25+ 社交媒体统计数据和趋势 [2024 年更新]

社交媒体 改变了生活,改变了我们与朋友、家人、社区和企业的互动方式。 它还引入了更快、更有效的消费新闻和其他类型信息的方式。 这是您应该了解的最新信息 2024年社交媒体统计⇣.

以下是有关社交媒体的一些最有趣事实的摘要:

  • 大约有 4.74十亿 全球活跃的社交媒体用户。
  • 将近 59.3% 的全球人口至少使用一个社交媒体平台。
  • 社交媒体获得了 190千万 去年的新用户。
  • 人均消费 2小时和27分钟 每天在社交媒体上。
  • Facebook 是使用最广泛的社交渠道, 2.96十亿 活动用户。
  • 52千万 人们使用 LinkedIn 进行求职。
  • 47% 的全球互联网用户表示,与家人和朋友保持联系是人们使用社交媒体的首要原因。
  • 网红营销市场规模预计将增长至 的美元17.4亿元
  • 46% 的社交媒体用户是女性,而 54% 是男性。
  • 来自元的线程 是 2023 年增长最快的社交媒体应用程序(短短100天用户突破5亿).

社交媒体正在改变生活,改变我们与家人、朋友、社区和企业的互动方式

影响显而易见的事实是超过 世界上 59% 的人口正在使用社交媒体。 If Facebook, Twitter、YouTube 和 Whatsapp 是国家,他们每个人的人口都比中国多,中国是目前世界上人口最多的国家(1.4 亿人)。

不仅仅是年轻人。 老一辈人也在流行,而且 50 岁以上的人是 Twitter 上增长最快的用户。 

从提供客户服务和与医生进行虚拟预约到开设银行账户和应对自然灾害,社交媒体正在改变我们的生活。

下面是一个 不断变化的景观概览 以及我们的社区如何感受社交媒体的影响。

2024 年社交媒体统计数据和趋势

这里收集了有关媒体和社交媒体统计数据的最新事实,让您了解当前的状态 2024年发生了什么 超越。

全球约有 4.74 亿活跃社交媒体用户。

资料来源:数据报道 ^

最近的数据表明,近 59.3% 的全球人口至少使用一种社交媒体平台。

社交媒体获得了 190万新用户 在过去的一年里,相当于 年增长率 4.2%

专家将社交媒体的流行归因于手机的广泛使用,因为几乎 4.08亿用户使用手机 访问他们最喜欢的社交媒体平台。

一般互联网用户每天在社交媒体上花费 147 分钟。与去年相比增加了两分钟。

资料来源:Statista ^

每年,我们都会花更多的时间在社交媒体上。 2015 年,用户平均在社交平台上花费 1 小时 51 分钟。 持续时间有 50.33 年增加 2% 至 27 小时 2023 分钟。

不同国家的用户花费的时间差异很大,这种趋势在发展中国家更为明显。 例如, 尼日利亚的普通用户在社交媒体渠道上花费的时间为 XNUMX 小时 XNUMX 分钟。 

这是所有国家/地区中每天最长的平均时间。 相比之下, 日本用户平均每天在社交媒体上花费的时间仅为 51 分钟。

Facebook 是使用最广泛的社交渠道,拥有 2.96 亿活跃用户。 资料来源:Statista ^

Facebook、YouTube 和 WhatsApp 是全球使用最广泛的三大社交媒体平台。 YouTube 拥有 2.5 亿用户 WhatsApp 拥有近 2 亿用户。 微信是最受欢迎的非美国品牌 1.29亿活跃用户。

TikTok、抖音、快手和新浪微博是其他非美国品牌 构成前 10 名的列表。 并非每家公司都会透露其数字。 因此,专家依靠活跃的用户群和可寻址的广告受众来获得可衡量的统计数据。

