web host not supporting PHP 7 doesn't have your site speed and performance in mind.

4. Fastest WordPress Hosting

Liquid Web has engineered one of the best WordPress hosting platforms out there to make hosting simple so you can focus on growing your site. Their fully managed WordPress hosting is a complete solution and is the best choice for mission-critical WordPress sites.

Every plan comes with pre-installed plugins, automatic updates, website staging, nightly backups, iThemes sync, iThemes Security Pro, free SSL certificate, and additional features to fit every type of website.

The managed WordPress hosting space has exploded in the past couple of years, what makes your managed WordPress hosting service different and better?

“Our Managed WordPress offering was created with the needs of the modern WordPress developer's needs in mind. WordPress is no longer only for blog and content sites—many WordPress sites are fully-powered applications, and require the resources to run as such. Our Managed WordPress offering doesn't rely on caching to ensure top speeds, instead, we've built an entire platform focused on concurrent requests.

Dollar for dollar, Liquid Web offers the highest numbers of PHP workers at the lowest price compared to the rest of the competition. Membership sites, message boards, and ecommerce stores will see dramatic improvements when switching to Liquid Web.

All Managed WordPress customers have our 59-second support response guarantee for both server and WordPress-related support requests, and through Liquid Web's relationship with iThemes, all Managed WordPress plans include iThemes Security Pro. For agencies, freelancers, and anyone else who builds many WordPress sites, our Managed WordPress offering is the market leader in value.”
liquid web logo
Christie Chirinos – WooCommerce Product Manager at Liquid Web


Their managed WordPress platform has been custom-built from the ground up to deliver speed and reliability. Their platform doesn't rely on caching to ensure top speeds, instead, it's focused on concurrent requests and a high number of PHP workers to ensure you have the fastest, most stable, and most secure service for your WordPress powered site.

fully managed wordpress hosting
  • No over-usage fees, traffic limits, or metered page views
  • Automatic plugin updates with visual comparisons
  • Free image optimization plugin that improves page-speed
  • Nightly plugin updates tested in a staging environment (why aren't more web hosts doing this?)
  • iThemes sync and iThemes Security Pro
  • Free site migrations where an entire team is dedicated to helping you migrate your data from your current host.
  • Industry-leading guarantees backed by a 100% uptime worry-free guarantee. 100% uptime or they will credit you 10X the amount.
  • Full server access and Developer tools (SSH, Git, and WP-CLI)
  • Free SSL certificates
  • Staging sites
  • 24/7/365 phone, email, and live chat support

The managed WordPress dashboard, has all the essential features and configurations:

managed wordpress dashboard

Managed WP hosting comes included with free iThemes Security Pro:

free ithemes security pro

WordPress hosting plans start at $19 per month with no hidden fees and you’re never locked into any contracts.

5. Specialized WooCommerce Hosting

WooCommerce is the most used ecommerce platform and Liquid Web claims they have built the first-ever all-in-one solution for WooCommerce, which rivals solutions like Shopify.

woocommerce hosting comparison

It's more than just WordPress + the WooCommerce plugin. Their managed WooCommerce hosting is extremely fast and reliable as the platform has been optimized to reduce query loads by 95%.

What makes your managed WooCommerce hosting different than WooCommerce hosting offered by the competition?

“Liquid Web invented the concept of Managed WooCommerce hosting. Unlike the competition, Liquid Web's Managed WooCommerce hosting is a lot more than WooCommerce installed on a Managed WordPress plan. First, Liquid Web created the Custom Order Tables plugin, the WooSimple plugin, and several other plugins that increase site speed by reducing WooCommerce query load by 85%, simplify the product pages, and add rich features to WooCommerce, and added them to every plan.

In addition, we have WooCommerce Specialists on staff who will look at incoming WooCommerce stores on the platform and make further recommendations to increase performance. This means that WooCommerce stores will see dramatic improvements when switching to Liquid Web. Then, the Managed WooCommerce customer can take advantage of product partnerships we've negotiated with some of the most popular WooCommerce theme and plugin authors to leverage features such as no-fee payment processing, abandoned cart recovery, advanced analytics, affiliate marketing, and more, at no additional cost—a $6,000/year value.

