LastPass 与 Dashlane(密码管理器比较)

作者

我们的内容是读者支持的. 如果您点击我们的链接,我们可能会赚取佣金。 我们如何审核.

密码管理员 只是令人难以置信的工具,让您的生活更轻松。 但是,您可能会在您可以使用的密码管理器选择之间产生一些焦虑。 似乎每个角落都有一个新的密码管理器。

但是总是出现在列表中的两个名字是 LastPass 和 Dashlane

产品特点LastPass的1Password
lastpass标志dashlane 标志
总结您不会对 LastPass 或 Dashlane 感到失望 - 两者都是出色的密码管理器。 LastPass的 更易于使用,并且具有更好的隐私和安全性。 Dashlane 另一方面提供更便宜的保费计划。
价格每月$ 3起每月$ 1.99起
免费计划是(但有限的文件共享和 2FA)是(但一台设备和最多 50 个密码)
2FA、生物识别登录和暗网监控
产品特点自动更改密码。 帐户恢复。 密码强度审计。 安全的笔记存储。 家庭定价计划零知识加密文件存储。 自动更改密码。 无限VPN。 暗网监控。 密码共享。 密码强度审计
易用性⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🥇⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
安全与隐私⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🥇⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
物有所值⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🥇
您的网站访问LastPass.com访问 Dashlane.com

这些是桌面应用程序和移动应用程序最受欢迎的密码管理器,而且它们很好。 那么你如何选择你的呢? 

当然,你不能两者兼得! 在这 LastPass 与 Dashlane 的比较,我将在此处讨论它们的功能、特性、额外奖励、计费计划、安全级别以及它们提供的所有其他内容。

TL博士

LastPass 的免费版本具有比 Dashlane 更多的功能。 两者都有可靠的安全措施,但 LastPass 有一个安全漏洞,它的历史变得迟钝。 

然而,没有数据泄露的事实弥补了 LastPass 并证明了其加密系统的稳定性。 因此,让我们深入了解这两个应用程序,看看有什么提示可以扩大规模。

LastPass 与 Dashlane 的主要功能

用户数

Dashlane 和 LastPass 都只允许一个用户使用每个免费帐户。 但如果您付费,情况就不同了,这个故事将在我们下面文章的计划和定价部分讲述。

设备数量

LastPass的 无需付费即可安装在多个设备上,但不能安装在您的所有设备上。 你只需要选择一种类型,然后坚持下去。 您可以仅在移动设备或台式机之间进行选择,但不能同时选择两者。 对于多设备 sync 功能,您将必须获得 LastPass 溢价。

Dashlane free 不支持任何类型的多个设备。 您只能在一台设备上严格获取它。  

如果您想在另一台设备上获取它,您必须取消链接您的帐户并将该链接提供给您要继续使用的设备。 在这种情况下,您的数据将自动传输。 除此之外,如果您想在多个设备上使用 Dashlane 的服务,那么您必须获得一个高级帐户。

密码数量

LastPass 免费计划可让您存储无限的密码。 Dashlane 的免费计划只会让您保存 50 个密码。 Dashlane 中的无限密码是一项高级服务。

密码生成器

在密码生成器方面没有吝啬。 这是两个应用程序都具有的非常有趣且有用的功能。 您可以使用密码生成器为您的所有帐户创建新密码。 

密码是完全随机生成的。 您将能够选择参数,从而确定它们的长度以及它们的复杂程度。

密码生成器在 Dashlane 和 LastPass 的所有版本上都有免费和付费计划。 

lastpass 密码生成器

安全仪表板和分数

这两个应用程序都有一个安全仪表板,可以分析和显示密码的强度。 如果您的任何密码较弱或重复,请在密码生成器的帮助下通过制作一个强大且无法破解的密码来快速替换它们。

浏览器扩展

两者都兼容 Google Chrome、Internet Explorer、Microsoft Edge、Opera、Firefox 和 Safari。 但 Dashlane 在这里略占上风,因为它也适用于 Brave 的浏览器扩展。

