22+ 电子商务统计数据和在线购物趋势 [2024 年更新]

2024是这里 零售业的末日来临了,这一切都要归功于电子商务和在线购物。 不熟悉这些术语中的任何一个? 你来对地方了。

本文将向您介绍有关电子商务和在线购物如何在2020中形成的所有信息。 因为了解最新的电子商务统计数据和在线购物趋势对于今年的任何在线业务都至关重要。

  1. 购买行为统计和事实
  2. 被遗弃的购物车统计与事实
  3. 平台性能统计和事实
  4. 视频内容统计和事实
  5. 社会电子商务统计与事实

零售启示录 是指关闭大量的 砖和灰浆 地点,特别是连锁店。

这场大灾难从早期开始 2010s 而且有 没有尽头。 原因? 的成长 电子商务和在线购物 没有让我们在没有打开目录或走出我们的前门的情况下触手可及的产品。

电子商务是在线购买或销售产品和服务的行为。 它从早期就开始蓬勃发展 1970s 斯坦福大学和麻省理工学院的学生使用ARPANET来安排大麻的销售。

如今,电子商务和在线购物品牌家喻户晓。 你听说过一个叫亚马逊的网站吗? 在 2015,网购网站占了 所有电子商务增长。 本主题是通往未来的门户,并了解最新的电子商务和 2020年互联网统计 对于了解情况至关重要。

1。 购买行为统计2024

男性每次交易的花费比女性多 - 大约是68的百分之多

Sumber: https://home.kpmg/bh/en/home/insights/2017/01/online-purchase-behavior.html

毕马威(KPMG)的数据显示,男性在交易上的花费比女性多68%。 这是因为,与女性相比,她们更有可能购买奢侈品和电子产品以及成批购买。 妇女更有可能购买价格较低的食品和化妆品。

男人最大化他们的在线时间,因此最终花费更多的钱。 如果您希望在电子商务市场中向男性受众寻求销售,请尝试提供套餐。 男人更有可能花时间弄清楚他们可以一次购买更大的包裹并且一次花更多的钱 - 所以他们不必在以后回来 - 而不是女人。

全球互联网用户越来越多地参与在线购物——93.5% 的人有过在线购买产品的经历,并且仍在增加

Sumber: https://optinmonster.com/email-marketing-vs-social-media-performance-2016-2019-statistics

据 OptinMonster 称,电子邮件和社交媒体营销都会影响全球互联网用户的购买行为。 虽然社交媒体营销提供了在决定购买什么之前进行社交互动的途径,但电子邮件营销对于推广品牌和利用视听内容的力量获得更多流量、销售额、转化率甚至更高的投资回报率也非常重要.

消费者是习惯的生物 - 30百分比宁愿回到他们之前购买过的网站

Sumber: https://assets.kpmg/content/dam/kpmg/xx/pdf/2017/01/the-truth-about-online-consumers.pdf

如果你对一个品牌有积极的体验,研究表明你之后不太可能偏离这个品牌。 这就是为什么电子邮件在他们已经从网站购买过一次后发送给客户非常有效的原因之一。 就像回到购物中心同样喜欢的商店一样,网上购物非常相似。 你知道你信任的品牌,你很乐意去追求。

亚马逊? 大约百万富翁的59百分比表示他们在任何其他电子商务网站之前都会前往亚马逊

Sumber: https://whatmillennialswant.inviqa.com

这对电子商务市场有什么看法? 一切都与方便有关。 亚马逊在其他任何事 他们的Prime运输选项是方便的缩影,因为它可以让您的产品到达您的家门口,甚至可以找到您的包裹。

一旦亚马逊有了你,你永远不会回头。 此外,亚马逊提供了您需要的许多不同的物品,从来没有必要在其他任何地方寻找。

在线消费者在线变得越来越活跃 - 围绕30百分比发布反馈并留下评论

Sumber: https://assets.kpmg/content/dam/kpmg/xx/pdf/2017/01/the-truth-about-online-consumers.pdf

虽然实体店不提供评论,但它们可以决定是否进行在线购买。 请记住,这现在是在线购物体验中不可或缺的一部分。 市场现在是买家交换信息业务和产品的空间。 它可能对消费者有帮助,但如果产品没有发挥应有的作用,就会真正损害销售。

