Windows 10 是否需要安装 McAfee 或 Norton?

in 网上保安

我们的内容是读者支持的. 如果您点击我们的链接,我们可能会赚取佣金。 我们如何审核.

如果我运行的是 Windows 10,是否需要防病毒软件? 一般的答案是否定的,如果您使用的是 Windows 10,则无需使用迈克菲或诺顿 - 但无论如何您可能想要使用 - 因为 你永远不能太小心 在防止病毒、恶意软件和勒索软件攻击方面。

它以电子邮件主题行中的三个小词开头:我爱你。 被称为 给你的爱虫或情书 2000 年,这种臭名昭著的计算机蠕虫病毒感染了超过 15 万台个人计算机,并在全球造成了约 XNUMX 亿美元的损失。 

这种臭名昭著的恶意软件攻击发生在近 22 年前(就计算机技术发展而言,基本上是一个世纪)。 自那以后, 随着黑客组织和恶意程序员变得越来越老练,恶意软件攻击的风险只会增加。

TL博士

随着越来越多的生活和私人信息存储在我们的计算机和网络上,保护您的 PC 免受恶意软件攻击变得空前重要。 Windows 10 带有出色的内置反恶意软件保护,称为 Windows Defender(也称为 Microsoft Defender).

Windows Defender 是微软安全游戏的一次大升级,这意味着你不严格 需要 安装额外的安全软件,如 迈克菲或诺顿。 但是,如果你 更喜欢额外的安全 当涉及到你的数据时(就像我一样),那么我 强烈建议购买迈克菲,因为它是一款出色的防病毒软件,可以补充 Windows Defender,这是添加额外安全层的好方法。 

如果您正在寻找中间路线 - 也就是说,如果您不想安装第二个安全系统但仍然觉得 Windows Defender 本身还不够 - 那么您可以采取替代措施,例如 安装 VPN,将您的数据存储在云备份存储系统中,或使用密码管理器.

最近, 一种名为 WannaCry 的恶意软件攻击 通过损坏的 Microsoft Windows 程序迅速传播,造成数十亿美元的损失。 

随着恶意软件和反恶意软件系统之间的军备竞赛每天都在加速, 保护您的计算机免受攻击从未如此重要。 幸运的是,随着恶意软件变得越来越复杂,反恶意软件和防病毒系统也变得越来越复杂。 

如今,您可以安装许多功能强大的防病毒软件来保护您的计算机,例如 McAfee 和 Norton。 

但是,大多数计算机在出售时也已经安装了防病毒系统。 如果您的计算机使用 Windows 10,就会出现这种情况,Windows XNUMX 附带一个出色的内置防病毒和反恶意软件工具,称为 Windows Defender。 那么,您的 Windows 10 需要 Mcafee 吗? 真的有必要在这个基础上安装另一个系统吗?

一般答案是否定的,如果您使用的是带有 Windows Defender 的 Windows 10,则不需要添加 McAfee 或 Norton – 但无论如何您可能想要

Windows 11也是如此, Windows 11 通常不需要 McAfee 或 Norton, 我在这里解释过.

首先,让我们看看为什么如果您使用的是 Windows 10,您可能不需要添加恶意软件防护系统。此外,我们还将了解 Norton 与 McAfee 之间的差异。 然后我们将看看为什么您可能想要添加额外的保护系统。 

  1. 立即开始使用 Norton 360 Deluxe

    诺顿的全面防病毒解决方案提供业界领先的功能,例如 VPN 服务、隐私监控和身份盗窃保险。 100 GB 免费云存储和强大的密码管理器让您高枕无忧。 立即尝试诺顿的 7 天免费试用版。

    免费试用诺顿!
  2. 了解 McAfee Total Protection

    体验防病毒软件先驱迈克菲的强大保护。 凭借无限 VPN、防火墙、安全浏览和 PC 优化工具等功能,迈克菲为您的所有设备提供一体化保护。 开始免费试用。

    免费试用迈克菲

为什么你 Windows 10 需要迈克菲或诺顿

Windows 10 安全性

过去,Windows 在安全性方面的声誉有些可疑。 然而,那些日子已经一去不复返了。

Windows 10 带有内置的防病毒和反恶意软件系统, Windows Defender的 (也称为Microsoft Defender),实际上比当今市场上的许多免费杀毒软件解决方案要好。