导入密码

您可以将多个密码从一个密码管理器导入到另一个。 这种灵活性允许您尝试不同的密码管理器进行比较。

在这种情况下,LastPass 比 Dashlane 友好得多。 它允许您从其他密码管理器、浏览器、源导出等导入密码。 

您可以使用其他不支持此类导出的密码管理器被动导入文件。 LastPass 允许你以一种迂回的方式来完成——同时运行两个应用程序,然后通过自动填充复制数据。

另一方面,Dashlane 不会以这种迂回方式工作,但它可以让您在共享其传输兼容性的密码管理器之间导入和导出文件。

密码分享中心

LastPass 具有一对一的密码共享、安全笔记共享和用户名共享。 在免费版本中,您最多可以与 30 个用户共享一个项目。 但是一对多密码共享仅适用于他们的高级计划。 

在 Dashlane 中,免费版本中您只能与每个用户共享 5 个项目。 因此,如果您与用户共享一个项目并从他们那里收到 4 个项目,那么您的配额就已满。 

您不能与该用户共享任何其他项目。 如果你想分享更多,你必须得到他们的优质服务。 此外,您可以决定要授予用户何种访问权限——您必须在“有限权限”和“完全权限”之间进行选择。

请注意: 为了您的安全,建议您在两个密码管理器上共享随机生成的强密码。 明智的人说安全总比抱歉好,所以在共享敏感数据时要格外小心。

紧急访问和访问延迟

Dashlane 和 LastPass 都可以让您紧急访问您信任的联系人。

您可以让某人一次性访问您的保管库并为其设置延迟时间。 通过紧急访问,他们将看到您保管库中的所有内容,包括您的用户密码、安全笔记、个人信息等。

但是他们每次想要进入您的保险库时都必须向您发送请求,并且您可以在延迟时间内拒绝他们的请求。 

例如,如果您将访问延迟设置为 50 分钟,那么具有紧急访问权限的用户必须等待 50 分钟才能访问您的帐户。 如果你不想给他们访问权限,那么你必须在这 50 分钟内拒绝他们的请求; 否则,他们将自动进入。

撤销对共享项目的访问权限

这些是市场上最好的密码管理器,因为它们可以让您完全控制自己的隐私。 

因此,如果您已经与某人共享了某个项目,但后来决定不再信任他们,那么您可以返回并撤消他们对该项目的访问权限。 这非常简单,两个应用程序都可以让您通过他们的共享中心来完成。

恢复帐户/密码

尽管我们想让您忘记主密码时不会丢失所有内容。 普通用户可以通过多种方式返回他们的帐户。 

这些方法中效果最差的是密码提示。 我总是发现密码提示实际上很矛盾,但幸运的是还有更多提示。

您可以通过短信进行移动帐户恢复和一次性密码恢复,甚至可以告诉您的紧急联系人通过。 但是,恢复您帐户的最简单方法是让该生物识别技术发挥作用! 

在 LastPass 和 Dashlane 移动版本的独立应用程序中使用指纹或人脸识别系统来通过。 

但是,如果您丢失了手机和主密码,并且非生物识别方法都不起作用,那么您帐户的所有希望肯定会消失。 您必须创建一个新帐户,因为 Lastpass 和 Dashlane 都不知道您的主密码,因此他们无法进一步帮助您。  

自动填写表格

这两个应用程序都可以自动填充您的网络表单。 平均用户在填写表单上花费的平均小时数为 50 小时。 但是,如果您使用自动填充来传输安全密码并在 Web 表单上输入个人信息,则可以节省所有这些时间。

但是,请注意自动填充,因为它不是以纯文本形式写入的。 因此,在自动填充时查看您手机的任何人都将能够看到他们不应该看到的内容。 

LastPass Autofill 将允许您添加个人信息和银行详细信息。 Dashlane 扩展了该功能以添加用户名、地址、公司详细信息、电话号码等。

对于这两个应用程序来说,在浏览器扩展程序上使用自动填充功能是最简单的。 但是,LastPass 通过此功能在安全性方面更加严格,但 Dashlane 更加灵活,安全性稍差。