据估计,2040在95周围所有购买的百分比将通过电子商务

Sumber: https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/uk-online-shopping-and-e-commerce-statistics-2017-2017-03-14

如果你是一个不相信的人,直到这一点,这是加入的一个线索。 如果您喜欢去零售商场的购买体验,那就太难了。 然而,这不是未来的方式。 随着我们的零售灾难,我们看到了很多

信用卡在全球用于发送在线支付 - 用于 53% 的交易,其次是数字支付系统 (43%) 和借记卡 (38%)。

Sumber: https://kinsta.com/blog/ecommerce-statistics/

正如 Kinsta 报道的那样,百分比分布表明使用信用卡是最受青睐的方法。 西欧和中国仍然偏爱数字支付方式,如 Strip、PayPal 等相关模式。 另一方面,中东、非洲和东欧仍然更喜欢货到付款。

根据 GeoMarketing 的数据,客户可能会在网上浏览假期商品或商品,但其中 76% 会亲自访问这些实体店,为亲人购买他们喜欢的假期商品。 他们的智能手机主要用于查找商店位置(27%)、查找交易(18%)、比较价格(13%)和在线研究产品(6%)。

据 Statista 称,在大多数美国人首选的支付网关方面,PayPal 占据了客户偏好的前 89%。 虽然 Stripe、Venn、Wise、Skrill 和其他支付网关可供他们广泛使用,但他们表示 PayPal 最适合并且非常方便地满足他们的需求。

2。 被遗弃的购物车统计2024

有时很难完成。 与在线购物相关的意外额外费用大约有60%在结账时放弃购物车

Sumber: https://baymard.com/lists/cart-abandonment-rate

这些额外费用是亚马逊在2019中杀死电子商务游戏的原因之一。 购物者喜欢看到他们在成本方面会得到什么。 如果购物者在点击他们的购物车图标之前获得了不可思议的交易,那么难怪他们没有完成付款。

拥有在线购物和电子商务网站可以使购买者提前预付任何额外费用,这将使双方的结果都更加令人满意。

每个人都喜欢这样的交易 - 如果价格下降,54百分比的购物者会回去并在他们的篮子里购买这些被遗弃的物品

Sumber: https://www.nchannel.com/blog/retail-data-ecommerce-statistics/

如果你把它放在你的购物车中,你可能想要它,但那些意想不到的费用吓跑了你。 也就是说,如果您的篮子价格下降,为什么不回去购买? 这是超过一半的在线购物者的行为。

购物者不承诺 - 如果他们必须创建帐户,23%将不会尝试购买

Sumber: https://www.nchannel.com/blog/retail-data-ecommerce-statistics/

如果你是网上购物者,你可能就在那里。 这在亚马逊这样的网站上并不常见。 然而,如果您正在尝试新网站,您可能会看到一些您喜欢的内容并将其放入购物篮中。 在你知道它之前,你正在前往结账,网站点击“创建一个帐户”。

虽然一些 电子商务网站 已经变得明智并添加了“以访客身份结帐”选项,其他人坚持要您创建帐户。 根据 N Channel 的说法,五分之一的购物者并没有尝试这样做。 他们希望在不放弃任何个人信息的情况下加快结账速度。 寻求更多销售的电子商务网站最好添加一个不需要创建帐户即可购买的选项。

3。 平台性能统计2024

客户服务很重要。 大约80百分比的参与者表示,由于客户服务经验不佳,他们不再向公司提供业务

Sumber: https://blog.hubspot.com/news-trends/customer-acquisition-study

您可能已经考虑过这个特定事件 统计信息图。 你有没有遇到过一个非常艰难的公司? 你有过一次糟糕的客户服务经历,永远毁了一家公司吗? 也许你甚至发誓,在与客户服务代理商的愤怒电话中,你再也不会给他们你的业务了?