去中心化社交网络将在 2023 年火爆,由消费者而非大企业掌控。

来源:《 Talkwalker 2023年社交媒体趋势报告》 ^

2023 年的预测趋势见 远离庞大的社交媒体网络 和更小, 独立运行的网络越来越受欢迎。 

据预测,尽管开局不利, Metaverse 越来越受欢迎 并将成为下一件大事。 专家们确定了一个 800亿美元的潜在市场 等待在 Metaverse 中被发现。

此外,预计客户体验将变得更加社交化。 75% 的消费者表示 COVID-19 大流行推动了长期的行为改变,其中一个因素是紧迫性。

到 2023 年,品牌有望创建专用的渠道内社交媒体支持网络,无论消费者如何联系,都能提供超快的响应。

47% 的全球互联网用户表示,与家人和朋友保持联系是人们使用社交媒体的首要原因。

资料来源:数据报告 ^

据Data Reportal报道,针对16至64岁的全球互联网用户进行的调查显示,人们使用社交媒体的主要原因是与家人和朋友保持联系。 这占 47% 的全球互联网用户。

其他主要原因包括填补业余时间 (35.4%) 阅读新闻报道 (34.6%) 查找内容 (30%) 看到正在谈论的内容 (28.7%) 并寻找灵感 (27%)。

52 万人使用 LinkedIn 进行求职,因为这是美国最受信任的社交网络。

资料来源:社会牧羊人 ^

根据 The Social Shepherd 和 LinkedIn 新闻, 每周有 52 万人使用 LinkedIn 进行求职, 每秒向平台提交 101 份求职申请 每分钟有八个人被雇用。

领英新闻进一步报道称 每天提交超过 XNUMX 万份工作申请。 数据表明,使用#OpenToWork 相框可将接收招聘消息的可能性提高 2 倍以上。

Instagram 为广告商提供最高的参与率 (81%); 这是最高的整体参与率,尤其是与 Facebook 的 8% 相比。

资料来源:Sprout Social ^

品牌越来越多地使用社交媒体渠道来吸引他们的受众并与客户交流。 研究表明 Instagram 可以为广告商提供更多吸引客户的机会。

Instagram 平台不是点赞帖子和分享内容,而是快速传递引人注目的信息,从而实现有效的沟通。 此外, 44% 的 Instagram 用户每周都会购买产品,其中 28% 的购物活动是预先计划好的。

93% 的美国营销人员计划使用 Instagram 进行网红营销, 68% 会使用 TikTok 和 Facebook,只有 26% 会使用 Snapchat。

到 17.4 年,网红营销市场规模预计将增长到 2023 亿美元。这比 14.47 年增长了 2022%。

资料来源:Collabstr ^

随着有影响力的营销市场有望增长 14.47 年为 2023%, 我们可以期待看到大影响者和小影响者(关注者少于 50,000 的人)的大量活动。

预计 TikTok 将主导影响者领域, 超过 45% 的付费合作发生在该平台上。 Instagram 以 39% 位居第二。 YouTube 仅以 2% 的份额垫底。 平均而言,品牌将花费 257 美元与有影响力的人合作。

接受影响者品牌交易的前五个国家是 美国。 加拿大、英国、澳大利亚和德国。 洛杉矶 是网红人数最多的城市。

截至 433 月,Pinterest 在全球共有 4.7 亿月活跃用户。 这比去年的 454 亿下降了 XNUMX%。

资料来源:数据报告 ^

根据 Datareportal 的数据,尽管每月活跃用户从 454 年 2021 月的 433 亿下降到 2022 年 XNUMX 月的 XNUMX 亿, 全球仍有 5.4% 的人使用 Pinterest。

目前, 该平台在全球最活跃的社交媒体平台中排名第 15 位。 2021 年,该平台在最活跃平台排名第 14 位。 自助广告工具表明 营销人员可以达到 251.8 亿用户, 或 5% 的互联网用户,到 2022 年。

美国拥有最多的 Pinterest 用户 (88.6万美元), 其次是巴西 (32.1万美元), 墨西哥 (20.6万美元), 德国 (15.1万美元), 法国 (10.4百万)

预计到 6 年,社交媒体用户将增长到 2027 亿。

资料来源:Statista ^

据 Statista 称,该数字基于 2020 年全球超过 3.6 亿社交媒体用户的结果。 预计将增长到几乎 6 年将有 2027 亿活跃社交媒体用户。

这种预期是基于 廉价的移动设备可用性和基础设施开发。 移动设备使用的增加对社交媒体的全球增长产生了积极影响。

全世界有 XNUMX 万人认为自己是“创造者”。

资料来源:SignalFire ^

发生了转变。 全球有超过 50 万人认为自己是内容创作者, 和消费者是 远离巨大的超级影响者 支持更小和更真实的社区。

较大的品牌已经发现了这一趋势,并正在与此类创作者进行战略合作,并且 该市场目前约为 100 亿美元。 整个影响者市场的历史还不到十年,因此在如此短的时间内这是一个令人印象深刻的数字。

