Is Dropbox 企业安全吗?

我们的内容是读者支持的. 如果您点击我们的链接,我们可能会赚取佣金。 我们如何审核.

Dropbox 是一种流行的在线存储服务,已经存在了十多年。 但仅仅因为这种存储服务很受欢迎,并不意味着它是安全的。 

幸运的是,有一些安全的替代方法可以使用 Dropbox 这可能更安全,并且不太可能与第三方共享您的数据。

Reddit 是一个了解更多信息的好地方 Dropbox。 这里有一些我认为您会感兴趣的 Reddit 帖子。 查看它们并加入讨论!

在本文中,我将分享 为什么 Dropbox 不是安全的存储服务 为您的业务数据。 我会给你看 你怎么做 Dropbox 更安全 我会推荐替代解决方案 Dropbox,如 Sync.com, pCloud, 和 Boxcryptor.

Dropbox 在全球有数百万用户出于个人和职业原因使用它。 但不幸的是,他们的存储服务并不安全。 您的企业需要了解一些安全问题 运用 Dropbox

存储您的个人信息

在注册之前 Dropbox 服务,企业应该知道 Dropbox 将存储他们的社交媒体信息、信用卡详细信息、联系电话、实际地址、电子邮件地址和用户名。 

尽管这在在线服务和公司中很常见,但如果您想将其用于您的业务,您应该意识到这一点。 

Dropbox 即使在您删除帐户后仍保留您的数据

即使你删除了你的 Dropbox 帐户,您的信息仍将被存储“以遵守我们的法律义务、解决争议或执行我们的协议。” 该声明见于 Dropbox的隐私权政策

Dropbox 分享您的个人信息

而 Dropbox 说它永远不会出售你的信息,这并不意味着 Dropbox 不会与其他方共享您的信息。 例如,如果您登录到您的 Dropbox 脸书帐户, Dropbox 将与 Facebook 共享您的信息。 

Dropbox 还与亚马逊等公司共享您的数据,因为该公司使用在线零售商的 S3 服务来存储文件。 Dropbox 作为此交易的一部分,有义务向亚马逊提供您的数据。 

在某些情况下, Dropbox 如果公司认为对公司或其他用户有危险,将共享您的信息。 但是存储服务并没有明确说明这些危险是什么。 

Dropbox 可以跟踪您的位置

Dropbox 可以轻松跟踪您的位置。 它可以通过使用从 PC 或智能手机发送的 GPS 信息来访问 Dropbox 帐户中找到与您的订单有关的所有信息,包括配送和物流信息。 Dropbox 声称它不这样做是因为它不想被视为跟踪其用户的位置。 

相反, Dropbox 使用嵌入在上传文件中的信息,例如视频和照片。  Dropbox 还可以使用您的 IP 地址来获取您公司的大致位置。

不安全(无零知识/端到端加密)

针对 Dropbox 要与其他应用程序一起工作,信息需要在两个不同的公司之间轻松移动。 在这个过程中,首先解密文件需要很长时间。 为了避免这种情况, Dropbox 保留用户的加密密钥,以便在他们需要或想要时访问您的文件。 

Dropbox 与其他在线存储服务相比有所不同 零知识加密. 使用零知识加密,用户的密码是秘密,即使是主机也无法访问您的文件或信息。 

零知识使黑客甚至政府更难以访问您的信息。 它还可以防止您的主机, Dropbox 在这种情况下,通过了解您在他们的系统上存储的内容。 但在处理数据时,它也会减慢大多数进程的速度。 

非私人(美国总部——爱国者法案)

计划 Dropbox 总部位于美国加利福尼亚州旧金山,使用他们的服务时存在另一个安全风险。 在美国,有爱国者法案。 由于这一行为,执法部门可以要求 Dropbox 让他们访问您的信息和文件。 

什么是爱国者法案?

美国发生恐怖袭击后,政府通过了 爱国者法案 赋予执法权力以调查、起诉恐怖分子嫌疑人并将其绳之以法。 该法律导致对支持和实施恐怖主义行为的处罚加重。 

在爱国者法案中,有“通过提供拦截和阻止恐怖主义所需的适当工具来团结和加强美国”的首字母缩写词。 其主要目的是允许执法部门为涉嫌恐怖分子、间谍和美国敌人的公民获得逮捕令。 

《爱国者法案》意味着,如果执法部门怀疑您是恐怖分子或您正在支持恐怖分子, Dropbox 将使他们能够访问您的文件和数据。 政府调查人员将能够筛选文件并检查您的数据。 

Dropbox的安全问题和违规历史

2007 年,麻省理工学院的学生 Drew Houston 和 Arash Ferdowsi 发起了 Dropbox,截至2020年,付费用户多达15.48万。 Dropbox 尽管已经存在了十多年,但仍有一长串安全问题。 

黑客造成了其中一些安全问题,但这些违规行为表明 多么糟糕 Dropbox 处理用户数据.  