多步形式 WordPress 产生更大的转化。 大约 300 多个

Sumber: https://www.ventureharbour.com/multi-step-lead-forms-get-300-conversions/

根据 Venture Harbour 的说法,有 8 个技巧可以 WordPress “疯狂转换”的多步骤形式。 其中包括诸如使用图像选择器按钮创建低摩擦问题以尽量减少输入和使用条件逻辑来个性化问题等技巧。

手机购买经常 受电子邮件影响 从零售商发送。 这样,尽管消费者可以在他们的手机,笔记本电脑或iPad上开始使用,但购买是在另一台设备上完成的,因为该信息可以从所有平台访问。

消费者在多种设备上购物。 大约85的客户将在一台设备上开始任何购买,并在另一台设备上完成购买

Sumber: https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/consumer-insights/how-digital-connects-shoppers-to-local-stores/

无论发生什么,都令人难忘。 如果你对一家公司有牛肉,你就不打算再与他们合作,这就是大多数消费者的态度。 当您与客户没有任何面对面时,提供良好的客户服务与实体建立同样重要,但越来越具有挑战性。

小心慢的网站。 如果您的网站加载时间超过3秒,则57百分比的消费者将点击而不是等待

Sumber: https://www.pure360.com/warm-up-ip-address/

随着电子商务革命的到来,需要满足消费者对快速互联网的需求。 如果 网站很慢 那么销售量也会很大。 等待页面加载相当于在商场排队等候,而 2019 年的购物者对此无能为力。

4。 视频内容电子商务统计2024

有机流量通过视频提高了157%

Sumber: https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics

表现最佳的网站是有视频的网站。 无论是因为视频通常对消费者更有帮助,还是因为它们比阅读材料更有趣,无论哪种方式,视频涉及时流量都会增加。

在进行购买时,80百分比的消费者发现视频很有帮助

Sumber: https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics

您是否遇到过非常有用的视频教程或产品演示? 如果您有,您就知道它可以将您的购物体验提高十倍。 一些购物者如此喜欢去实体店购物的部分原因是,这让他们可以拥有实体产品。

你可以花很少的时间在一件物品上,并且知道它不适合你。 虽然它并没有完全取代经验,但看到其他人处理产品可以帮助您评估您的喜好。 也许看到模仿相似尺寸的人的夹克或视频中背包的所有口袋只是你需要的转折点。

视觉是消费者决策过程的重要组成部分。 10购物者中有九位表示这是他们购买决定中最重要的部分

Sumber: https://www.jlbmedia.com/benefits-product-video-production/

您会购买以前从未见过的东西吗? 答案很可能是“没办法!”无论这些视觉效果是视频还是图片,您都想确保在订购之前知道自己要得到什么。 因此,视频可以实时展示产品,因此可以刺激网站的参与度。 用户可以确切地看到他们将如何使用该产品及其外观。

观看有关产品的视频是购物者的四倍,而不仅仅是阅读产品

Sumber: https://animoto.com/blog/business/video-marketing-cheat-sheet-infographic/

面对现实吧。 阅读产品并不像看一些产品那么容易。 如果您观看教程或演示视频,您就会确切地知道该产品是如何以用户友好的方式使用的。 它花费的时间更少,工作量更少,您可以更快地购买所需物品。

5。 社交媒体电子商务统计2024

如果商店拥有社交媒体,他们的平均销售额将增加32%

Sumber: https://www.bigcommerce.com/blog/5-social-stats-for-online-storeowners/

一般而言,大多数人信任拥有越来越多在​​线存在的企业。 如果你能找到他们的Facebook或Instagram,它会增加你了解他们的产品的可能性。 如果消费者可以通过他们的社交媒体与商店互动,他们更有可能感到舒适并进行购买。 因此,它使商店的在线销售额增加了32%。

Facebook是最受欢迎的电子商务论坛。 在社交媒体网站上,所有电子商务购买的85百分比来自Facebook

Sumber: https://www.shopify.com/infographics/social-commerce

虽然您可能不熟悉它,但Facebook的电子商务市场在未来可能会变得越来越重要。 目前,社交媒体上所有电子商务购买的85百分比大约是马克扎克伯格的平台。

虽然 Facebook 目前拥有垄断地位,但其蓬勃发展的成功可能会开始被其他一些社交媒体巨头效仿,例如 Instagram 或 Twitter. 只有时间会告诉我们电子商务可以扩展到何处并继续取得成功。

如果内容是可视的,那么在社交媒体上共享的可能性是40的两倍

Sumber: https://www.dreamgrow.com/21-social-media-marketing-statistics/

视觉内容对消费者更具吸引力,因此,他们更有可能与内心圈子分享。 社交媒体 - 就像电子商务和在线购物一样 - 正在改变产品的浏览方式。 如果一个消费者对产品满意,现在可以立即将产品推荐给朋友和家人。 在社交媒体上营销产品现在与确保您的网站用户友好一样重要。

6。 关键要点

那么,这些统计数字表明2024电子商务和在线购物行业的关键要点是什么?