And, of course, our Managed WooCommerce customers have that 59-second support guarantee for the server, WordPress, and WooCommerce-related support requests. It's pretty remarkable.”
liquid web logo
Christie Chirinos – WooCommerce Product Manager at Liquid Web


Liquid Web's managed WooCommerce hosting comes with the following features:

  • Tables to store order data to reduce query loads by as much as 95%
  • Jilt abandoned cart email services, emails are customizable with a one-click link back to the abandoned cart and scheduling control.
  • 20+ performance tests you can run to prepare for traffic increases
  • Support for physical, digital, dropshipping, and marketplace shops
  • Free “White Glove” site migrations
  • Built-in page builder (Beaver Builder) for easy site creation
  • Pre-packaged Astra theme, which is optimized for online stores
  • Mobile optimization
  • Free SSL certificate & iThemes Security Pro
  • Worry-free automatic plugin updates with visual comparisons
  • More than $150/month in free software and tool bundles

Managed WooCommerce from Liquid Web includes the following bundles that come free with all plans:

  • BeaverBuilder – premium page builder plugin (valued at $99/year)
  • IconicWP – ALL of their premium WooCommerce plugins (valued at $200+/year)
  • Jilt – premium abandonded cart plugin (valued at $850/year)
  • AffiliateWP – premium affiliate management plugin (valued at $99/mo)
  • GlewAnalytics – ecommerce analytics (valued at $199/mo

The WooCommerce Beginner plan starts at just $19 per month, with no hidden fees and you’re never stuck in a contract. You can upgrade or cancel at any time to fit your needs.

Liquid Web’s higher performance plans (Standard, Plus, Pro, & Enterprise) come with Glew.io included. Glew.io (valued at $199+ per month) is the ultimate analytics and reporting software for ecommerce marketers, allowing you to see all analytics on your site and market like a giant million-dollar corporation. For example, imagine being able to segment your customers in groups like “customers who spent $500+ but have not returned in the past 6 months” or “VIP customers who spend over $1,000 this year” all with a click on a button.

6. Premium Support, Including Friendly Humans

Liquid Web support

One of the neatest things about Liquid Web is what I'm calling the “59” Support Guarantee.

As a way to prove to you that you matter as a Liquid Web customer, Liquid Web offers the following 59 support guarantees:

59 seconds / minutes guarantee
  • Help Desk Initial Response: any time you submit a trouble ticket using the help desk system, you'll get a response from a technician within 30 minutes. If Liquid Web fails to respond within 59 minutes, you'll be credited 10 times the amount of time exceeding the SLA commitment. In other words, if your ticket goes 1 hour beyond the 59-minute support guarantee, you'll receive a 10-hour hosting credit.
  • Phone Answer Time: a live support agent will answer your phone call within 59 seconds from the time you choose the department you want to talk to. If not, you'll receive a hosting credit of 10 times the amount of time that passes the guarantee.
  • Live Chat Initial Response Time: a live chat support representative will answer your chat within 59 seconds of choosing the department of your choice and filling out the pre-chat survey questions. Again, if Liquid Web fails to fulfill the 59-second guarantee, you'll receive 10 times hosting credit to your account.

Remember too, Liquid support is available 24/7/365, so you never have to worry about getting in touch with help when you need it most.

Liquid Web also has a blog, Knowledge Base, WooCommerce Resource Center, content hub (breaking content into hosting type categories), an ecommerce shop owner podcast (called Store Builders), webinars (accessible anytime), and an event lineup for those interested in attending WordPress community events.

Need even more help? Get in touch with your personal consultant or Liquid Web account manager and ask away!

7. 100% Power and Network Uptime Guarantee

Liquid Web joins the few web hosting companies out there offering a 100% uptime guarantee. In other words, it promises that all major routing devices within Liquid Web networks will be reachable from the global internet all the time.