语言支持

语言不会完全影响您密码的安全性,但它绝对决定了这些应用程序的可访问性。 LastPass 和 Dashlane 都是美国的,所以它们都运行英语但支持其他语言。

LastPass 在这方面表现出色。 它支持德语、法语、荷兰语、意大利语、西班牙语和葡萄牙语,以及英语。 而 Dashlane 仅支持法语、德语和英语。

数据存储

您不仅可以获得轻松安全的密码的减压效果,而且您​​还可以通过密码管理器获得云存储的甜蜜解脱。 在这种情况下,Dashlane 肯定胜过免费版游戏。 

它为您提供 1 GB 的数据存储空间,而 LastPass 仅为您提供 50 MB。 您无法在任一应用程序上保存视频,因为 Dashlane 上的单个文件限制为 50 MB,而对于 LastPass,它们限制为 10MB。 

应用程序之间的这种差异仅在密码存储的情况下才能看到,LastPass 提供的不仅仅是 Dashlane。 好吧,我想这就是 Dashlane 平衡酒吧的方式。 通过提供如此高的数据存储,它很快弥补了低密码存储。

但我们仍然认为,就 LastPass 提供的无限密码存储而言,额外的 50 MB 并不能完全削减它。

暗网监控

暗网受益于市场上的弱密码和低效的密码管理器。 您的个人数据可能会在您不知情的情况下以数百万美元的价格出售。 

但如果您使用的是可靠的密码管理器,当您的登录凭据在您不参与的情况下被使用时,该密码管理器将为您提供身份盗用保护和通知。

幸运的是,管理密码并不是这些密码管理员的唯一职责——他们还将保护您的所有敏感信息。 LastPass 和 Dashlane 都会监控暗网,并在出现违规情况时向您发送通知。

不幸的是,此功能不是免费的。 这是两个应用程序的高级功能。 LastPass 最多可以保护 100 个电子邮件地址,而 Dashlane 最多只能保护 5 个电子邮件地址。

dashlane 暗网扫描

客户支持

基本的 LastPass 支持是免费的。 您可以访问包含各种查询解决方案的资源库,您还可以成为庞大的 LastPass 有用用户社区的一员。 

但是,LastPass 还提供另一种帮助,并且只为他们的高级客户保留 - 个人支持。 个人支持增加了通过电子邮件直接从 LastPass 客户服务部门获得即时帮助的便利。

Dashlane 支持非常方便。 您只需访问他们的网站,即可在您可能需要帮助的每个类别中找到大量资源。 

一切都划分得很好,导航非常简单。 此外,您可以随时联系他们的客户服务部门以获得具体帮助。

🏆 获胜者:LastPass

所有功能都将它们置于同一级别,但 LastPass 在共享中心方面提供了更大的灵活性。 在付费版本中,LastPass 保护的电子邮件地址也多于 Dashlane。 让我们不要忘记,LastPass 在其免费版本中为您提供无限的密码存储空间,而 Dashlane 则很吝啬。

LastPass 与 Dashlane – 安全和隐私

对于密码管理器,安全性是圣杯。 从安全车上掉下来一次; 将会有如此多的损害,以至于无法恢复。 但是,嘿,我们不知道其他密码管理器,但是我们今天谈论的这两个密码管理器肯定已经弄清楚了它们的加密系统和安全级别。 

好吧,LastPass 最近发现比 Dashlane 好一点。 自从 2015 年 LastPass 发生安全漏洞以来,它已经以更严格的安全模型很好地恢复了运营。 直到现在,什么都没有丢失。 

我们将指出,没有从 Lastpass 记录中窃取纯文本。 只有加密文件被盗,但幸运的是,由于对这些文件进行了强大的加密,没有受到任何损害。

但是,在 Dashlane 的运营历史中,没有报告此类数据泄露事件。

因此,让我们继续研究他们的安全模型。

零知识安全

这两个应用程序都具有零知识安全模型,这意味着即使是存储数据的服务器也无法读取它们。 因此,即使记录以某种方式被盗,如果没有您选择作为主密码的唯一密钥,它们也将无法读取。

端到端加密

LastPass 和 Dashlane 都使用 ENEE 使所有用户数据完全不可破解。 而不仅仅是基本的 ENEE; 他们使用 AES 256 来加密您的所有数据,这是世界各地银行使用的军用级加密方法。 

PBKDF2 SHA-256,一种密码散列机制, 也与它结合使用。 每个密码管理器都使用这些系统来混淆您的数据,并以这种方式使它们完全无法读取和无法通过蛮力破解。