第一个安全问题发生在 2011 年。 Dropbox 有一个允许任何人访问的更新 Dropbox 帐户,只要他们有电子邮件地址。 虽然 Dropbox 在几个小时内解决了问题,公司应该在上线之前正确测试升级。 

2012 年,令人震惊的数据泄露事件发生在 Dropbox 是由于员工被黑 Dropbox 帐户。 这次违规导致数百万用户的密码和电子邮件被泄露。 只是在 2016 年, Dropbox 发现升级泄露了用户的电子邮件和密码。 在那之前, Dropbox 相信升级只泄露了电子邮件地址。

Dropbox 添加了更多安全升级并创建了公共博客文章来解决此问题。 安全升级包括两步验证过程和安全选项卡,以便用户可以退出其他设备。 

信息泄露的用户会收到要求他们更改密码的电子邮件。 今天,我们仍然不知道有多少帐户被黑了。 

2014年, Dropbox 因允许其员工访问加密密钥而受到批评。 不幸的是,存储服务并没有改变它的政策。 允许员工拥有加密密钥意味着 Dropbox 员工可以随时解密用户文件并查看。 

以下重大安全漏洞发生在 2017 年。许多用户的帐户中出现了已删除的文件。 中的错误 Dropbox据称,该系统导致了安全漏洞,该漏洞并未删除一些已删除的文件。 

什么时候 Dropbox 试图解决此问题,该服务将已删除的文件发送回其用户。 因此, Dropbox 从未删除您删除的任何数据从未被删除,黑客或 Dropbox 员工可以访问您的数据。 

你可以做的方法 Dropbox 更安全

如果您的企业仍想使用 Dropbox, 有很多方法可以让你的 Dropbox 账户更安全。 

1. 确保检查您的网络会话

如果您担心黑客访问了您的 Dropbox 帐户,有一种方法可以检查。 你可以去 Dropbox 安全页面以缩小与您的帐户相关联的设备列表。 

您将能够检查当前的网络会话以及在该特定时刻登录的浏览器。 此列表将有助于检查哪些 Web 会话应该在那里,并且没有未经授权的用户可以访问您的 Dropbox 帐户中找到与您的订单有关的所有信息,包括配送和物流信息。 

2. 从您的设备中删除旧设备 Dropbox

当您的企业使用相同 Dropbox 很长一段时间以来,您很有可能已经更换了几次 PC 或智能手机。 如果您尚未查看链接设备列表,则需要定期查看列表并删除旧设备。 

向下滚动到下方的设备列表(您可以在其中启用两步验证)。 该列表将为您提供连接到您的所有设备的名称 Dropbox 帐户。 它还会告诉您设备上次使用您的设备的时间 Dropbox 帐户中找到与您的订单有关的所有信息,包括配送和物流信息。 

在列出的每个设备旁边,都有一个“X”。 您可以单击此“X”以将您不想访问您的帐户的机器从列表中删除。 在您执行此操作之前,请确保您或其他任何人不再使用该设备来访问您的 Dropbox 帐户中找到与您的订单有关的所有信息,包括配送和物流信息。 

3. 管理链接的应用程序

当您访问您的 Dropbox 第三方应用程序的帐户,您在该应用程序中的信息,如果您经常这样做, Dropbox 将与您仍在使用的所有应用程序甚至您已停止使用的应用程序共享您的信息。 

dropbox 连接的应用程序

您可以查看链接到您的应用程序 Dropbox 转到您帐户的安全页面底部。 在那里您将能够看到所有有权访问您的应用程序 Dropbox 帐户。 您将能够快速删除您授予该应用程序的权限。 