响应时间短是在社交媒体上取消关注品牌的主要原因。

资料来源:Social Bakers和Eptica数字客户体验研究 ^

社交媒体上近 56% 的消费者表示,如果他们得不到良好的客户服务,他们将取消关注某个品牌。 例如,Facebook上的平均响应时间将近两个小时,这是不可接受的。

在社交媒体上延长响应时间是不切实际的,因为大多数用户希望品牌在 30 分钟内做出响应。 相比之下,推特的响应时间仅为33分钟,更接近消费者的预期。

大约57%的客户更喜欢使用社交媒体平台来联系客户服务。

资料来源:Ameyo ^

通过社交媒体回答客户查询的重要性变得越来越重要。 只有23%的客户喜欢面对面的互动 在寻求复杂的客户服务问题时。

因此,先进技术可以帮助处理67%的社交媒体查询,而无需使用其他客户服务渠道。 一个适合移动设备的网站可以提供帮助,因为将近三分之一的消费者使用他们的手机来解决问题。

年轻人更有可能使用社交网络进行品牌研究。

资料来源:Hootsuite ^

年轻人正在使用社交媒体购物。 50% 的 24 岁或以下人群使用社交媒体进行品牌研究, 比较价格,然后决定把钱花在哪里。 相比之下,46% 的 使用搜索引擎. 25 岁及以上的人仍然更喜欢使用搜索引擎而不是社交媒体, 但差距正在迅速缩小。 

然而,总体而言,搜索引擎占消费者进行的所有品牌研究的 32%。 电视广告占31%,口碑/推荐占28%。 社交媒体广告也占 28%。

46% 的社交媒体用户是女性,54% 是男性。

资料来源:Statista ^

总体而言, 男性比女性更多地使用社交媒体 并在除 Snapchat 之外的每个平台上占据多数,其中 女性用户占53.8%。 女性可能使用 LinkedIn 的次数最少且仅占 42.8%的用户. Instagram 的用户几乎是分裂的 50 / 50。

在美国,男性可能较少使用社交媒体,弥补了 45.3% 的用户, 54.7%的女性。

消费者表示,通过社交媒体购买的最大障碍是信任。

资料来源:埃森哲 ^

社交商务的缓慢采用主要归因于 缺乏信任。 根据埃森哲进行的一项调查,最担心的三个问题是购买的商品如果有问题将无法退款或受到保护 (48%) 退货和退款政策不佳 (37%) 等待订单到达的时间很长 (32%)。 消费者还担心产品的真实性和质量。

埃森哲表示,为了改善这一领域,品牌必须有简单的退货和退款流程 (41%) 连同清晰的描述和图像 (29%)。 忠诚奖励 (25%) 和客户评论 (21%) 排名也很高。 

根据皮尤研究中心 (Pew Research) 进行的一项新调查,YouTube 在青少年在线景观平台中名列前茅,有 95% 的青少年使用。

资料来源:皮尤研究中心 ^

关于社交媒体的另一个有趣的事实是 YouTube 是 95% 的 13 至 17 岁人群的首选社交媒体平台。 TikTok 位居第二 67%,Instagram 排名第三 62%。 Facebook 仅供以下人员使用 32% 与 71 年 2015% 的高位相比。

说到使用, 55% 的美国青少年声称他们在社交媒体上花费的时间适当, 36% 说他们在平台上花费的时间太长了。 仅有的 8% 的青少年表示他们没有充分使用它们。

Facebook 已成为营销人员认为最有效实现其业务目标的最喜欢的平台。

资料来源:Hootsuite ^

根据 2021 年的数据,Facebook 在营销效果方面仍然是赢家。 62% 的营销人员认为该平台最适合实现业务目标。 Instagram 关注这个 49%和LinkedIn在 40%。 