据说目前的计算标准还不具备破解这个系统的能力。 

这是 LastPass 和 Dashlane 出现在每个谈论最佳密码管理器的列表中的主要原因。 这也是他们受到全球组织和大公司信任的原因。

因此,请放心,使用这两个系统,您的数据是完全安全的。

认证

身份验证对这两个应用程序都是通用的。 它增加了额外的安全层,以确保您的帐户对基本黑客行为有严格的密封。

在 Dashlane 中,有两个因素身份验证与 U2F YubiKeys 相关联,以加强您的安全性。 您需要使用 Dashlane 桌面应用程序启用 2FA,启用后,它将适用于 Android 和 iOS 移动应用程序。

LastPass 具有多因素身份验证,它利用一系列生物识别智能来验证您的真实性,以便您无需输入主密码即可访问您的帐户。 它还利用单击移动通知和短信代码。

🏆 获胜者:LastPass

两者都具有强大的安全功能,但 LastPass 在身份验证方面有更好的游戏。

Dashlane 与 LastPass – 易用性

绕过开源密码管理器要困难得多。 但这些都不是开源的,所以使用它们相当容易。 它们在所有平台上都非常直观,我们真的没有什么可抱怨的。

桌面应用

LastPass 和 Dashlane 都与 Windows、macOS 和 Linux 兼容。 桌面应用程序非常像网络浏览器,但我们认为网络版本在用户界面方面要好一些。

移动应用

只需从 Apple Store 或 PlayStore 获取应用程序,即可开始使用。 安装说明非常简单。 

您将毫不费力地通过 LastPass 的用户界面获得指导,而 Dashlane 也是一款同样易于操作的应用程序。 苹果用户可以 sync 该应用程序通过 Apple 生态系统实现无缝体验。

生物识别登录便利

当您在公共环境中时,这两个应用程序都利用生物识别信息,甚至不必输入您的主密码。 这非常方便,因为它为您提供了一种访问密码库的不显眼的方式。

🏆 获胜者:抽奖

Dashlane 有一段时间没有生物识别登录系统,但现在一切都赶上了。 因此,在易用性方面,我们认为两者是一致的。

dashlane

Dashlane 与 LastPass – 计划和定价

免费试用

在免费试用版中,LastPass 对密码或设备数量没有任何限制。 另一方面,Dashlane 将免费试用限制为一个用户和 50 个密码。

免费试用在这两个应用程序上运行 30 天。 

查看以下不同类型计划的付费版本的价格。

计划LastPass 订阅Dashlane 订阅
免费 $0  $0 
高级 每月$ 3起每月$ 1.99起
家庭 $4$5.99
团队 每位用户$ 4每位用户$ 5 
会议方案每位用户$ 6 $8/人 

在整体定价方面,Dashlane 比 Dashlane 便宜。

🏆 获胜者:Dashlane

它有明确的更便宜的计划。

Dashlane 与 LastPass – 额外功能

A VPN 帮助您保持在线状态更加难以追踪。 当您在户外并需要连接到公共网络时,这就是您的数据处于最脆弱状态的时候。 

尽管我们现在都没有出去,但保留 VPN 服务仍然非常有用,因为您可以使用它更有效地隐藏您的踪迹。

这就是 Dashlane 从一开始就在其服务中内置 VPN 的原因。 然而,LastPass 并没有等太久就赶上了。 它很快就与 ExpressVPN 扩大它可以提供的安全范围。

任何免费版本均不提供 VPN。 它们是这两个应用程序的高级计划的功能。

常问问题解答

Dashland 和 LastPass 是否在离线模式下工作?

是的,它们都在离线模式下工作,但前提是您已通过电子邮件验证了您的帐户。

LastPass 和 Dashlane 是否曾出现过安全漏洞?

是的,LastPass 很久以前就有过一次安全漏洞,但 Dashlane 从来没有。

如果此类密码管理器出现安全问题,我的信息是否处于危险之中?

在出现一般安全漏洞的情况下,加密数据不会受到损害。 由于 Dashlane 和 LastPass 都使用强大的加密系统,一旦您的数据进入他们的服务器,如果没有您的主密码,他们甚至无法破解它。

Dashlane 或 LastPass 是否提供电话支持?