4. 使用电子邮件通知

Dropbox,您可以选择在您的帐户发生任何事情时接收电子邮件通知。 每当发生更改以及有人从新浏览器或设备登录您的帐户时,您都会收到通知。 

当大量文件被删除或新应用访问您的文件时,您还会收到电子邮件通知 Dropbox 帐户。 您可以从设置菜单中的配置文件面板管理电子邮件通知。 

dropbox 密码

5. 激活两步验证

“两步”验证工具是一种强大的方式,可确保不需要的用户可以访问您的帐户。 此方法也用于 Facebook 和 Gmail。 

使用此工具,每当有人尝试访问您的手机时,您都可以将特定代码发送到您的手机 Dropbox 从新设备。 

要打开此工具,您只需找到主页右上角的下拉菜单,然后单击“设置”。 执行此操作时,将打开一个新窗口,您可以单击安全选项卡。 

dropbox 两步验证

在这里,您会注意到您的 两步骤验证 启用或禁用。 如果它被禁用,你可以点击启用链接来激活它。 

请记住,执行此操作时需要再次输入密码。 之后,系统会询问您是否希望将代码作为短信或安全应用程序发送给您,例如 Google 身份验证器。 

做出选择后,您需要输入您的电话号码 Dropbox 可以发代码。 如果您丢失了手机,您还需要提供备用号码。  

最后一步是为您提供十个备份代码,您需要将其保存在安全的地方。 最后,您将能够单击“启用两步验证”按钮来结束这个漫长的过程。 

6. 使用安全密码和密码管理器

使用安全密码管理器的强密码是确保您的信息在线受到保护的第一步。 使用强密码不仅适用于使用 Dropbox. 

密码管理

强密码将在密码中使用符号、数字以及大小写字母的组合。 您不应该对所有内容或相同的字母和符号组合使用相同的密码。 一些密码管理器甚至可以为您生成一个独特而强大的密码。

使用不同字母和符号组合的长密码可能会让人不知所措。 因为记住不同的密码可能会让人不知所措,所以拥有一个安全的密码管理器很方便。 安全的密码管理器将帮助您将所有密码保存在一个地方,因此您不必记住所有密码。 

您可以查看我们的选择 2024 年最佳密码管理器

7. 使用虚拟专用网络 (VPN)

Dropbox 可以大致了解您在世界上的位置。 此外,根据您的 IP 地址, Dropbox 将准确定位您所在的位置。 但是您可以通过使用虚拟专用网络 (VPN) 来解决这个问题。  

VPN 是连接计算机的网络,它们形成一个加密通道,将您的在线活动从公共服务器转移到 VPN 网络上的服务器。 多亏了这一点, Dropbox 将无法跟踪您的位置。 

您可以查看一些 保护您位置的最佳 VPN

8. 将您的文件备份到其他存储服务

您可以使用类似的其他存储服务 Dropbox 备份您公司的文件。 它们每个都有自己的内置安全功能。 创建备份将增强您的安全性。 

就贵公司的数据安全而言,备份是必不可少的。 这种必要性使得使用强大的存储服务来保护您的数据变得至关重要。 

您可以选择设置您的 Dropbox 使用其他文件存储服务(例如 Files.com)创建帐户。 您可以使用 整合 Dropbox 与 Files.com 选项。 

此选项可让您连接您的帐户,以确保您的 文件是 synced 从第一个存储服务到第二个。 此过程将自动完成,因此您不必担心这一点。 

9. 考虑使用替代品 Dropbox

如果你仍然觉得 使用不安全 Dropbox,选择更好的替代方案. 有替代的加密存储服务可以保护您的信息。 

这些替代品将具有与以下相同的功能 Dropbox. 这些替代方案的额外优势是无法查看其服务器上存储的内容。 

使用更安全的云存储替代方案

什么是 pCloud?

您可以使用 pCloud 将您的数据安全地存储在您的 PC 上。 这是一个桌面应用程序,可在您的 PC 上构建安全的虚拟驱动器。 和 pCloud 将能够毫不费力地保存和使用您存储在云中的文件。 

pcloud

您将文件和数据拖放到虚拟驱动器或将文件复制到您的虚拟驱动器 pCloud 驾驶。 您不应该复制和粘贴带有大文件或大量文件的文件。 

您应该 sync 您的大文件或大量信息的文件。 你也应该停止 sync所有文件都成功上传后的过程。 

使用一个额外的好处 pCloud 包含文件共享集成和 sync在您的 PC 中进行同步。

最好的, pCloud 是安全的。 pCloud 线上营销 是最简单、最安全的数据加密方式。 使用独特的客户端加密,您的文件可以安全地隐藏起来,防止任何未经授权的访问。

参观 pCloud.com 现在 …或阅读我的 pCloud 检讨

什么是 Sync.com?