然而,一切并不乐观。 Facebook 的数据已从 78 年的 2020% 下降。 Instagram 已经从 70%, 和 LinkedIn 从 42%。 另一方面,TikTok 从 3 年 2020% 到 24 年高达 2021%。

社交媒体在吸引新客户方面的成本仍远低于传统渠道。

资料来源:Peppercontent ^

社交媒体广告仍然是吸引新受众的最具成本效益的方式。 以传统方法来看,要达到 2,000 人,需要花费 $150 对于无线电广播, $500 对于杂志文章,和 $900 用于直邮活动。

然而,社交媒体营销只需花费 75 美元即可覆盖相同数量的人。 电子邮件和短信 50% 低于最便宜的传统方法。

社交媒体广告的平均每次点击费用可以从 $ 0.38到$ 5.26。 LinkedIn 的平均每次点击成本在 $ 5.26, 而 Twitter 是成本最低的 38美分. 脸书就在身边 97美分, 而 Instagram 是 $ 3.56。

TikTok 预计到 2026 年将超过 Facebook 的用户群。

资料来源:数据报道^

TikTok 只存在了七年,并没有显示出任何放缓的迹象。 相反。 如果平台继续以目前的速度增长, 到 2026 年,它将超过 Facebook 的用户群。

查看更多 2024 年 TikTok 统计数据 点击此处。

为什么企业应该使用社交媒体?

社交媒体现在 了解新闻和时事的最快方式。 50% 的互联网用户表示,他们会先在社交媒体上收到最新消息,然后再进入电视和广播等传统媒体渠道。

品牌商和广告商都知道这一点,因此您可以期待产品发布的消息在您在电视上看到它之前就以社交媒体的方式出现。 此外,研究表明 消费者现在通过社交媒体接触品牌 而不是打电话或发电子邮件。

说到底, 消费者在看其他地方之前先看社交媒体。 因此,至关重要的是,您的品牌或企业至少要出现在一个最受欢迎的社交媒体网站上。

2024 年您应该使用哪个社交媒体平台?

如果您是一家希望在一个或多个社交媒体渠道上做广告或占有一席之地的企业,则必须首先找到您的目标市场。

例如, Facebook 现在最受 35 岁或以上人群欢迎,而 TikTok 主导着青年市场。 消费者前往 Instagram 对于奢侈品,同时 Facebook 以广告便宜货而闻名。

研究每个平台的数据, 找到你的观众, 并在相关平台上建立您的形象。

2024 年您应该多久在社交媒体上发帖一次?

如果你是企业主, 每周至少发布一次是有益的, 但更多的时候可能会更好,尤其是在 TikTok 上,数量重于质量。 大多数老牌企业每天都会在他们的 社交媒体资料. 根据行业,您还可以 每周发布三到四次。

开始时,您必须努力做到 找到合适的平衡点。 发帖太少意味着您会从人们的新闻源中退出,而发帖太多可能会显得垃圾内容并导致失去追随者。

如果您不熟悉社交媒体,最好 开始每周发帖,直到你建立了一个不错的追随者; 然后,您可以提高频率,直到找到适合您和您的追随者的水平。

2024 年在社交媒体上发帖的最佳时间是什么时候?

专家建议 星期二和星期五 是吸引观众的最佳日子。 与客户互动的最佳时间是 办公时间上午 8 点和下午 2 点。

虽然这看起来很奇怪,但周末和下班后的时间往往效果不佳,因为大多数人都利用这段时间与人面对面交流、与家人共度时光以及从事其他休闲活动。

关于社交媒体的三个有趣事实是什么?

以下是社交媒体上的一些有趣事实:
1. 第一个社交媒体平台是 SixDegrees.com,于 1997 年推出。它允许用户与朋友和家人以及他们不认识的人联系。
2. 全球最受欢迎的社交媒体平台是 Facebook,每月活跃用户超过 2.8 亿。
3.平均每个人每天在社交媒体上花费2小时22分钟。

关于社交媒体的三个令人震惊的事实是什么?