不,您必须通过电子邮件与他们联系。

这些密码管理器是否适用于网络和移动设备?

LastPass 和 Dashlane 为您的桌面和 iOS 提供 Mac 和 Windows 版本,以及用于移动应用程序的 Android 版本。

这些密码管理器是否将我的数据存储在他们自己的服务器上?

您的数据在进入加密密码后经过完全加密,然后将混乱的表格存储两次。 混乱一旦存储在您的设备本地,然后复制到服务器。

LastPass 与 Dashlane 2022:总结

我会这样说 LastPass 是赢家. 它比 Dashlane 具有更大的灵活性,尤其是在付费版本中。 LastPass 缺少一些功能,但它们正在迅速迎头赶上。 

我们还会说,LastPass 看起来更物有所值的原因有两个。 首先,它的所有计划都比 Dashlane 便宜一些。 其次,更重要的是,LastPass 可以在暗网监控中保护 50 个电子邮件地址,而 Dashlane 只能保护五个。 然而,如果您更喜欢集成 VPN,那么 Dashlane 就是为您准备的!

參考資料

加入我们的通讯

订阅我们的每周综述通讯,获取最新的行业新闻和趋势

点击“订阅”即表示您同意我们的 使用条款和隐私政策.

Best Black Friday / Cyber Monday Deals for 2022 Click Here 🤑

LastPass vs Dashlane (Password Manager Comparison)

Written by

Our content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission. How we review.

Password managers are just incredible tools that make your life easier. However, you might be running up some anxiety between the choices of password managers that are at your disposal. It just seems like there is a new password manager around every corner.

But two names that always make the list are LastPass and Dashlane

FeaturesLastPass1Password
lastpass logodashlane logo
SummaryYou won't be disappointed with either LastPass or Dashlane - both are excellent password managers. LastPass is easier to use and have better for privacy and security. Dashlane on the other hand offers cheaper premium plans.
PriceFrom $3 per monthFrom $1.99 per month
Free planYes (but limited file sharing and 2FA)Yes (but one device and max 50 passwords)
2FA, Biometric Login & Dark Web MonitoringYesYes
FeaturesAutomatic password changing. Account recovery. Password strength auditing. Secure notes storage. Family pricing plansZero-knowledge encrypted file storage. Automatic password changing. Unlimited VPN. Dark web monitoring. Password sharing. Password strength auditing
Ease of Use⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 🥇⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Security & privacy⭐⭐⭐⭐ ⭐ 🥇⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Value for Money⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 🥇
WebsiteVisit LastPass.comVisit Dashlane.com

These are the most popular password managers for both your desktop app and your mobile apps, and well, they’re good. So how do you pick yours? 

You can’t have both, of course! In this LastPass vs Dashlane comparison, I’ll discuss their functions, features, extra incentives, billing plans, security levels, and all else that they offer right here.

TL;DR

LastPass has more features in its free version than Dashlane. Both have reliable security measures in place, but LastPass had a security breach that dulls its history. 

However, the fact that no data was compromised in the breach redeems LastPass and proves the stability of its encryption system. So let’s see what tips the scale by going in-depth with these two apps.

LastPass vs Dashlane Key Features

Number of Users

Both Dashlane and LastPass allow only one user to use each free account. But it’s a different story if you pay, and that story will be told in the Plans and Pricing section of our article below.

Number of Devices

LastPass can be installed on multiple devices without paying, but not on all your devices. You have to choose one type only and then stick to it. You can either choose between only mobile devices or your desktop, but not both. For the multi-device sync feature, you will have to get LastPass premium.

Dashlane free doesn’t support multiple devices of any type. You can get it strictly on one device only.  

If you want to get it on another device, you have to unlink your account and feed that link to the device you want to keep on. In this case, your data will automatically be transferred. Beyond this, if you want to use Dashlane’s service on multiple devices, then you have to get a premium account.

Number of Passwords

The LastPass free plan will let you store unlimited passwords. Dashlane’s free plan will only let you save 50 passwords. Unlimited passwords in Dashlane is a premium service.