如果您有一家中小型企业,您可能需要考虑使用 Sync.com. 该服务是一种帮助公司备份和恢复数据以及协作的解决方案。 Sync.com 可用于内部部署和基于云的部署选项。

sync

该解决方案还包括公司可以使用的应用程序 Android 设备和 iPhone

Sync.com,您将能够通过使用到期日期和密码、电子邮件通知和上传来控制谁可以访问共享文件。 您还可以通过读写和只读控件授予较小的访问权限。 

如果发生勒索软件或恶意软件攻击,数据恢复和备份将帮助您访问较早版本的文件。 您也可以使用此功能来恢复已删除的文件。 

Sync.com, Vault Storage 还允许您的企业将文档从您的硬件或系统直接归档到云中。 

参观 Sync.com 现在 …或阅读我的 Sync.com 检讨

考虑使用 Boxcryptor

正如你现在已经知道的那样, Dropbox 未加密。

BoxCryptor,您将获得额外的安全存储层,易于使用。 此 Windows 桌面应用程序将在您的 PC 上本地加密您的文件夹。 

Boxcryptor 是一个附加的加密集成 Dropbox – (对于 OneDrive 和 Google 驱动器)

boxcryptor

自成立以来,Boxcryptor 一直是为云存储而设计的。 这种设计意味着 Boxcryptor 将独立于其他文件加密每个文件。 这是在诸如选择性等支持功能之上 sync. 

使用 Boxcryptor,您可以创建一个带有密码的文件夹。 然后您需要做的就是拖放要保护的文件。 此应用程序将立即使用 AES-256 加密对您的文件进行加密。

包起来

所以问题仍然存在,是 Dropbox 安全又可靠?简单的答案是 Dropbox 不是很安全。 该存储服务可能是出于最好的意图而建立的,但从那时起就出现了重大的安全漏洞,导致密码和电子邮件被泄露。 

我建议如果您有任何私人文件并希望保持私密,您应该使用 另一种云存储服务 或者使用 Boxcryptor 的附加加密来增加额外的安全性。 

马蒂亚斯·阿尔格伦 (Mathias Ahlgren) 是 Website Rating,领导一支由编辑和作家组成的全球团队。他拥有信息科学和管理硕士学位。在大学期间获得早期网络开发经验后,他的职业生涯转向了 SEO。在 SEO、数字营销和网络开发领域拥有超过 15 年的经验。他的重点还包括网站安全,网络安全证书证明了这一点。这种多元化的专业知识巩固了他在 Website Rating.

“WSR 团队”是由专门从事技术、互联网安全、数字营销和网络开发的专家编辑和作家组成的集体团体。他们对数字领域充满热情,创作出经过深入研究、富有洞察力且易于理解的内容。他们对准确性和清晰度的承诺使得 Website Rating 在动态数字世界中获取信息的值得信赖的资源。

随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
随时了解情况! 加入我们的时事通讯!
立即订阅并免费访问仅限订阅者的指南、工具和资源。
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
您可以随时取消订阅。 您的数据是安全的。
我的公司
保持最新状态! 加入我们的时事通讯
???? 您(几乎)已订阅!
前往您的电子邮件收件箱,然后打开我发送给您的电子邮件以确认您的电子邮件地址。
我的公司
您已订阅!
感谢您的订阅。 我们每周一都会发送包含有洞察力数据的时事通讯。
分享给...

Is Dropbox Secure For Businesses? Here’s What You Need to Know

Written by

Our content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission. How we review.

Dropbox is a popular online storage service that has been around for more than a decade. But just because this storage service is popular, it doesn’t mean that it's secure. 

Luckily, there are secure alternatives to using Dropbox that might be more secure and are less likely to share your data with third parties. 

In this article, I will share why Dropbox isn’t a secure storage service for your business’s data. I'll show you how you can make Dropbox more secure and I’ll recommend alternative solutions to Dropbox, such as Sync.com, pCloud, and Boxcryptor.

Dropbox has millions of users all over the globe that use it for personal and professional reasons. But unfortunately, their storage services aren’t secure. Your business will need to know about a few security issues using Dropbox

Stores your personal information

Before signing up for Dropbox services, businesses should know that Dropbox will store their social media information, credit card details, contact numbers, physical address, email addresses, and usernames. 

Even though this is common with online services and companies, you should be aware of this if you want to use it for your business. 