  • 了解消费者的运营方式对于增加电子商务和在线购物销售非常重要。
  • 优化移动网站将有助于消费者更好地运营并增加销售额。 未优化的移动网站阻碍了影响平台性能统计的客户。
  • 尽管即使在绝对最佳的网站上也将放弃购物车,但了解购物车是否发生仅仅是因为购买者不置可否或网站本身是对购买者的阻碍,这一点非常重要。 如果是后者,则必须对网站本身进行修改。 这种修改是什么样的?
  • 提前通知买家任何额外费用,以便购物车中没有贴纸冲击。
  • 不要求创建帐户以购买商品。
  • 发送电子邮件 提醒已经放弃购物车的人。 更好的是,如果销售碰巧碰到他们的购物车,那么他们就更有可能购买。
  • 在社交媒体的时代,视频内容可以提高参与度,并帮助消费者了解产品的工作方式,以更有效的方式编写内容甚至照片。
  • 社交媒体及其电子商务市场有助于建立品牌知名度。 使用这种途径可以帮助改善业务,并在这个新兴和蓬勃发展的行业中提高竞争力。

总体而言,电子商务和在线购物行业将很快成为未来的一种方式。 可用的电子商务统计数据表明,有多种方法可以查看在线购买和销售服务的有益方面。

无论您查看买方的行为,平台性能还是 社交媒体统计,最重要的方面是仅了解消费者如何操作才能继续发展电子商务。

近 95 年来,20% 的购买都流向在线市场,因此您最好学习如何充分利用您的购买或销售体验。

马蒂亚斯·阿尔格伦 (Mathias Ahlgren) 是 Website Rating,领导一支由编辑和作家组成的全球团队。他拥有信息科学和管理硕士学位。在大学期间获得早期网络开发经验后,他的职业生涯转向了 SEO。在 SEO、数字营销和网络开发领域拥有超过 15 年的经验。他的重点还包括网站安全,网络安全证书证明了这一点。这种多元化的专业知识巩固了他在 Website Rating.

“WSR 团队”是由专门从事技术、互联网安全、数字营销和网络开发的专家编辑和作家组成的集体团体。他们对数字领域充满热情,创作出经过深入研究、富有洞察力且易于理解的内容。他们对准确性和清晰度的承诺使得 Website Rating 在动态数字世界中获取信息的值得信赖的资源。

Lindsay Liedke

林赛 (Lindsay) 是《 Website Rating,她在塑造网站内容方面发挥着关键作用。她领导着一支由编辑和技术作家组成的专业团队,专注于生产力、在线学习和人工智能写作等领域。她的专业知识确保在这些不断发展的领域提供富有洞察力和权威的内容。

随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯!
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
我的公司
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
???? 您(几乎)已订阅!
前往您的电子邮件收件箱,然后打开我发送给您的电子邮件以确认您的电子邮件地址。
我的公司
您已订阅!
感谢您的订阅。 我们每周一都会发送包含有洞察力数据的时事通讯。
分享给...

22+ Ecommerce Statistics & Online Shopping Facts For 2020

Written by

2022 is here and the retail apocalypse is upon us and it’s all thanks to ecommerce and online shopping. Not familiar with any of those terms? You’ve come to the right place.

This article will walk you through all you need to know about how ecommerce and online shopping will shape in 2020. Because staying up to date with the latest ecommerce statistics and online shopping trends is essential for any online business this year.

  1. Buying Behavior Stats & Facts
  2. Abandoned Cart Stats & Facts
  3. Platform Performance Stats & Facts
  4. Video Content Stats & Facts
  5. Social Ecommerce Stats & Facts

The retail apocalypse refers to the closing of a large number of brick and mortar locations, particularly chain stores.

This apocalypse has been occurring since the early 2010s and there’s no end in sight. The cause? The growth of ecommerce and online shopping that no allows us to have products at our fingertips without so much as opening a catalog or walking out our front doors.

Ecommerce is the act of buying or selling products and services online. It’s been booming since the early 1970s when students at Stanford and MIT used ARPANET to arrange the sale of cannabis.