在 2020 年由 AV 比较进行的测试中, Windows Defender 成功击退了 99.8% 的攻击 并在 12 个经过测试的防病毒程序中排名第 17 位。 

Windows Defender 的另一个好处是 它预装在您的 Windows 10 程序中。 这不仅意味着它是 免费 但它也是 无缝集成到您的计算机操作系统中。 您无需处理繁琐的安装过程,而且 Windows Defender 已经准备好在其本机系统中工作。 

这是一个巨大的优势,特别是对于我们这些不太懂技术的人来说,他们可能不想处理 选择和安装额外的反恶意软件

那么,Windows Defender 附带了什么?

除了 核心防病毒防御 改进的基于云的恶意软件检测, Windows Defender 还包括 强大的防火墙保护 (您的 PC 和公共互联网之间的屏障,根据其内部安全协议过滤传出和传入的流量)和 实时威胁检测。

它也自带 改进的家长控制, 包括限制孩子在互联网上花费的时间的能力,以及 系统性能报告 这使您可以跟踪系统已检测和阻止的威胁数量。

凭借所有这些出色的功能,Windows Defender 可能能够单独为您的 PC 提供足够的保护。 然而,“可能” 对很多人来说还不够好。 

Windows Defender 与诺顿

这两个程序都旨在保护用户免受各种在线威胁,例如病毒、恶意软件和网络钓鱼攻击。 Windows Defender 提供基本级别的保护,定期更新其病毒定义并实时扫描文件。

另一方面,诺顿提供了更全面的安全套件,具有防火墙保护、身份盗窃预防和安全浏览等附加功能。

虽然 Windows Defender 对于 Windows 用户来说是免费且方便的,但诺顿的付费订阅模式提供了高级功能和全天候客户支持。

迈克菲与 Windows Defender

关于 Windows Defender 与 McAfee 的讨论引发了用户对其有效性、可靠性和整体性能的争论。

McAfee 拥有广泛的功能,包括实时扫描、防火墙保护和高级威胁检测,而 Windows Defender 则提供全面且简化的安全解决方案,无需任何额外安装。

最终,用户面临着选择是选择行业领先的 McAfee 专业知识还是依赖 Windows Defender 的便利性和可靠性的决定。

为什么你 DO Windows 10 需要迈克菲或诺顿

想知道“Windows 10 是否需要迈克菲”= 或者“迈克菲有必要吗”? 如果“您永远不会太小心”是您的座右铭,您可能需要为您的 Windows 10 计算机寻找额外的保护系统,例如 McAfee 或 Norton。

Windows Defender 是一款出色的安全工具,但这并不意味着它可以保护您的计算机免受 100% 的威胁。

例如,Windows Defender 将无法阻止您无意中单击下载恶意软件或恶意广告软件的链接。

然而, 一个杀毒软件 为您的浏览器提供网络保护或互联网保护的系统可以保护您免受此类攻击。

有理由说,两个安全系统比一个更好,您可以使用 Windows Defender 作为备份系统,使用 McAfee 或 Norton 作为您抵御病毒、勒索软件和其他恶意软件攻击的主要保护。

让我们快速看一下这两个系统是如何工作的 您可能希望在 Windows 10 中安装 McAfee 或 Norton 的原因。

McAfee Total Protection 防病毒软件

McAfee Total Protection 防病毒软件

迈克菲 是一家网络安全软件公司,为个人计算机、移动设备和服务器设备提供强大的安全解决方案。

他们销售从云安全到端点保护的各种工具,他们的安全软件被全球 500 亿客户使用。 

McAfee 具有大量出色的功能,包括 强大的防火墙、定期的恶意软件扫描和清除、性能优化,甚至是内置的 VPN。

它的最佳功能之一是 Total Protection,这是一种暗网扫描程序,可搜索您的信息并在信息在网上任何地方泄露时提醒您。 

迈克菲优惠 四个定价计划,所有这些都按年收费(有特别的第一年折扣),范围从 39.99-84.99 美元/年。 

迈克菲定价

立即访问迈克菲网站 – 或查看一些 最好的迈克菲替代品 点击此处。

了解 McAfee Total Protection

体验防病毒软件先驱迈克菲的强大保护。 凭借无限 VPN、防火墙、安全浏览和 PC 优化工具等功能,迈克菲为您的所有设备提供一体化保护。 开始免费试用。

诺顿 360 杀毒软件

诺顿 360 杀毒软件

诺顿杀毒软件好用吗? 诺顿 使用 高级 机器学习技术 广泛的恶意软件目录 以确保您的设备的安全。 它为 Mac、Windows、iOS 和 Android 设备提供保护,并附带各种工具,包括不同的病毒扫描选项和实时威胁防护。