1. 近 3.5 亿活跃社交媒体用户,每 6.4 秒就有一个新帐户创建。 这意味着全球超过一半的人口正在使用社交媒体,并且用户数量正在快速增长。
2. 一般人每天在社交媒体上花费 2 小时 27 分钟。 这与几年前相比是一个显着的增长,也是许多人关注的一个主要原因。
3. 社交媒体的使用与许多负面的心理健康结果有关,例如焦虑、抑郁和自卑。 对于年轻人来说尤其如此,他们更有可能成为社交媒体的重度用户。

包起来

根据最新的社交媒体事实和统计数据,社交媒体平台的使用持续快速增长。 目前有超过 全球有 4.74 亿人使用社交媒体,大多数用户每天都访问他们的帐户。

最受欢迎的社交媒体平台是 Facebook,每月活跃用户超过 2.7 亿,其次是 YouTube 每月有 2 亿活跃用户和 Instagram 每月有 1 亿活跃用户。

在参与度方面,Instagram 与用户的互动率最高,50% Instagram 用户报告说他们每天多次查看该平台。

此外,社交媒体已成为企业重要的营销工具,超过 80% 的公司使用社交媒体来接触客户并与之互动。

如果您对更多统计数据感兴趣,请查看我们的 互联网统计页面在这里.

来源:

马蒂亚斯·阿尔格伦 (Mathias Ahlgren) 是 Website Rating,领导一支由编辑和作家组成的全球团队。他拥有信息科学和管理硕士学位。在大学期间获得早期网络开发经验后,他的职业生涯转向了 SEO。在 SEO、数字营销和网络开发领域拥有超过 15 年的经验。他的重点还包括网站安全,网络安全证书证明了这一点。这种多元化的专业知识巩固了他在 Website Rating.

“WSR 团队”是由专门从事技术、互联网安全、数字营销和网络开发的专家编辑和作家组成的集体团体。他们对数字领域充满热情,创作出经过深入研究、富有洞察力且易于理解的内容。他们对准确性和清晰度的承诺使得 Website Rating 在动态数字世界中获取信息的值得信赖的资源。

Lindsay Liedke

林赛 (Lindsay) 是《 Website Rating,她在塑造网站内容方面发挥着关键作用。她领导着一支由编辑和技术作家组成的专业团队,专注于生产力、在线学习和人工智能写作等领域。她的专业知识确保在这些不断发展的领域提供富有洞察力和权威的内容。

随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯!
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
我的公司
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
???? 您(几乎)已订阅!
前往您的电子邮件收件箱,然后打开我发送给您的电子邮件以确认您的电子邮件地址。
我的公司
您已订阅!
感谢您的订阅。 我们每周一都会发送包含有洞察力数据的时事通讯。
分享给...

25+ Social Media Statistics, Facts & Trends For 2023

Written by

Social media has changed lives and transformed how we interact with our friends, family, community, and businesses. It’s also introduced faster, more efficient ways of consuming news and other types of information. Here’s what you should know about the latest social media statistics for 2023 ⇣.

Here’s a summary of some of the most interesting social media statistics and trends:

  • There are approximately 4.74 billion active social media users globally.
  • Nearly 59.3% of the global population uses at least one social media platform.
  • Social media has gained 190 million new users in the last year.
  • The average person spends 2 hours and 27 minutes on social media daily.
  • Facebook is the most widely used social channel used, with 2.96 billion active users.
  • 52 million people use LinkedIn for job searches.
  • 47% of global internet users say that staying in touch with family and friends is the top reason why people use social media.
  • The influencer marketing market size is expected to grow to $17.4 billion in 2023.
  • 46% of social media users are female, while 54% are male.

Social media is changing lives and transforming how we interact with our family, friends, community, and businesses

The impact is evident by the fact that more than 59% of the world’s population is using social media. If Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Whatsapp were countries, they’d each have more people than China, the world’s current most populous country (1.4 billion people).

It’s not just the young folk. Older generations are catching on, too, and those aged 50+ are the fastest-growing users on Twitter. 

From performing customer service and making virtual appointments with doctors to opening a bank account and responding to natural disasters, social media is transforming our lives.

Here is an overview of the changing landscape and how our communities feel social media’s impact.

2023 Social Media Statistics & Trends

Here is a collection of the most up-to-date social media statistics to give you the current state of what’s happening in 2023 and beyond.