Today, ecommerce and online shopping brands are household names. Have you ever heard of a website called Amazon? In 2015, the online shopping site accounted for half of all ecommerce growth. This topic is the gateway to the future and knowing the latest ecommerce and internet statistics for 2020 is crucial to being in the know.

1. Buying behavior statistics 2022

Men spend more per transaction than women – roughly 68 percent more

Source: https://home.kpmg/bh/en/home/insights/2017/01/online-purchase-behavior.html

According to KPMG, men spend around 68 percent more money on their transactions than women do. This is due to the fact that they are more likely to purchase luxury products and electronics as well as buy in bulk than their female counterparts. Women are more likely to purchase food and make-up which are lower cost items.

Men maximize their time online and thus end up spending more money because of it. If you’re looking to up your sales to your male audience in your ecommerce marketplace, try offering packages. Men are more likely to take the time to figure out that they can buy a bigger package at once and spend more money at one time—so they don’t have to come back later—than a woman.

Global internet users are increasingly engaged into online shopping – 93.5% have experienced purchasing products online and still counting

Source: https://optinmonster.com/email-marketing-vs-social-media-performance-2016-2019-statistics

According to OptinMonster, both e-mail and social media marketing can affect the buying behaviors on global internet users. While social media marketing offers pathways to interact socially before deciding on what to buy, e-mail marketing is also very essential for promoting brands and using the power of the audio-visual content to gain more traffic, sales, conversions, and even higher ROI.

Consumers are creatures of habit – 30 percent would rather return to a website they’ve purchased from previously

Source: https://assets.kpmg/content/dam/kpmg/xx/pdf/2017/01/the-truth-about-online-consumers.pdf

If you have a positive experience with a brand, the research says you’re unlikely to stray from that brand after that. This is one of the reasons why emails directed at customers after they’ve already purchased from a website once is so effective. Just like going back to your same favorite store in a shopping mall, online shopping is very similar. You know the brands you trust and you’re good to go after that.

Remember Amazon? Around 59 percent of Millennials say they’re headed to Amazon before any other ecommerce website

Source: https://whatmillennialswant.inviqa.com

What does this say about the ecommerce market? It’s all about convenience. Amazon markets convenience before anything else. Their Prime shipping option is the epitome of convenience because it gets your product to your doorstep before a tracking number is even available for you to locate your package.

Once Amazon has got you, you’re never going back. Plus, Amazon offers so many different items you need there’s really never a need to look anywhere else.

Online consumers are becoming more active online – around 30 percent are posting feedback and leaving reviews

Source: https://assets.kpmg/content/dam/kpmg/xx/pdf/2017/01/the-truth-about-online-consumers.pdf

While reviews aren’t available in brick and mortar stores, they can make or break the decision to make an online purchase. Keep in mind that this is now an integral part of the online shopping experience. The marketplace is now a space for buyers to exchange information businesses and products. It can be helpful to consumers but can really hurt sales if the product doesn’t do what it's supposed to.

It’s estimated that by 2040 around 95 percent of all purchases will be via ecommerce

Source: https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/uk-online-shopping-and-e-commerce-statistics-2017-2017-03-14

If you were a disbeliever up until this point, this is one cue to get on board. It can be tough if you love the buying experience of going to a retail mall. Yet, that’s just not the way of the future. With the retail apocalypse upon us, we’re looking at a ton of

Credit cards are the used globally for sending online payments – being used in 53% of transactions, followed by digital payment systems (43%), and debit cards (38%).

Source: https://kinsta.com/blog/ecommerce-statistics/

As Kinsta reports, the percentage distribution shows that using a credit card is the most preferred method. Western Europe and China still prefer digital payment methods such as Strip, PayPal and other related modes. On the other hand, the Middle East, Africa, and Eastern Europe, still prefer cash-on-delivery.

Offline holiday shopping account accounts for 76% of the global customers

Source: https://geomarketing.com/76-percent-of-consumers-prefer-in-store-to-online-for-their-holiday-shopping-needs

According to GeoMarketing, customers may browse for holiday gits or items online but 76% of them will personally visit these physical stores to buy their preferred items for the holidays for their loved ones. Their smartphones are mostly used for finding store locations(27 percent), find deals (18 percent), compare prices (13 percent), and research products online (6 percent).