诺顿 360 久经考验阻止多达 100% 的潜在有害文件 在他们开始下载和进行扫描之前,不会降低您的 PC 速度。

游戏玩家的另一个好处是 诺顿暂停预定的安全扫描和更新 在您玩游戏或看电影时,这意味着您的游戏不会被中断或您的 电脑变慢了.

和 McAfee 一样,诺顿也有一个扫描仪,叫做 暗网监控 如果您的任何信息出现在互联网的令人讨厌的角落,它会提醒您。 它还带有令人印象深刻的 智能防火墙 实时阻止可疑的网络流量。

甚至还有 身份盗窃保护 的网络 信用监控功能 提醒您信用卡上的任何可疑费用。 

诺顿定价

与迈克菲一样,诺顿也提供 四个定价层 第一年的价格非常低廉。

其计划范围从 $ 19.99-$ 299.99 每年,这意味着诺顿最基本的计划比迈克菲的略便宜,但他们的其余计划更贵。

在此处访问 Norton 360 网站.

立即开始使用 Norton 360 Deluxe

诺顿的全面防病毒解决方案提供业界领先的功能,例如 VPN 服务、隐私监控和身份盗窃保险。 100 GB 免费云存储和强大的密码管理器让您高枕无忧。 立即尝试诺顿的 7 天免费试用版。

我可以做些什么来增强 Windows 10 的安全性?

假设您不想花时间和金钱安装 Norton 或 McAfee 防病毒系统,但仍想为 Windows 10 添加一些保护层。有中间立场吗?

答案是肯定的,绝对! 有几种方法可以在不使用 Norton 或 McAfee 的情况下增强 Windows 10 的安全性, 包括使用 密码管理器, 安装一个 VPN, 或使用 云备份服务。

1. 安装和使用密码管理器

研究表明,平均每个人需要记住近 100 个密码,随着我们的生活越来越在线,这个数字可能会上升。 为了避免这种巨大的头痛, 大多数人对多个应用程序使用相同的密码,这是一个很大的安全风险。

密码旨在保护您的在线安全,但通常它们最终会做完全相反的事情。 NordPass 的一项研究,流行的互联网安全提供商,透露了 200 个最流行的密码。

这份名单是由匿名研究人员与他们分享的,他们编制了一份名单 500亿个泄露的密码。 

这可能看起来很多,但是 不幸的是,这只是每年泄露、被黑客入侵或被盗的所有密码中的一小部分。

那么,除了避免使用“12345”或“密码”之类的密码之外,您还能做些什么来保护自己呢? 密码管理器 是用于在线保护您的身份和凭证的宝贵软件工具。 

下面是它的工作原理: 您下载并安装密码管理器,它会为您的 Web 应用程序生成强密码。 创建这些密码后,密码管理器会将它们存储在只有您可以访问的加密保险库中。 

这个保险库有一个主密码(这意味着你只需要记住一个密码,耶!),这个密码可以解锁其他加密密码,以便在需要时使用。

如果您想加强 Windows 10 的安全性,密码管理器是一个很好的起点。 看看当今市场上一些最好的密码管理器, 查看最佳密码管理器的评论.