As of October 2022, there are approximately 4.74 billion active social media users worldwide.

Source: Data Reportal ^

Recent data suggest that nearly 59.3% of the global population uses at least one social media platform.

Social media has gained 190 million new users in the last year, equating to an annual growth rate of 4.2%

Experts attribute the surge in the popularity of social media to the widespread use of mobile phones because nearly 4.08 billion users use mobile phones to access their favorite social media platforms.

As of August 2022, the typical user spends 147 minutes daily on social media. That’s an increase of two minutes compared with the previous year.

Source: Statista ^

Every year, we spend more time on social media. In 2015, the average user spent 1 hour and 51 minutes on social platforms. The duration has increased by 50.33% to 2 hours and 27 minutes in 2022.

The time spent by users in different countries varies significantly, with the trend being more visible in developing countries. For instance, an average user in Nigeria spends four hours and seven minutes on social media channels. 

This is the longest average time per day out of all the countries. In contrast, the average Japanese user spends only 51 minutes on social media daily.

Facebook is the most widely used social channel used, with 2.96 billion active users. Source: Statista ^

Facebook, YouTube, and WhatsApp are the world’s top three most widely used social media platforms. YouTube has 2.5 billion users, and WhatsApp has almost 2 billion users. WeChat is the most popular non-US-based brand that has 1.29 billion active users.

TikTok, Douyln, Kuaishou and Sina Weibo are other non-US-based brands that make up the top 10 list. Not every company reveals its numbers. Therefore, experts rely on the active user base and addressable advertising audiences to get measurable statistics.

Decentralized social networks will be hot in 2023, with consumers taking control instead of big businesses.

Source: Talkwalker 2023 Social Media Trends Report ^

Predicted trends for 2023 see a drift away from huge social media networks and smaller, independently run networks gaining in popularity. 

It is also predicted that despite its rocky start, the Metaverse is gaining traction and is set to become the next big thing. Experts have identified a potential market of $800 billion waiting to be uncovered within the Metaverse.

Additionally, the customer experience is expected to become even more social. 75% of consumers say that the COVID-19 pandemic has driven long-term behavioral change, of which one factor is urgency.

In 2023, brands are expected to create dedicated in-channel social media support networks providing ultra-fast responses no matter how consumers get in touch.

47% of global internet users say that staying in touch with family and friends is the top reason why people use social media.

Source: DataReportal ^

According to Data Reportal, the survey conducted for global internet users aged 16 to 64 shows that the main reason why people use social media is to stay in touch with family and friends. This accounts for 47% of global internet users.

Other top reasons include filling up spare time (35.4%), reading news stories (34.6%), finding content (30%), seeing what’s being talked about (28.7%), and finding inspiration (27%).

52 million people use LinkedIn for job searches, as this is the most trusted social network in the US.

Source: The Social Shepherd ^

According to The Social Shepherd and based on LinkedIn news, 52 million people use LinkedIn for job searches on a weekly basis, with 101 job applications submitted to the platform every second and eight people being hired every minute.

LinkedIn news further reports that over eight million job applications are submitted daily. Data suggests that using the #OpenToWork photo frame increases the likelihood of receiving recruitment messages by over 2X.

Instagram offers the highest engagement rate for advertisers (81%); this is the highest overall engagement rate, especially compared with Facebook’s 8%.

Source: Sprout Social ^

Brands increasingly use social media channels to engage their audience and to communicate with customers. Research suggests that Instagram can offer advertisers more opportunities to engage their clients.

Instead of liking the post and sharing content, the Instagram platform quickly delivers a compelling message, resulting in effective communication. Furthermore, 44% of Instagram users shop for products weekly, with 28% of those shopping activities being preplanned.

93% of US marketers plan to use Instagram for influencer marketing, 68% will use TikTok and Facebook, and only 26% will use Snapchat.

The influencer marketing market size is expected to grow to $17.4 Billion in 2023. This is a 14.47% increase from 2022.

Source: Collabstr ^

With the influencer marketing market expected to grow 14.47% in 2023, we can expect to see a lot of activity from big influencers and micro-influencers (those with less than 50,000 followers).