Password Generator

No stinginess when it comes to the password generator. This is a really fun and useful feature that both apps have. You can use the password generator to create new passwords for all your accounts. 

The passwords are generated completely randomly. You will be able to choose the parameters and thereby determine their length and how complex they should be.

The password generator comes in free and paid plans on all versions of Dashlane and LastPass. 

lastpass password generator

Security Dashboard & Score

Both apps have a security dashboard where the strength of your passwords is analyzed and displayed. If any of your passwords are weak or repeated, then quickly replace them by making a strong and uncrackable one with the help of the password generator.

Browser Extensions

Both are compatible with Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge, Opera, Firefox, and Safari. But Dashlane has a slight upper hand here as it works with Brave’s browser extension as well.

Import Passwords

You can import multiple passwords from one password manager to another. This flexibility allows you to try out different password managers for comparison.

LastPass is much more friendly in this case than Dashlane. It allows you to import passwords from other password managers, browsers, source exports, and so on. 

You can passively import files with other password managers that don’t support such exporting. LastPass allows you to do it in a roundabout way – by running the two apps simultaneously and then copying the data through autofill.

Dashlane, on the other hand, won’t work up that roundabout way, but it will let you import and export files between password managers that share its transfer compatibility.

Password Sharing Center

LastPass has one-to-one password sharing, secure notes sharing, and username sharing. You can share an item with up to 30 users in the free version. But one-to-many password sharing is only upon their premium plan. 

In Dashlane, you can share only 5 items with each user in the free version. So if you share one item with a user and receive 4 items from them, that fills your quota. 

You cannot share any other item with that user. If you want to share more, you have to get their premium service. Also, you can decide what kind of access you want to give to a user — you have to choose between ‘limited rights’ and ‘full rights.’

Note: It is recommended that you share randomly generated strong passwords on both password managers for the sake of your own safety. Wise men say it’s better to be safe than sorry, so be extra careful when you are sharing sensitive data.

Emergency Access & Access Delays

Both Dashlane and LastPass will let you give emergency access to your trusted contacts.

You can give someone one-time access to your vault and set a delay time for them. With emergency access, they will see everything in your vault, including your user passwords, secure notes, personal information, etc.

But they will have to send you a request every time they want to get into your vault, and you can deny their request within that delay time. 

For example, if you set the access delay to 50 minutes, then the user with emergency access will have to wait 50 minutes before they can access your account. If you don’t want to give them that access, then you have to deny their request within those 50 minutes; otherwise, they will be let in automatically.

Revoke Access to Shared Items

These are the best password managers in the market because they allow you to completely control your privacy. 

So, if you have already shared an item with someone and later decided that you don’t trust them anymore, then you can go back and revoke their access to that item. It’s very easy, and both apps let you do it via their Sharing Center.

Recovering Accounts/Passwords

Although we would like to make it look like all is not lost when you forget your master password. There are ways in which the average user can get back to their account. 

The least effective of these ways is the password hint. I always find password hints to be quite paradoxical in effect, but thankfully there are some more.

You can do a mobile account recovery and one-time password recovery via SMS or even tell your emergency contact to come through. But the most buttery way to recover your account is to get that biometric to work! 

Use the fingerprint or face recognition systems in the standalone app in the mobile versions of LastPass and Dashlane to get through. 

But if you have lost your phone along with the master password, and none of the non-biometric methods are working, then all hope for your account surely is lost. You will have to make a new account because neither Lastpass nor Dashlane knows your master password, so they can’t help you out any further.  

Autofill Forms

Both the apps can autofill your web forms. The average number of hours that an average user spends in filling up forms is 50 hours. But you can save all those hours if you use autofill to transfer secure passwords and put in personal information on web forms.

However, be careful with autofill because it doesn’t write in plain text. So, anyone looking at your phone while your auto-filling will be able to see what they shouldn’t see. 

LastPass Autofill will allow you to add personal information and bank details. Dashlane extends the feature to add usernames, addresses, company details, phone numbers, and so on.

Using the autofill feature on browser extensions is the easiest for both apps. However, LastPass is tighter on security with this feature, but Dashlane is more flexible and a teeny bit less secure.