2. 安装和使用 VPN 服务

虚拟专用网络, 通常称为VPN,东京国立癌症中心医院 一项有助于在您在线时掩饰和保护您的互联网连接和隐私的服务。 它通过隐藏您的 IP 地址并为您的数据传输创建加密路径来做到这一点。 

您计算机的 IP 地址就像房子的物理地址。 对于大多数 VPN 提供商,您可以选择让您的 IP 地址(以及您的物理计算机)看起来完全位于另一个国家/地区。 

此功能对生活在互联网访问受到审查或限制的国家/地区的人们特别有吸引力,因为 VPN 可以帮助您绕过这些限制。

即使您不需要此特定功能, VPN 是在使用公共 WiFi 连接或热点时保护您的互联网连接的宝贵工具。

连接到公共 WiFi 会使您的互联网流量面临被黑客拦截的风险,而 VPN 会为您的数据创建一个加密隧道,使其远离窥探。

现在有很多好东西 内置 VPN 的防病毒软件 以及。

有关当今市场上一些最佳 VPN 选项的更多信息, 查看我的 VPN 评论

3. 安装和使用云备份服务

云备份 是一种数据存储类型,它使用 Internet 将您的文档、文件和其他重要数据存储在您的计算机上。 

第一个也是最明显的 云存储的好处 就是如果您的计算机或硬盘驱动器出现问题,您的文件和数据不会丢失,因为它们安全地存储在云中。

出于同样的原因,云存储优于其他形式的数据备份,例如 USB 存储或外部硬盘驱动器存储。 无论有多少硬件被破坏,您的数据仍然可以在云中恢复。

云备份存储每天都在进步,还有很多 市场上令人印象深刻的选择 满足不同的需求。 一些优先考虑安全性,另一些更关注用户友好性和业务协作,还有一些提供 两者都很重要.

恶意软件、病毒和勒索软件有什么区别?

恶意软件是旨在损害或入侵您的计算机的任何系统或程序的总称。 病毒和勒索软件都是不同类型的恶意软件。 

病毒是一种恶意程序 - 就像有机病毒一样 - 通过受感染的文件或下载从一台设备传播到另一台设备。 病毒 旨在将自己安装在您的计算机上并造成严重破坏。

尽管它们可以通过编程来执行几乎任何操作,但大多数病毒会窃取您的数据、损坏或删除您的文件,并中断您计算机的正常运行。 有些甚至可以阻止您访问互联网或重新格式化您的硬盘驱动器。

勒索软件是另一种旨在将您锁定在设备之外的恶意程序。 一旦它安装到您的计算机中,它就会保存您的数据和文件以勒索赎金,通常要求付款。 删除勒索软件很困难,而且成本可能很高。 

我们的判决⭐

总而言之, Windows Defender 本身就是一个很好的安全系统,如果您使用的是 Windows 10 或 11,您可能不需要添加任何额外的防病毒保护。

但是,如果您觉得它不够,或者您担心 Windows Defender 系统中的潜在漏洞,您可能会考虑安装额外的保护层。

  1. 立即开始使用 Norton 360 Deluxe

    诺顿的全面防病毒解决方案提供业界领先的功能,例如 VPN 服务、隐私监控和身份盗窃保险。 100 GB 免费云存储和强大的密码管理器让您高枕无忧。 立即尝试诺顿的 7 天免费试用版。

    免费试用诺顿!
  2. 了解 McAfee Total Protection

    体验防病毒软件先驱迈克菲的强大保护。 凭借无限 VPN、防火墙、安全浏览和 PC 优化工具等功能,迈克菲为您的所有设备提供一体化保护。 开始免费试用。

    免费试用迈克菲

当今市场上两个最好和最全面的防病毒软件系统是 诺顿迈克菲。 当谈到迈克菲与诺顿时,很难说哪一个更好。 每个都具有广泛的功能,包括 恶意软件扫描和删除、防火墙保护、反身份盗窃工具、暗网监控,甚至云存储。 

如果您正在寻找一种中间立场——一种在不安装完全独立的防病毒系统的情况下提高 Windows 10 安全性的方法——你有几个选择。 

  • 您还可以 安装VPN 加密您的互联网流量并保护它在使用公共 WiFi 时不被窃取。 
  • 您还可以 使用密码管理器 通过生成强密码并将其存储在单个加密文件中,简化您的生活并保护您的在线信息。
  • 最后,你可以 使用云备份服务 如果任何恶意软件确实设法破坏了您的计算机的防御,则可以使您的文件保持加密并安全地遥不可及。 