TikTok is expected to dominate the influencer sphere, with over 45% of paid collaborations taking place on the platform. Instagram comes in second with 39%. YouTube limps last with only 2%. On average, brands will spend $257 to work with an influencer.

The top five countries for receiving influencer brand deals are the USA. Canada, the UK, Australia, and Germany. Los Angeles is the city with the largest number of influencers.

As of July, Pinterest had a total of 433 million monthly active users globally. This is a 4.7% drop from last year’s figure of 454 million.

Source: Datareportal ^

According to Datareportal, despite dropping from 454 million monthly active users in July 2021 to 433 million in July 2022, Pinterest is still used by 5.4% of all people globally.

Currently, the platform ranks 15th among the world’s most active social media platforms. In 2021, the platform was ranked 14th most active. Self-service advertising tools indicate that marketers could reach 251.8 million users, or 5% of internet users, in 2022.

The USA has the most Pinterest users (88.6 million), followed by Brasil (32.1 million), Mexico (20.6 million), Germany (15.1 million), and France (10.4 million)

Social media users are projected to grow to 6 billion in 2027.

Source: Statista ^

According to Statista, the number is based on 2020’s result of over 3.6 billion social media users worldwide. It is projected to grow to almost 6 billion active social media users in 2027.

This anticipation is based on cheap mobile device availability and infrastructure development. The increasing usage of mobile devices positively impacts social media’s global growth.

Fifty million people around the world consider themselves “creators.”

Source: SignalFire ^

There is a shift occurring. Over 50 million people globally consider themselves content creators, and consumers are moving away from huge mega influencers in favor of smaller and more authentic communities.

Larger brands have spotted this trend and are strategically partnering with this type of creator, and the market now stands at around $100 billion. The whole influencer market is less than a decade old, so this is an impressive figure for such a short space of time.

Poor response time is the leading cause of unfollowing a brand on social media.

Source: Social Bakers & Eptica Digital Customer Experience Study ^

Almost 56% of consumers on social media suggest that they will unfollow a brand if they don’t get good customer service. For example, the average response time on Facebook is almost two hours, which is unacceptable.

The extended response time on social media is not practical because most users expect brands to respond within 30 minutes. In comparison, the response time on Twitter is only 33 minutes, closer to consumers’ expectations.

Approximately 57% of customers prefer to use a social media platform to contact customer service.

Source: Ameyo ^

The importance of answering customer inquiries over social media is becoming increasingly important. Only 23% of customers prefer face-to-face interactions when seeking complicated customer service issues.

Therefore, advanced technologies can help handle 67% of social media inquiries without using other customer service channels. A mobile-friendly website can help because almost one-third of consumers use their mobile phones to resolve problems.

Younger people are considerably more likely to use social networks for brand research.

Source: Hootsuite ^

Young people are using social media to shop. 50% of people aged 24 or under use social media to conduct brand research, compare prices, and decide where to spend their money. This is compared with 46% that use search engines. Those aged 25 and upwards still prefer using search engines over social media, but the gap is closing quickly. 

Overall, however, search engines account for 32% of all brand research carried out by consumers. TV ads account for 31%, and word of mouth/recommendations is 28%. Social media ads also come in at 28%.

46% of social media users are female, while 54% are male.

Source: Statista ^

Overall, men are on social media more than women and make up the majority for every platform except for Snapchat, where women account for 53.8% of users. Women are likely to use LinkedIn the least and account for only 42.8% of users. Instagram’s users are split almost 50/50.

Over in the USA, men are likely to use social media less, making up for 45.3% of all users, with 54.7% women.

Consumers say the biggest barrier to purchasing through social media is trust.

Source: Accenture ^

The slow adoption of social commerce is largely attributed to the lack of trust. According to a survey conducted by Accenture, the top three concerns are that purchases won’t be refunded or protected if they’re faulty (48%), poor policies on returns and refunds (37%), and waiting lengthy times for orders to arrive (32%). Consumers also worry about the authenticity of the product and its quality.

To improve in the area, Accenture says that brands must have easy return and refund processes (41%) along with clear descriptions and images (29%). Loyalty rewards (25%) and customer reviews (21%) also rank highly. 