Dropbox hangs on to your data even after you delete your account 

Even if you delete your Dropbox account, your information will still be stored “to comply with our legal obligations, resolve disputes or enforce our agreement.” This statement is found in Dropbox’s privacy policy

Dropbox shares your personal information

While Dropbox says that it won’t ever sell your information, this doesn’t mean Dropbox won’t share your information with other parties. For example, if you sign in to your Dropbox account with Facebook, Dropbox will share your information with Facebook. 

Dropbox also shares your data with companies such as Amazon because the company uses the online retailer’s S3 service for storing files. Dropbox is obligated to your data with Amazon as part of this deal. 

In some situations, Dropbox will share your information if the company feels there is a danger to the company or other users. But the storage service doesn’t clearly state what these dangers are. 

Dropbox can track your location

Dropbox can easily track your location. It can do this by using the GPS information sent from the PC or smartphone accessing the Dropbox account. Dropbox claims that it doesn’t do this because it doesn’t want to be seen as tracking its user’s location. 

Instead, Dropbox uses the information embedded in the uploaded files, such as videos and photos.  Dropbox can also use your IP address to get a general location of your business.

Not secure (no zero-knowledge / end-to-end encryption)

For Dropbox to work with other apps, information needs to move effortlessly between two different companies. In this process, first decrypting the files will take a long time. To avoid this, Dropbox keeps users’ encryption keys to access your files when they need or want. 

Dropbox is different compared to other online storage services that have zero-knowledge encryption. With zero-knowledge encryption, a user’s password is a secret, and not even the host can access your files or information. 

Zero-knowledge makes it more difficult for hackers and even governments to get access to your information. It also prevents your host, Dropbox in this case, from knowing what you’ve stored on their system. But it also slows down most processes when handling your data. 

Not private (US Headquarters – the Patriot Act) 

Because Dropbox has its headquarters in San Francisco, California, USA, there’s another security risk when using their services. In the US, there is the Patriot Act. Because of this act, law enforcement can demand that Dropbox give them access to your information and files. 

What is the Patriot Act?

After the terrorist attack in the US, the government passed the Patriot Act to give law enforcement power to investigate, indict and bring suspected terrorists to justice. This law has led to increased penalties supporting and committing acts of terrorism. 

With the Patriot Act, there’s the acronym for “Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism.” This was for the primary purpose of allowing law enforcement to obtain warrants for citizens who are suspected of being terrorists, spies, and enemies of the US. 

The Patriot Act means that if law enforcement suspects that you’re a terrorist or that you’re supporting a terrorist, Dropbox will give them access to your files and data. Government investigators will be able to sift through files and check your data. 

Dropbox’s history of security issues and breaches 

In 2007, MIT students Drew Houston and Arash Ferdowsi launched Dropbox, and as of 2020, there are as many as 15.48 million paying users. Dropbox has a long list of security problems despite being around for more than a decade. 

Hackers caused some of these security problems, but these breaches show how poorly Dropbox handles users’ data.  

The first security issue happened in 2011. There was an error when Dropbox had an update that allowed anyone to access Dropbox accounts as long as they had the email address. Even though Dropbox fixed the problem in a matter of hours, the company should have properly tested the upgrade before going live. 

In 2012, an alarming data breach with Dropbox was due to an employee’s hacked Dropbox account. This breach led to millions of users’ passwords and emails being leaked. It was only in 2016 that Dropbox discovered that the upgrades had leaked the emails and passwords of users. Before then, Dropbox believed that the upgrades leaked only the email addresses.

Dropbox added more security upgrades and created a public blog post to fix this problem. The security upgrades included the two-step verification process and the security tab so users can log out of other devices. 

Users with compromised information got emails that asked them to change their passwords. Today, we still don’t know how many accounts were hacked. 

In 2014, Dropbox was criticized for allowing its employees access to encryption keys. Unfortunately, the storage service hasn’t changed its policy on this. Allowing employees to have the encryption keys means that Dropbox employees can decrypt user files and view them at any time. 

The following major security breach took place in 2017. Many users had deleted files show up in their accounts. An error in Dropbox’s system has allegedly caused a security breach that didn’t remove some deleted files. 

When Dropbox tried to fix this issue, the service sent the deleted files back to its users. As a result, Dropbox never removed any data you deleted was never removed, and hackers or Dropbox employees can access your data. 

Ways you can make Dropbox more secure

If your business still wants to use Dropbox, there are plenty of ways that you can make your Dropbox account more secure. 

1. Make sure you check your web sessions

If you’re worried that a hacker has accessed your Dropbox account, there’s a way that you can check. You can go to the Dropbox security page to narrow down your list of devices linked to your account. 