According to Statista, PayPal gets to the top 89% of customer's preferences when it comes to the payment gateways preferred by most Americans. While Stripe, Venn, Wise, Skrill and other payment gateways are widely available to them, they said that PayPal is the most suitable and very convenient to their needs.

2. Abandoned Cart Statistics 2022

Sometimes it’s tough to follow through. The unexpected additional costs associated with online shopping have roughly 60 percent abandoning their carts at checkout

Source: https://baymard.com/lists/cart-abandonment-rate

These extra fees are one of the reasons that Amazon is killing the ecommerce game in 2019. Shoppers like to see exactly what they are going to get in terms of cost. If a shopper was getting an incredible deal until they clicked on their cart icon, it’s no wonder they aren’t following through with payment.

Having online shopping and ecommerce websites clue buyers into any additional fees upfront will lead to a much happier outcome on both ends.

Everyone loves a deal – 54 percent of shoppers go back and purchase those abandoned items in their baskets if the price drops

Source: https://www.nchannel.com/blog/retail-data-ecommerce-statistics/

If you put it in your cart, you probably wanted it, but those unexpected fees scared you away. That said, if your basket price drops, why wouldn’t you go back and purchase it? That’s the behavior of over half of online shoppers out there.

Shoppers are non-committal – 23 percent won’t attempt to purchase if they have to create an account

Source: https://www.nchannel.com/blog/retail-data-ecommerce-statistics/

If you’re an online shopper, you’ve probably been there. This won’t be a commonplace occurrence at a website like Amazon. Yet, if you’re trying out a new site, you might see a few things you like and put it in your basket. Before you know it, you’re heading to the checkout and the website hits you with, “Create an Account.”

While some ecommerce websites have gotten wise and added a “check out as guest” option, others insist you make an account. According to N Channel, 1 in 5 shoppers aren’t trying to do that. They’re looking to speed through check out without having to give up any personal information. ecommerce websites looking for more sales will do well to add an option that doesn’t require the creation of an account to purchase.

3. Platform Performance Statistics 2022

Customer service matters. Roughly 80 percent of participants said that they stop giving their business to companies because of a poor customer service experience

Source: https://blog.hubspot.com/news-trends/customer-acquisition-study

You might already have a specific incident in mind with this statistical infographic. Have you ever encountered a really tough company to work with? Have you ever had just an abysmal customer service experience that ruined a company for you forever? Perhaps you even swore you’d never give them your business again in an angry phone call with a customer service agent?

Multi-step forms in WordPress yields greater conversions. Around 300 more

Source: https://www.ventureharbour.com/multi-step-lead-forms-get-300-conversions/

According to Venture Harbour, there are 8 tricks to WordPress multi-step forms that “convert like crazy.” These include such tips as creating low friction questions with image selector buttons to minimize typing and using conditional logic to personalize questions among others.

Mobile purchases are often influenced by emails sent from the retailer. As such, while a consumer may start on their phone or laptop or iPad, the purchase is completed on another device because the information is so accessible from all platforms.

Consumers are purchasing on multiple devices. Around 85 percent of customers will start any given purchase on one device and complete it on another

Source: https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/consumer-insights/how-digital-connects-shoppers-to-local-stores/

Whatever happened, it was memorable. If you have beef with a company, you’re not looking to work with them again and that’s how most consumers are. Having good customer service when you don’t have any facetime with your customers is equally as important as a brick and mortar establishment but increasingly more challenging.

Beware slow sites. If your website takes more than 3 seconds to load, 57 percent of consumers will click off rather than wait

Source: https://www.pure360.com/warm-up-ip-address/

With the ecommerce revolution comes with the need to satisfy the consumers’ need for fast internet. If sites are slow then sales will be too. Waiting for pages to load is equivalent to waiting in lines at the mall, and 2019 shoppers want nothing to do it with it.

4. Video Content Ecommerce Statistics 2022

Organic traffic improves by up to 157 percent with videos

Source: https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics

The websites that perform best are the ones with videos. Whether it’s because videos are generally more helpful to consumers or because they’re more interesting than reading material, either way, traffic goes up when videos are involved.

When making a purchase, 80 percent of consumers found videos helpful

Source: https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics

Have you ever come across a really helpful video tutorial or a product demo? If you have, you know that it can improve your shopping experience ten-fold. Part of the reason that some shoppers love going to a brick-and-mortar location so much is that it allows them to have the physical product in their hands.