100% network and uptime guarantee

Of course, there are some exclusions:

  • Scheduled network, hardware, or software maintenance
  • Malicious attacks (such as major DDoS attacks)
  • Legal actions taken against your website or company
  • CPanel issues

While 100% uptime is impossible to achieve forever, Liquid Web does a really good job of almost doing it anyways. In fact, this year Liquid Web has maintained an impressive 99.997% uptime over the course of ten months.

And just in case you're wondering, Liquid Web does offer a 10 times credit for the amount of downtime to all hosting customers affected should the downtime. In other words, if your website goes down for 1 hour, you'll receive a 10-hour hosting credit to your account.

8. Free Site Migrations

Whether an internal move within Liquid Web or an external move from another web host, Liquid Web will migrate your site to its hosting platform for free. And if its team of experts can't migrate your site for whatever reason, rest assured you'll receive whatever support the team can give you while you work it out.

free site migrations

Though this might not seem like such a great feature to offer site owners, and you may even think it standard in the hosting industry, trust us when we say it's not. Many web hosting companies force you to migrate your site yourself or charge you a hefty fee to help you.

If you want to migrate a WordPress site (or sites) to the Liquid Web managed WordPress hosting platform by yourself, then you can use the free Migrate To Liquid Web WordPress plugin. The plugin takes care of everything, from copying all the data to transforming config files and importing this to the Liquid Web server.

9. Free DDoS Protection

The last thing you want to deal with is a DDoS attack that brings your site down and causes you a loss in sales or leads.

free ddos protection

That's why Liquid Web offers all website owners the option to enable free Cloudflare CDN services (including DDoS protection) in their hosting account. Cloudflare CDN services do more than deliver site content around the world instantly using servers spanning the globe.

But just in case you need a refresher, here are the top reasons to take advantage of the free Cloudflare CDN services:

  • Your large video or image files will slow your site down
  • Large bandwidth use will strain resources
  • Tons of traffic but low conversion rates can be improved with faster content delivery
  • Improve your SEO efforts with faster load time and more user engagement on site

But more than that, Cloudflare insulates your website and automatically drops malicious traffic to prevent a DDoS attack from bringing down your website.

In fact, it has the advanced capability of ensuring legitimate traffic makes it through to your website, even during an attack. And just in case your site does become involved in a DDoS attack, trust that Liquid Web will notify you immediately.

Want something a little more powerful? You can always purchase Liquid Web's premium DDoS Attack Prevention services that will do the following:

  • Monitor all web traffic that reaches your site in real-time
  • Intelligently identify attacks before they happen and proactively react
  • Scrub and separate all malicious traffic before it reaches the critical layer of your infrastructure

Premium DDoS protection starts at $99/month.

10. Free SSL certificates

SSL certificates are great for protecting:

  • Banks, credit unions, or other websites (such as WooCommerce shops) that handle financial transactions
  • Connections to a web or email server
  • File transfers (SFTP) from your computer to a server
  • Online application logins (any password-protected websites)

An SSL certificate will encrypt the data being transferred between your host's server and your user's browser so that no one can intercept it in the process. Plus, it will prevent your website from being flagged by Chrome as “Not Secure.”

free ssl certificate

Luckily, Liquid Web offers all hosting customers a free SSL certificate, which is nice seeing as many web hosts will charge you extra for this much-needed service.

Liquid Web's Managed WooCommerce and Managed WordPress plans automatically come with free Let’s Encrypt SSL for your primary domain that you have set in the control panel when your site goes live or if you rename your primary domain in the control panel.

Hosting Plans

Liquid Web is different from most web hosts in that it doesn't offer shared hosting (like SiteGround and Bluehost). Let me repeat – Liquid Web does not offer shared hosting.

What it does offer, however, are the following types of web hosting: managed dedicated servers, managed VPS hosting, managed WordPress, and managed WooCommerce.

So, let's take a look at each before diving into the features you can expect when you use Liquid Web as your web host.

Managed WordPress Hosting

Liquid Web Managed WordPress Hosting

Managed WordPress hosting services that truly handle it all can be hard to come by. But with Liquid Web you get zero overage fees, traffic limits, or metered page views to start. This means you can continue to grow your WordPress website without fear of being cut off due to your own success.