Language Support

Language doesn’t quite affect the safety of your passwords, but it definitely determines the accessibility of these apps. Both LastPass and Dashlane are American, so they both run English but support other languages.

LastPass excels in this regard. It supports German, French, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese, along with English. While Dashlane only supports French, German, and English.

Data Storage

Not only do you get the destressing effects of easily secure passwords, but you also get the sweet relief of cloud storage with a password manager. And in this case, Dashlane surely excels the free version game. 

It gives you 1 GB for storing data, whereas LastPass gives you merely 50 MB. You cannot save videos on either of the apps because individual files on Dashlane are limited to 50 MB, and for LastPass, they’re limited to 10MB. 

Such a disparity between the apps was only seen in the case of password storage, where LastPass was giving so much more than Dashlane. Well, I guess that this is how Dashlane balances out the bar. It quickly compensated for low password storage by giving such high data storage.

But we still think that an extra 50 MB doesn’t quite cut it with regards to the unlimited password storage provided by LastPass.

Dark Web Monitoring

The dark web benefits from weak passwords and inefficient password managers in the market. Your personal data can be sold for millions without your knowledge. 

But not if you’re using a reliable password manager that will give your identity theft protection and notifications when your login credentials are being used without your involvement.

Fortunately, managing passwords is not the only duty of these password managers – they will also protect all your sensitive information. Both LastPass and Dashlane will monitor the dark web and send you notifications in case of a breach.

Unfortunately, this feature is not a free one. It’s a premium feature on both apps. LastPass will protect up to 100 email addresses, while Dashlane will only protect up to 5 email addresses.

dashlane dark web scan

Customer Support

Basic LastPass support is free. You can get access to a library of resources that has solutions for all kinds of queries, and you can also be a part of the huge LastPass community of helpful users. 

But there’s another kind of help that LastPass offers, and it is reserved for their premium customers only – Personal Support. Personal Support adds the convenience of getting instant help via emails straight from the LastPass customer care unit.

Dashlane Support is incredibly convenient. You just have to go into their website to find a plethora of resources on every category that you might need help with. 

Everything is well compartmentalized, and navigation through it is pretty straightforward. Additionally, you can always reach out to their Customer Care unit to get specific help.

🏆 Winner: LastPass

All the features place them on the same level, but LastPass offers more flexibility in terms of the Sharing Center.  In the paid version, too, LastPass protects more email addresses than Dashlane. And let’s not forget, LastPass gives you unlimited password storage in its free version whereas Dashlane is stingy.

LastPass vs Dashlane – Security & Privacy

For a password manager, security is the holy grail. Fall off the security wagon once; there will be so much damage that there’s no getting back up. But hey, we don’t know about other password managers, but these two that we’re talking about today definitely have their encryption systems and security levels figured out. 

Well, LastPass figured out a little better recently than Dashlane. Ever since the security breach on LastPass in 2015, it has well resumed its operations with a tighter security model. Nothing has been lost until now. 

We will point out that no plain texts were stolen from the Lastpass records. Only encrypted files were stolen, but thankfully, nothing was compromised due to the robust encryption on those.

However, no such data breaches were reported with Dashlane in the history of its operations.

So let’s move on and look into their security models.

Zero-Knowledge Security

Both the apps have a zero-knowledge security model, which means that even the servers that store the data can’t read them. So, even if the records are somehow stolen, they won’t be readable without the unique key that you have chosen as the master password.

End to End Encryption

LastPass and Dashlane both use ENEE to make all user data completely uncrackable. And not just the basic ENEE; they use AES 256 to encrypt all your data, which is a military-grade encryption method used by banks all over the world. 

PBKDF2 SHA-256, a password hashing mechanism, is also used in conjunction with it. Each password manager uses these systems to jumble up your data and in that way, make them completely unreadable and uncrackable by brute force.

It is said that the current computational standards are not equipped to crack through this system as of yet. 

This is the main reason for which LastPass and Dashlane show up in every list that talks about the best password manager. It’s also why they are trusted by organizations and big corporations worldwide.

So, rest assured your data is completely safe with these two systems.

Authentication

Authentication is common to both apps. It adds an extra layer of security to ensure that your account has a tight seal against basic hacking.

