Average order value (AOV) is a KPI used in ecommerce that measures the average dollar amount spent whenever a customer places an order on a website
AOV stands for average order value, which is the total amount of money spent by your customers on average. This means that if one customer spends $5 and another spends $10, then the AOV is $8.
Getting to know your AOV can help you better understand your online or retail business and how it's doing. You can then use this information to improve or grow it.
A customer's average order value (AOV) is the total amount of money spent by your customers on average.
The AOV tells you how much you're making per customer. It can help you assess your business and identify areas where it can be improved or grown. For example, if your business generates an average order value of $4, then you're not making enough money for every customer who places an order.
By running promotions or focusing on building brand loyalty, this number could go up to make your business more successful in the long run.
If you know what your company's AOV is, then there are a few ways to improve it:
- Offer discounts to encourage purchases
- Offer free shipping
- Increase product variety
- Send coupons in emails
What Is A Good AOV?
When it comes to AOV, there is no set number that can define what is ‘good'. This depends on your business and the type of products or services you offer. For example, if your business is in the food industry, your AOV could be higher than $5 because people order more than one dish when they go out to eat.
A high AOV means that customers are committing more money per purchase. From an investment perspective, this could mean that your company is doing well and attracting customers who are willing to spend more on items or services.
A low AOV can be a sign of an issue with either the product or service you're offering. Customers might not like the quality of the item you're providing for sale, which would then cause them not to buy it again in the future.
There might also be a mismatch in what you're selling with what your customer wants; for example, if you offer clothes but cater mostly to young girls when most of your customers are adults looking for clothes for work.
Why an understanding of AOV is important?
The main reason why AOV is important in marketing and web analytics is that it can help you better understand your business.
For example, if you sell a product that costs $5 and has an AOV of $8, then you know that for every dollar you make from the sale of one product, 8 cents will come from additional purchases. This means that future products will have to make up for what you lose from the first sale.
If your AOV is low, this means your profit margins are low or that there's a problem with your business model. You need to identify the issue and address it in order to improve these numbers.
Understanding AAV can also help you set prices for your products and services. If you know how much people spend on average, then setting prices becomes easier since they'll be more affordable.
Knowing your AAV can also help you figure out which products or services are most profitable so that you can focus on them instead of trying to sell everything.
How To Increase Your AOV
In order to increase your AOV, there are a few things you can do.
Focus on the customer experience: If your customers have a good experience with your company, chances are they will spend more money.
Offer discounts: You can offer discounts to new customers or loyalty rewards to long-time customers. This encourages people who have already had a positive experience with your business to spend more money with you.
Add new products: Adding new products helps you become an authority of an entire industry rather than just one aspect of it. This attracts potential customers and gives them more of what they want from you.
There’s a lot of discussion in the marketing world about the importance of Average Order Value (AOV). But what is AOV anyway? And how do you know if your AOV is high enough?
AOV is a marketing metric that answers the question: “How much will you spend, on average, to acquire a new customer?” (The answer is usually calculated by dividing the total sales revenue for a company by the number of customers.)
But there’s more to that. You also need to know the profit margin on the product or service you sell.
For example, if you sell a widget and it costs you $5 to make and sells for $10, your AOV is $10. But if the profit margin is only $2, your AOV is $8.
So what’s a good AOV? The answer is: It depends.