WordPress Hosting Features

In addition, you'll get the following features with managed WordPress hosting:

  • PHP 7 support
  • Fast speed with 10 PHP workers
  • Nginx
  • Built-in image optimization
  • Free site migrations with zero downtime
  • Nightly plugin updates tested in a staging environment (why aren't more web hosts doing this?)
  • iThemes sync and iThemes Security Pro
  • Full server access
  • Automatic daily backups (stored offsite for 30 days)
  • Developer tools (SSH, Git, and WP-CLI)
  • Free SSL certificates
  • Staging sites
  • 24/7/365 phone, email, and live chat support
managed wordpress hosting prices

Managed WordPress hosting plans start at $19/month for one site

Get managed WordPress hosting now
Use code WHR40VIP and get 40% OFF for 2 months on ALL hosting products!

Managed WooCommerce Hosting

Liquid Web Managed WooCommerce Hosting

Liquid Web offers those with WooCommerce stores specialized managed WooCommerce hosting services. To start, the team at Liquid Web understands that even high-quality managed WordPress hosting may not cache your ecommerce store the way it needs to be. So, they take it upon themselves to intelligently cache your site for maximum performance and exceptional user experience.

WooCommerce Hosting Features

Liquid Web gives WooCommerce shop owners features such as:

  • Tables to store order data to reduce query loads by as much as 95%
  • Jilt abandoned cart email services
  • 20+ performance tests you can run to prepare for traffic increases
  • Support for physical, digital, dropshipping, and marketplace shops
  • Free “White Glove” site migrations
  • Built-in page builder (Beaver Builder) for easy site creation
  • Pre-packaged Astra theme, which is optimized for online stores
  • Mobile optimization
  • Free SSL certificate & iThemes Security Pro
  • Worry-free automatic plugin updates with visual comparisons
  • More than $150/month in free software and tool bundles
managed woocommerce hosting prices

Managed WooCommerce hosting plans start at $19/month

Get managed WooCommerce hosting now
Use code WHR40VIP and get 40% OFF for 2 months on ALL hosting products!

Managed Dedicated Servers

Liquid Web Managed Dedicated Servers

Liquid Web's managed dedicated server hosting means your website data and files are stored on a single-tenant server. You never have to share resources, can customize your hosting environment, and can build-to-order your hosting solution using Linux or Windows (which not every web host does).

Plus, you'll enjoy features such as:

  • Real-time monitoring
  • 100% power and network uptime guarantee
  • Standard DDoS protection
  • CloudFlare CDN services
  • Backup drives
  • Root access
  • Dedicated IP address
  • Business-grade SSD storage for maximum performance

Dedicated server hosting plans start at $199/month.

Get managed dedicated server hosting now
Use code WHR40VIP and get 40% OFF for 2 months on ALL hosting products!

Managed VPS Hosting

Liquid Web Managed VPS Hosting

Their managed VPS hosting claims that its managed VPS hosting services are faster than AWS or Rackspace (two leading cloud hosting solutions in the industry), Liquid Web provides website owners the reliability they need and advanced security features so they never have to worry.

Plus, VPS hosting comes with the power of a dedicated server and the flexibility of cloud hosting. In other words, it's great for those that need the control of a dedicated server, but want to keep costs down.

Here are some of the most notable features you get with Liquid Web VPS hosting:

  • Gigabit bandwidth
  • Unlimited sites
  • CloudFlare CDN services
  • Dedicated IP address
  • Local backups
  • Root access
  • Integrated firewall
  • DDoS protection
  • Easy scaling up or down
  • cPanel, Plesk, or Interworx
  • 100% power and network uptime guarantee

VPS hosting plans start at $29/month.

Get managed VPS hosting now
Use code WHR40VIP and get 40% OFF for 2 months on ALL hosting products!

Liquid Web Pros and Cons

Here I have listed the pros and cons of their managed WordPress and WooCommerce hosting services.