In Dashlane, there is two-factor authentication that ties in with U2F YubiKeys to tighten up your security. You need to enable 2FA by using your Dashlane desktop app, and when enabled, it will work on both Android and iOS mobile apps.

LastPass has multi-factor authentication, which utilizes a range of biometric intelligence in order to verify your authenticity so that you can get access to your accounts without even the need to type out your master password. It also makes use of single-tap mobile notifications and SMS codes.

🏆 Winner: LastPass

Both have robust security features, but LastPass has a better game at authentication.

Dashlane vs LastPass – Ease of Use

It’s much more difficult to get your way around an open-source password manager. But neither of these is open source, so it is fairly easy to work with them. They are both very intuitive across all platforms, and we really have nothing to complain about.

Desktop App

Both LastPass and Dashlane are compatible with Windows, macOS, and Linux.  The desktop apps are very much like web browsers, but we think the web version is a bit better in terms of the user interface.

Mobile App

Just get the apps from Apple Store or PlayStore, and get started. The directions for installation are pretty straightforward. 

You will be guided through LastPass’s user interface effortlessly, and Dashlane is also an equally easy app to handle by all means. Apple users can sync the app through the Apple ecosystem for a seamless experience.

Biometric Login Convenience

Both the apps utilize biometric information to not even have to type your master password when you’re in a public setting. This is super convenient because it gives you an inconspicuous way to access your password vault.

🏆 Winner: Draw

Dashlane didn’t have a biometric login system for a while, but it’s all caught up now. So, in case of the ease of use, we see both to be at par with each other.

dashlane

Dashlane vs LastPass – Plans and Pricing

Free Trials

In the free trial version, LastPass doesn’t put any limit on the number of passwords or devices. Dashlane, on the other hand, limits the free trial to one user and 50 passwords.

The free trials run for 30 days on both apps. 

Check out the prices for the paid version of the different types of plans that they have below.

PlansLastPass SubscriptionDashlane Subscription
Free $0  $0 
Premium From $3 per monthFrom $1.99 per month
Family $4$5.99
Teams $4/user$5/user 
Business$6/user $8/suer 

In terms of overall pricing, Dashlane is cheaper than Dashlane.

🏆 Winner: Dashlane

It has definite cheaper plans.

Dashlane vs LastPass – Extra Features

A VPN helps you to keep your online presence even more untrackable. When you are outside and need to connect to a public network, that’s when your data is at its most vulnerable state. 

Even though none of us are going out now, it is still very useful to keep a VPN service because you can hide your trace more effectively with it.

This is why Dashlane has built a VPN into its service from the get-go. LastPass, however, did not wait too long to catch up. It soon partnered with ExpressVPN to expand the range of security it can provide.

VPNs aren’t offered in any of the free versions. They are features of the premium plan for both these apps.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Dashland and LastPass work in offline modes?

Yes, they both work in offline modes, but only if you have verified your account by email.

Have there ever been security breaches on LastPass and Dashlane?

Yes, LastPass had one security breach a long time ago, but Dashlane never did.

Is my information in danger in case of security issues on such password managers?

Encrypted data does not get compromised in the case of a general security breach. Since Dashlane and LastPass both use robust encryption systems, once your data gets into their servers, they cannot even crack it without your master password.

Does Dashlane or LastPass have phone support?

No, you have to contact them via email.

Do these password managers work on the web and mobile?

LastPass and Dashlane have Mac and Windows versions for your desktop and iOS, plus Android versions for mobile apps.

Do these password managers store my data on their own server?

Your data goes through total encryption after going into the encryption ciphers, and then the jumbled-up form is stored twice. The jumble is once stored locally in your device and then copied to the servers.

LastPass vs Dashlane 2022: Summary

I would say that LastPass is the winner. It has more flexibility than Dashlane, especially in the paid version. There are some features that are lacking in LastPass, but they are quickly catching up. 

We’ll also say that there are two reasons for which LastPass seems like a better value for money. Firstly, all its plans are slightly cheaper than Dashlane. Secondly and more importantly, LastPass can protect 50 email addresses in dark web monitoring, while Dashlane can only protect five. Yet, if you prefer an integrated VPN, then Dashlane is for you!

References

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.