这些安全措施的任何组合都可以让您轻松入睡,因为您知道您的 PC 的安全性是一流的。

我们如何测试防病毒软件:我们的方法

我们的防病毒和反恶意软件建议基于对保护、用户友好性和最小系统影响的实际测试,为选择正确的防病毒软件提供清晰、实用的建议。

  1. 购买及安装: 就像任何客户一样,我们首先购买防病毒软件。然后,我们将其安装在我们的系统上,以评估安装和初始设置的难易程度。这种现实世界的方法可以帮助我们从一开始就了解用户体验。
  2. 现实世界的网络钓鱼防御: 我们的评估包括测试每个程序检测和阻止网络钓鱼尝试的能力。我们与可疑电子邮件和链接进行交互,以了解该软件如何有效地防御这些常见威胁。
  3. 可用性评估: 防病毒软件应该是用户友好的。我们根据每个软件的界面、导航的便捷性以及警报和说明的清晰度来对每个软件进行评级。
  4. 特征检查: 我们会仔细审查提供的附加功能,尤其是付费版本。这包括分析家长控制和 VPN 等附加功能的价值,并将其与免费版本的实用性进行比较。
  5. 系统影响分析: 我们衡量每种防病毒软件对系统性能的影响。软件运行平稳并且不会明显减慢日常计算机操作速度至关重要。

了解我们的更多信息 审查方法.

随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
分享给...

Do I Need McAfee or Norton with Windows 10?

Written by

If I'm running Windows 10, do I need antivirus software? The general answer is no, you don’t need to use McAfee or Norton if you’re using Windows 10 – but you might want to, anyway. Because you can never be too careful when it comes to protecting against viruses, malware, and ransomware attacks.

From $39.99 per year

Get up to $80 OFF McAfee® Total Protection

It started with three little words in an email subject line: I Love You. Known as the Love Bug or Love Letter for You attack, this infamous computer worm infected more than ten million personal computers in 2000 and cost an estimated $15 billion in damages worldwide. 

This notorious malware attack occurred nearly 22 years ago (basically a century in terms of computer technology development). Since then, the risk of malware attacks has only increased as hacker groups and malicious programmers have become more sophisticated.

More recently, a malware attack known as WannaCry spread rapidly through a corrupted Microsoft Windows program, costing billions of dollars in damages. 

With the arms race between malware and anti-malware systems accelerating every day, it has never been more critical to protect your computer from attacks. Luckily, as malware has become more sophisticated, so have anti-malware and antivirus systems. 

These days there are a number of seriously powerful antivirus software you can install to protect your computer, such as McAfee and Norton. 

However, most computers are also sold with antivirus systems already installed. This is the case if your computer uses Windows 10, which comes with an excellent built-in antivirus and anti-malware tool called Windows Defender. So, is it really necessary to install another system on top of this?

The general answer is no, you don’t need to add McAfee or Norton if you’re using Windows 10 – but you might want to, anyway

First, let’s see why you probably don’t need an added malware protection system if you’re using Windows 10. Then we’ll take a look at why you might want to add an extra system of protection, anyway. 

TL;DR

As increasing amounts of our lives and private information get stored on our computers and online, it’s never been more important to protect your PC from malware attacks. Windows 10 comes with a fantastic, built-in antimalware protection, known as Windows Defender (also called Microsoft Defender)

Windows Defender is a big upgrade to Microsoft’s security game, and it means that you don’t strictly need to install additional security software like McAfee or Norton. However, if you prefer to be extra safe when it comes to your data (like I do), then installing one of these sophisticated security systems on top of Windows Defender is a great way to add an extra layer of safety. 

If you’re looking for a middle route – that is, if you don’t want to install a second security system but still feel like Windows Defender isn’t enough on its own – then you can take alternative measures like installing a VPN, storing your data in a cloud backup storage system, or using a password manager.

Why You DON'T Need McAfee or Norton With Windows 10

windows 10 security

In the past, Windows had a slightly questionable reputation when it came to security. However, those days are gone.

Windows 10 comes with a built-in antivirus and anti-malware system, Windows Defender (also known as Microsoft Defender), which is actually better than many of the free antivirus software solutions on the market today.

In a 2020 test conducted by AV Comparative, Windows Defender successfully repelled 99.8% of attacks and earned itself a ranking of 12 out of 17 antivirus programs that were tested. 