You can spend so little time with an item and know it isn’t for you. While it doesn’t completely replace the experience, seeing someone else handle a product can help you evaluate how you’d like it. Perhaps seeing the jacket modeled on someone who is a similar size or all the pockets in the backpack in a video is just the tipping point you need.

Visuals are a significant part of a consumer’s decision-making process. Nine in 10 shoppers say it is the most important part of their buying decision

Source: https://www.jlbmedia.com/benefits-product-video-production/

Would you buy something that you’d never even seen before? The answer is likely, “no way!” Whether these visuals are videos or pictures, you want to make sure you know what you’re getting before you order it. Thus, videos spur engagement on websites because they showcase products in real-time. Users can see exactly how they’d use the product and what it looks like.

Viewing a video about a product is preferred by four times as many shoppers than just reading about the product

Source: https://animoto.com/blog/business/video-marketing-cheat-sheet-infographic/

Let’s face it. Reading about a product just isn’t as easy as watching something about it. If you get to watch a tutorial or demo video, you know exactly how the product is intended to be used in a user-friendly fashion. It takes less time and less effort, and you’ll be that much closer to purchasing your desired item in no time.

5. Social Media Ecommerce Statistics 2022

If a store has a social media presence, they increase their average sales by 32 percent

Source: https://www.bigcommerce.com/blog/5-social-stats-for-online-storeowners/

In general, most individuals trust businesses that have more and more of an online presence. If you can find their Facebook or Instagram, it increases the possibility that you can get to know their products. If consumers can interact with a store via their social media, they’re more likely to feel comfortable with and make a purchase. Thus, it increases a store’s online sales by 32 percent.

Facebook is the most popular ecommerce forum. Around 85 percent of all ecommerce purchases on a social media site comes from Facebook

Source: https://www.shopify.com/infographics/social-commerce

While you may not be familiar with it, Facebook’s ecommerce marketplace may become more and more relevant in the future. Currently, around 85 percent of all ecommerce purchases on social media is on Mark Zuckerberg’s platform.

While Facebook currently has the monopoly, it’s booming success might begin to be emulated by some other social media giants like Instagram or Twitter. Only time will tell where ecommerce can expand to and continue to be successful.

If the content is visual, it’s 40 times as likely to get shared on social media

Source: https://www.dreamgrow.com/21-social-media-marketing-statistics/

Visual content is more appealing to consumers, and thus, they’re much more likely to share it with their inner circles. Social media—just like ecommerce and online shopping—is changing the way that products are viewed. Products can now be referred instantly to friends and family if one consumer is satisfied with it. Making a product marketable on social media is now just as important as ensuring your website is user-friendly.

6. Key Takeaways

So, what are the key takeaways of the 2022 ecommerce and online shopping industry that these statistics indicate?

  • Understanding how consumers operate is important to increasing ecommerce and online shopping sales.
  • Optimizing mobile websites will help consumers to operate better and increase sales. Mobiles websites that aren’t optimized are hindering customers impacting platform performance statistics.
  • While shopping cart abandonment will happen even with the absolute best sites, understanding if it’s happening just because buyers are non-committal or because the site itself is a hindrance to the buyer, is incredibly important. If it’s the latter, it’s important to make modifications to the site itself. What might this modification look like?
  • Notify buyers of any additional fees ahead of time so that there’s no sticker shock in the cart.
  • Don’t mandate the creation of an account in order to purchase items.
  • Send out an email reminder to individuals who have abandoned carts. Even better, if a sale happens to hit their cart items, it makes them that much more likely to buy.
  • In the day and age of social media, video content can improve engagement and help consumers understand the way that products work in a more effective way that written content or even photographs.
  • Social media and their ecommerce marketplaces can help to build brand awareness. Using this avenue can help to improve business and become competitive in this new and booming industry.

Overall, the ecommerce and online shopping industry will soon become a way of the future. The available ecommerce statistics demonstrate that there are a variety of ways to view the beneficial aspects of buying and selling services online.

Whether you look at buyer behavior, platform performance, or social media statistics, the most important aspect is just understanding how consumers operate in order to continue to grow ecommerce.

With 95 percent of purchases heading toward the online marketplace in nearly 20 years, you’re better off learning how to make the most of your buying or selling experience.

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.