Managed WordPress Hosting Pros:

  • High performance (PHP Workers, SSD, PHP7, HTTP/2, Let's Encrypt SSL, and Nginx)
  • No overusage fees, or limits on page views or traffic
  • Free iThemes sync (manage multiple WordPress sites from one dashboard) and iThemes Security Pro
  • Free propriety image optimization plugin
  • No WordPress theme or plugin bans
  • Free “White-Glove” site migrations
  • 100% uptime guarantee and generous compensation for downtime
  • 24/7/365 support with stellar 59 minutes/seconds guarantees

Managed WooCommerce Hosting Pros:

  • WooCommerce speed and performance-optimized (SSD, PHP7, Let's Encrypt SSL, HTTP/2, Nginx, Varnish & Redis Caching)
  • 30 to 300 PHP Workers to guarantee fast speeds
  • Free bundle included: Beaver Builder page builder plugin, All Iconic WP plugins, Jilt Abandoned Cart, Affiliate WP, and Glew Analytics
  • Affordable beginner plan from $19/month that is WooCommerce fully featured
  • Free PayPal & Stripe integration on all plans
  • Free “White-Glove” site migrations

Managed WordPress and WooCommerce Cons:

  • Expensive (no inexpensive shared hosting; caters to those who need performance, reliability, and support – and will pay for it)
  • No free email hosting (premium add-on starts at $1/month)
  • US & Europe centric; no data centers in Asia Pacific (however a CDN helps with geographic coverage in Asia-Pacific regions)
  • Beginner WooCommerce package caps at 15 products with unlimited transactions or 150 orders per month
  • No money-back-guarantee – though there is no contract and you can cancel at any time

Liquid Web Review 2022 – Summary

Is Liquid Web any good?

liquid web review

So, is Liquid Web any good?

Yes, Liquid Web is great for website owners that are growing exponentially and need guaranteed reliability, speed, and uptime all the time.

Liquid Web is different from most web hosts in that it doesn’t offer shared hosting. This, of course, means that their prices will be higher.

In fact, Liquid Web is in a league of their own when it comes to the type of web hosting it offers its customers. Instead, it takes a luxury approach and seeks to stand out amongst a saturated industry that is striving to give website owners the same kind of services.

Liquid Web makes helping people a priority and truly managing your website something to look forward to. After all, with a higher price tag than most web hosts, it has to offer you every service you could need to run a successful website (plus some!)

Interested in giving Liquid Web a try? Check out how Liquid Web can help your website reach its potential and continue to grow beyond your wildest dreams.

DEAL

Use code WHR40VIP to get 40% OFF

From $19 per month

User Reviews

Fantastic !

Rated 4 out of 5
May 13, 2022

I have to pay twice what I used to pay my last web host. But Liquid Web makes up for it in service quality. The uptime is great. LW's managed web hosting makes it really easy for me to manage my website. I just wish the pricing was a little cheaper and their user interface a little simpler and modern.

Avatar for Trung
Trung

Not cheap but the best

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2022

Liquid Web's hosting services aren't affordable for small businesses but if you can afford it, look no further. I have never had such a good experience with a web host before. Their support team is available whenever I need them. Their managed dedicated servers plan gives me complete control over my server. Their support team actually cares about keeping you happy. They are all technically-literate and very professional.

Avatar for LW user
LW user

Happy!!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 4, 2022

I started using Liquid Web's managed WordPress hosting in 2019. At first, I didn't want to host my site with them because of how expensive their service is. But I am glad I did. Their service is better anyone else on the market. My site is super fast and whenever I have a technical issue, I can reach out to a real human being directly.

Avatar for O.O
O.O

LW has seen better days

Rated 3 out of 5
November 23, 2021

With their chat support failing or being blocked off (but their sales support chat working) and their website being hard to get around, while some support tickets do not get addressed for days if ever noticed until you try to connect via chat which is now failing. LW has seen better days…. even that the uptime is excellent, but that's about all pros.

Avatar for Mikhail Hypolythe
Mikhail Hypolythe

Irresistible!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 3, 2021

I have been using Liquid Web for a year now and really got no issues with it. I'm 100% satisfied with its features, the 24/7 59-second support guarantee, and WooCommerce solutions for my business. Luckily, I was in a region where Liquid Web is available.