Another benefit of Windows Defender is that it comes preinstalled on your Windows 10 program. That not only means that it’s free but also that it’s seamlessly integrated into your computers’ operating system. There’s no clunky installation process for you to deal with, and Windows Defender is already primed to work within its native system. 

This is a huge plus, particularly for the less tech-savvy among us who may not want to deal with choosing and installing additional anti-malware software

So, what does Windows Defender come with?

In addition to the core antivirus defenses and improved cloud-based malware detection, Windows Defender also includes a strong firewall protection (a barrier between your PC and the public internet that filters outgoing and incoming traffic according to its internal security protocols) and real-time threat detection.

It also comes with improved parental controls, including the ability to set limits on the amount of time kids can spend on the internet, and system performance reports that allow you to track how many threats your system has detected and blocked.

With all of these great features, Windows Defender is probably capable of providing sufficient protection for your PC on its own. However, “probably” isn’t good enough for many people. 

Why You DO Need McAfee or Norton With Windows 10

If “you can never be too careful” is your motto, you may want to look into an additional system of protection such as McAfee or Norton for your Windows 10 computer.

Windows Defender is a great security tool, but that doesn’t mean it can protect your computer from 100% of all threats.

For example, Windows Defender won’t be able to prevent you from unintentionally clicking on a link that downloads malware or malicious adware.

However, an antivirus software system that offers web protection or internet protection for your browser can protect you from attacks like this.

It stands to reason that two security systems are better than one, and you can use Windows Defender as a backup system with McAfee or Norton as your primary protection against viruses, ransomware, and other malware attacks.

Let’s take a quick look at how these two systems work and the reasons why you might want to install McAfee or Norton with Windows 10.

McAfee Total Protection Antivirus

McAfee Total Protection Antivirus

McAfee is a cybersecurity software company that offers powerful security solutions for personal computers, mobile devices, and server devices.

They sell a variety of tools, from cloud security to endpoint protection, and their security software is used by 500 million customers worldwide. 

McAfee comes with a ton of great features, including a powerful firewall, regular malware scanning and removal, performance optimization, and even a built-in VPN.

One of its best features is Total Protection, a dark web scanner that searches for your information and alerts you if it has been leaked anywhere online. 

McAfee offers four pricing plans, all of which are charged yearly (with special first-year discounts), and range from $39.99-$84.99/year. 

McAfee pricing

Visit the McAfee website now – or check out some of the best McAfee alternatives here.

Norton 360 Antivirus

norton 360 antivirus

Norton uses advanced machine learning technology and an extensive malware directory to ensure your device’s safety. It offers protection for Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android devices, and comes with a variety of tools, including different virus-scanning options and real-time threat protection.

Norton 360 is proven to block up to 100% of potentially harmful files before they even begin downloading and conducts scans without slowing down your PC.

An additional benefit for gamers is that Norton suspends scheduled security scans and updates while you’re playing games or watching movies, meaning there’s no risk of your game being interrupted or your computer being slowed down.

Like McAfee, Norton has a scanner called Dark Web Monitoring that alerts you if any of your information has appeared in unsavory corners of the internet. It also comes with an impressive smart firewall that blocks suspicious web traffic in real-time.

There’s even identity theft protection and a credit monitoring feature that alerts you to any questionable charges made on your credit card. 

norton pricing

Like McAfee, Norton also offers four pricing tiers with generously low prices for your first year.

Its plans range from $19.99-$299.99 per year, meaning that Norton’s most basic plan is slightly cheaper than McAfee’s, but the rest of their plans are more expensive.

Visit the Norton 360 website here.

What Can I Do to Beef up Windows 10's Security?

Let’s say you don’t want to spend the time and money installing Norton or McAfee antivirus systems, but you still want to add some layers of protection to your Windows 10. Is there a middle ground?

The answer is yes, absolutely! There are several ways you can beef up Windows 10 security without using Norton or McAfee, including using a password manager, installing a VPN, or protecting your data with a cloud backup service.

1. Install and Use a Password Manager

Studies have shown that the average person has close to 100 passwords they have to memorize, and as our lives become increasingly online, this number is likely to rise. To avoid this massive headache, most people use the same password for multiple applications, which is a big security risk.