According to a new survey conducted by Pew Research, YouTube tops the 2022 teen online landscape among the platforms and is used by 95% of teens.

Source: Pew Research ^

YouTube is the go-to social media platform for 95% of people aged 13 – 17. TikTok comes in second at 67%, and Instagram is third with 62%. Facebook is only used by 32% of teens compared with a 71% high in 2015.

When it comes to usage, 55% of US teens claim they spend the right amount of time on social media, while 36% say they’re spending too long on the platforms. Only 8% of teens say they’re not using them enough.

Facebook has emerged as the favorite platform that marketers consider most effective for reaching their business goals.

Source: Hootsuite ^

Based on 2021 figures, Facebook is still the winner when it comes to marketing effectiveness. 62% of marketers believe the platform is best for achieving business goals. Instagram follows this at 49%, and LinkedIn at 40%. 

However, all is not rosy. Facebook’s figures have dropped from 78% in 2020. Instagram has dropped from 70%, and LinkedIn dropped from 42%. On the other hand, TikTok went from 3% in 2020 to a whopping 24% in 2021.

Social media still costs significantly less than traditional channels to reach new customers.

Source: Peppercontent ^

Social media advertising is still the most cost-effective way to reach new audiences. When looking at traditional methods, to reach 2,000 people, it costs $150 for a radio broadcast, $500 for a magazine article, and $900 for a direct mail campaign.

However, social media marketing only costs $75 to reach the same number of people. That’s 50% less than the cheapest traditional method.

A social media ad’s average cost per click can range from $0.38 to $5.26. LinkedIn’s average cost per click is the most expensive at $5.26, while Twitter is the cheapest costing only 38 cents. Facebook is around 97 cents, and Instagram is $3.56.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why should businesses use social media?

Social media is now the fastest way to find out about news and current events. 50% of internet users say they receive the latest news on social media before it’s made its way onto traditional media channels such as TV and radio.

Brands and advertisers know this, so you can expect news of a product launch to hit social media way before you find it on TV. Furthermore, research indicates that consumers now reach out to brands via social media rather than calling or emailing.

Ultimately, consumers are looking at social media before they look elsewhere. Hence, it is crucial that your brand or business has a presence on at least one of the most popular social media sites.

Which social media platform should you use in 2023?

If you are a business looking to advertise or have a presence on one or more social media channels, you must first find your target market.

For example, Facebook is now most popular with people ages 35 or over, while TikTok dominates the youth market. Consumers head to Instagram for luxury goods, while Facebook is known for advertising bargains.

Study the data for each platform, find your audience, and set up your presence on the relevant platform.

How frequently should you post on social media in 2023?

If you’re a business owner, posting at least once a week is beneficial but more often can be better, particularly on TikTok, where quantity is favored over quality. Most established businesses post daily on their social media profiles. Depending on the industry, you can also post three to four times a week.

When starting out, you must strive to find the right balance. Posting too seldom means you’ll drop out of people’s newsfeeds while posting too much can appear spammy and result in losing followers.

If you’re new to social media, it’s best to start posting weekly until you have built up a decent following; then, you can ramp up the frequency until you find a level ideal for you and your followers.

When is the best time to post on social media in 2023?

Experts suggest that Tuesday and Friday are the best days to engage your audience. The best time to interact with your clients is between 8 am and 2 pm during office hours.

While it may seem strange, weekends and after-office hours are often less effective because most people use this time to see people face-to-face, spend time with the family and engage in other leisure activities.

Summary

According to the latest social media statistics and facts, the use of social media platforms continues to grow at a rapid pace. There are currently over 4.74 billion people using social media worldwide, with the majority of users accessing their accounts on a daily basis.

The most popular social media platforms are Facebook, with over 2.7 billion monthly active users, followed by YouTube with 2 billion monthly active users and Instagram with 1 billion monthly active users.

In terms of engagement, Instagram has the highest rate of interaction with its users, with 50% of Instagram users reporting that they check the platform multiple times per day.

Additionally, social media has become an important marketing tool for businesses, with over 80% of companies using social media to reach and engage with their customers.

If you are interested in more statistics, check out our 2023 Internet statistics page here.

Sources:

Home » Research » 25+ Social Media Statistics, Facts & Trends For 2023

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.