Avatar for Xan Z
Xan Z

Asian here…

Rated 1 out of 5
September 9, 2021

I'm an Asian and was disappointed that Liquid Web is not available here. I hope the company will open its doors to Asia and other regions not covered by now.

Avatar for Allan Enriquez
Allan Enriquez

Extremely Reliable

Rated 5 out of 5
September 9, 2021

It's just a matter of choosing a plan that's right for you. Once you're in there and get used to it, you will find that this password manager is extremely reliable, secure, and powerful with its great uptime and highly notable speed. This is one thing I can proudly recommend.

Avatar for Ray C
Ray C

75-25 feels

Rated 4 out of 5
February 15, 2021

They really do provide as advertised but I think they could do better with their pricing. I think it's too over the edge. I only joined in due to a discount code I was able to avail on, otherwise I would have never chosen to onboard with them. Sometimes that makes you think if they literally priced it that way and give out codes just so that in the long run you'd be fine with paying more?

Avatar for Joe Turner
Joe Turner

Exceptional

Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2021

They blow my mind with the speed and great uptime. Perfect for those who don't mind paying for a premium hosting service. This is specifically their demographic and if you aren't happy with their pricing, I think you should look elsewhere. If you are though, then they really are the deal.

Avatar for Justine Welsch
Justine Welsch

Premium Business Email Service is AWESOME!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 18, 2020

I used to have SO. MANY. ISSUES. with my other hosting regarding client emails. The server would be down or the messages wouldn't come through for half a day. The emails on liquid web come through instantly, there is no lag at all. If you have a business email that's got your web address in it, I would get Liquid Web.

Avatar for Brent
Brent

Liquid Web is fantastic!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2020

Whatever you need…Liquid Web got it! Fast loading, secure hosting, daily backups, 100% uptime guarantee, live support via phone or chat, and so much more. It's an excellent fit for our clients and our business. We've used other providers in the past and they just can't measure up. Liquid Web is fantastic!!!

Avatar for Robin
Robin

Reliable!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2020

Very reliable hosting! If any errors occur on your site, they will notify you immediately. I highly recommend

Avatar for Evelyn
Evelyn

I definitely recommend Liquid Web

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2020

For anyone seeking high performance managed hosting with superior support, I don't think anyone can beat Liquid Web. Their support is truly heroic, especially in comparison with other hosting companies I've dealt with. The support staff has always been helpful and knowledgeable when we have had questions or need some technical assistance. Excellent speed and reliability. I definitely highly recommend Liquid Web.

Avatar for Tom from Chicago
Tom from Chicago

Was great at first

Rated 2 out of 5
June 21, 2020

Was great when I got a discount for the hosting plan, and as expected, I paid full price when it came time to renew. However, on the third year, they increased my hosting plan by over 33%. Said my existing plan didn't exist anymore. When I sign up for a hosting plan, I want to feel comfortable knowing that the plan will be available for years to come. I understand server requirements change and whatnot, but in the little time that I was with them, they increased the price that much, I can only wonder much more the price would have been increased. That is outrageous. I felt like I was getting ripped off like how the cable companies do you. They get one more star from me because their hosting was great.

Avatar for Sammy
Sammy

Dedicated Server Going Well

Rated 4 out of 5
June 5, 2020

We use their services since we have no servers in house. Specifically, we use their dedicated server for our large websites; we had migrated over our Legacy Wordpress Multisite Network. We never have to wait too long when on chat with support, and I really like that.

Avatar for Thomas Holden
Thomas Holden

Pricey

Rated 2 out of 5
May 29, 2020

This hosting company doesn't really seem like it's as good as the bigger companies. For the price, you would think that this one is tip top, but nah, it's just whatever. I had my site hosted for 15 days before I decided to cancel it. Support was okay. I'd rather figure stuff out on my own and pay less than do their managed hosting.

Avatar for Kaci F.
Kaci F.

Long time customer

Rated 5 out of 5
May 27, 2020

I've been a long time customer of Liquid Web, and I've never had one website down. Their customer service center responds promptly to your inquiries and they have all been very knowledgeable, especially when I have any questions about my server. They are also very honest and don't try to upsell you on everything like Godaddy used to do with me.