Passwords are intended to protect your online security, but often they end up doing the exact opposite. A study by NordPass, a popular internet security provider, revealed the 200 most popular passwords.

This list was shared with them by anonymous researchers who have compiled a list of 500 million leaked passwords. 

This may seem like a lot, but unfortunately, it’s only a tiny fraction of all the passwords that get leaked, hacked, or stolen every year.

So, other than avoiding passwords like ‘12345’ or ‘password’, what can you do to protect yourself? A password manager is an invaluable software tool for protecting your identity and credentials online. 

Here’s how it works: you download and install the password manager, and it generates strong passwords for your web applications. Once these passwords have been created, the password manager stores them in an encrypted vault that only you can access. 

This vault has a master password (meaning you only need to memorize one password, yay!), and this password unlocks the other encrypted passwords to be used when needed.

If you want to beef up security for your Windows 10, a password manager is a great place to start. For a look at some of the best password managers on the market today, check out reviews of the best password managers.

2. Install and Use a VPN Service

A Virtual Private Network, commonly known as a VPN, is a service that helps disguise and protect your internet connection and privacy when you’re online. It does this by hiding your IP address and creating an encrypted path for your data to travel through. 

Your computer’s IP address is like a physical address of a house. With most VPN providers, you can choose to make it appear that your IP address – and thus your physical computer – is in another country entirely. 

This feature is particularly attractive for people living in countries where internet access is censored or restricted, as a VPN can help you bypass these restrictions.

Even if you don’t need this particular feature, a VPN is an invaluable tool for protecting your internet connection when using a public WiFi connection or hotspot.

Connecting to public WiFi puts your internet traffic at risk of being intercepted by hackers, and a VPN creates an encrypted tunnel for your data that keeps it away from prying eyes.

For more information on some of the best VPN options on the market today, check out my VPN reviews

3. Install and Use a Cloud Backup Service

Cloud backup is a type of data storage that uses the internet to store your documents, files, and other important data on your computer. 

The first and most obvious benefit of cloud storage is that if something should happen to your computer or your hard drive, your files and data won’t be lost because they’re stored safely in the cloud.

For this same reason, cloud storage is preferable to other forms of data backup, such as USB storage or external hard drive storage. No matter how much hardware gets destroyed, your data will still be recoverable in the cloud.

Cloud backup storage is improving every day, and there are many impressive options on the market that cater to different needs. Some prioritize security, others focus more on user-friendliness and business collaboration, and some offer a great deal on both.

What Is the Difference Between Malware, Viruses, and Ransomware?

Malware is the general umbrella term for any system or program designed to harm or hack your computer. Viruses and ransomware are both different types of malware. 

A virus is a malicious program that – just like an organic virus – spreads from one device to another through infected files or downloads. Viruses are designed to install themselves on your computer and wreak havoc.

Although they can be programmed to do pretty much anything, most viruses steal your data, damage or delete your files, and interrupt your computer’s normal functioning. Some can even block your access to the internet or reformat your hard drive.

Ransomware is another malicious program designed to lock you out of your device. Once it has installed itself in your computer, it holds your data and files for ransom, usually demanding payment. Removing ransomware is difficult and can be very costly. 

Summary

All in all, Windows Defender is a great security system all on its own, and if you’re using Windows 10, you probably don’t need to add any extra protection for your files.

However, if you feel like it’s insufficient, or if you’re worried about potential holes in Windows Defender’s system, you might consider installing an added layer of protection.

Two of the best and most comprehensive antivirus software systems on the market today are Norton and McAfee. Each comes with a wide range of features, including malware scanning and removal, firewall protection, anti-identity theft tools, dark web monitoring, and even cloud storage. 

If you’re looking for a middle ground – a way to increase security on your Windows 10 without installing an entirely separate antivirus system – you have a few options. 

  • You can install a VPN to encrypt your internet traffic and protect it from being snatched when using public WiFi. 
  • You can use a password manager to simplify your life and protect your information online by generating strong passwords and storing them in a single, encrypted file.
  • Finally, you can use a cloud backup service to keep your files encrypted and safely out of reach if any malware does manage to breach your computer’s defenses. 

Any combination of these security measures will allow you to sleep easy, knowing that your PC’s security is top-notch.

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.