Avatar for NIcki Conti
NIcki Conti

Mediocre

Rated 3 out of 5
May 24, 2020

Mediocre hosting support, will be switching back to Godaddy in the fall once my hosting is up for renewal. My site is kinda slow and my wp login seems real screwy sometimes.

Avatar for g.j.
g.j.

LiquidWeb is way overpriced

Rated 3 out of 5
May 13, 2020

Thanks for this review. Unfortunately, I am formerly a very happy customer with WiredTree and did not experience the benefits you highlight upon my move to LiquidWeb after they were acquired. In my opinion, they do charge luxury but provide only standard level support. In my case prices increased more than 70% over a year, with the same level of technical hosting performance. Perhaps it is because they have grown so big and want to focus more on larger enterprise clients. I find LiquidWeb is way overpriced for the level of performance and support they provide. I've just terminated my contract and am enjoying a superior level of performance and service from my new host, at a price less than 1/3 of what I was paying for my previous VPS plan.

Avatar for Tim
Tim

Best hosting for WooCommerce

Rated 5 out of 5
March 14, 2020

It's been a pleasure using Liquid Web since I moved over from another web host offering WooCommerce hosting. The things I love so much about Liquidweb are: A) Things just works and it's fast. B) Support is always there if needed and doesn't make you feel stupid for contacting them (even when I have called at 1am with a problem). C) Their WooCommerce hosting hits the sweet spot between ease of use and technical capabilities.

Avatar for Maya T
Maya T

Site is offline at times, support is a joke

Rated 1 out of 5
February 24, 2020

Tried contacting support for my sites being offline, the foreigners (with western names) are of no help whatsoever. Do not recommend Liquid Web. They will make you lost $$ in the long run.

Avatar for Jenna D.
Jenna D.

Solid Hosting

Rated 4 out of 5
February 12, 2020

I had issues with my dedicated servers and the first support person was unable to assist me so I was transferred a few times before the final support person helped me. Problem seemed to be a DNS error so I was a little surprised the first person didn't catch that, but perhaps they didn't specialize in servers.

Avatar for Chrissy
Chrissy

I don't get it.

Rated 3 out of 5
February 11, 2020

I don't get why someone would pay the ridiculous cost to use LiquidWeb. They are no better than Goddady or HostGator. They couldn't accommodate me on a slightly discounted price for my second year of hosting and I was spending an obscene amount of money with them. Don't they realize the hosting biz is competitive? If you can't keep your customers happy, they will leave, plain and simple. I wasn't expecting a big discount just something at least I had gotten a great deal on my first year of hosting. Godaddy at least will knock off a slight amount for you even when there is no code. Oh well

Avatar for Aaron
Aaron

DONT use their managed woocommerce package

Rated 1 out of 5
January 27, 2020

What a joke. NO one told me I was limited to 15 products with the beginner woo commerce package, This is so stupid you can just get a basic hosting somewhere else then dl wp then install woocommerce and do all the products you want!

Avatar for B. Lowell
B. Lowell

Great service

Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2020

Wonderful service and uptime. I have a managed VPS account, which is a little pricey, but the service and quality make up for the cost. The server speed is good and security is definitely a notch above its competitors.

Avatar for Mr B
Mr B

Good tech support

Rated 4 out of 5
October 12, 2019

I had a lot of programming glitches so I called Liquid Web technical support and they helped me right away, however, they used very detailed techy lingo that I didn't understand. I wish they would make it a little more easy to understand.

Avatar for Dez
Dez

Managed WordPress Hosting Is Great!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 4, 2019

Best I've found – best support, speed and security! I strongly recommend LiquidWeb.com

Avatar for Chris
Chris

Submit Review

Review Updates

  • 23/12/2021 – Minor update
  • 06/04/2021 – Partnered with Threat Stack to provide Threat Stack Oversight to managed hosting customers
  • 01/01/2021 – Liquid Web pricing update
  • 28/10/2020 – Dedicated servers are upgraded with Intel Xeon scalable technology

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.