You will be able to check the current web sessions and what browsers are logged in at that particular moment. This list will be helpful to check which web sessions should be there and that there are no unauthorized users with access to your Dropbox account. 

2. Delist old devices from your Dropbox 

When your business has used the same Dropbox for a long time, there’s a good chance you’ve changed your PC or smartphone a few times. If you haven’t checked on your list of linked devices, you’ll need to check on your list regularly and delist old devices. 

Scroll down to the Device list under (where you can enable the two-step verification). The list will give you the names of all the devices connected to your Dropbox account. It will also tell you the last time the device used your Dropbox account. 

Next to each device listed, there is an “X.” You can click on this “X” to delist the machine you don’t want to have access to your account. Before you do this, make sure the device is no longer used by you or anyone else to access your Dropbox account. 

3. Manage linked apps

When you access your Dropbox account with a third-party app, your information with the app, if you do this regularly, Dropbox will share your information with all of the apps you’re still using and even the apps you’ve stopped using. 

dropbox connected apps

You can check on the apps linked to your Dropbox account by going to the bottom of the security page on your account. There you’ll be able to see all the apps that have permission to access your Dropbox account. You’ll be able to remove the permission you gave the app quickly. 

4. Use email notifications 

With Dropbox, you have the option of getting email notifications whenever something happens on your account. You’ll get notifications whenever there are changes and when someone logs into your account from a new browser or device. 

You will also get email notifications when a large number of files are deleted or when a new app gets access to your Dropbox account. You can manage the email notifications from the Profile panels in the settings menu. 

dropbox passwords

5. Activate Two-Step verification

The “two-step” verification tool is a powerful way to ensure that unwanted users will get access to your accounts. This method is also used for Facebook and Gmail. 

With this tool, you can have a specific code sent to your phone whenever someone tries to access your Dropbox from a new device. 

To switch on this tool, all you need to do is find the drop-down menu on the top right-hand corner of your home page and click on “settings.” When you do this, a new window will open, and you’ll be able to click on the security tab. 

dropbox two step verification

Here, you’ll notice if your two-step verification is either enabled or disabled. If it’s disabled, you can click on the enable link to activate it. 

Just remember that you’ll need to enter your password again when you do this. After that, you’ll get asked if you want the codes to be sent to you as a text message or to a secure app like Google Authenticator. 

When you’ve made your choice, you will need to enter your phone number where Dropbox can send the code. You will also need to give a backup number if you lose your phone.  

The last step involves you being given ten backup codes, which you’ll need to keep in a safe place. Finally, you’ll be able to click on the “Enable Two-Step Verification” button to end this long process. 

6. Use a secure password and a password manager

Using a strong password with a secure password manager is the first step in ensuring that your information is protected online. Using a strong password doesn’t just apply to using Dropbox. 

password management

A strong password will use a combination of symbols, numbers, and lower and upper case letters in your password. You shouldn’t use the same password for everything or the same combination of letters and symbols. Some password managers can even generate a unique and strong password for you.

Having a long password with a different combination of letters and symbols can be overwhelming. Because remembering different passwords can be overwhelming, it’s handy to have a secure password manager. A secure password manager will help you keep your passwords all in one place, so you don’t have to remember them all. 

You can check out our choice for the best password managers for 2022

7. Use a Virtual Private Network (VPN) 

Dropbox can get a general idea of where you are in the world. Also, depending on your IP address, Dropbox will accurately locate where you are. But you can get around this by using a Virtual Private Network (VPN).  

A VPN is a web of connected computers that form an encrypted channel that diverts your online activity from the public server to the server on your VPN network. Thanks to this, Dropbox won’t be able to track your location. 

You can check out some of the best VPNs to protect your location

8. Backup your files to other storage services 

You can use other storage services similar to Dropbox to backup your company’s files. They each have their own built-in security features. Creating a backup will strengthen your security. 

Backups are a necessity when it comes to your company’s data security. This necessity makes it essential to use a strong storage service to protect your data. 

You have the option of setting up your Dropbox account with another file storage service such as Files.com. You can use the integration of Dropbox with Files.com option. 

This option will let you connect your accounts to ensure that your files are synced from the first storage service to the second one. This process will be done automatically, so you don’t have to worry about this. 

9. Consider using alternatives to Dropbox

If you still feel unsafe using Dropbox, choose from some alternatives. There are alternative encrypted storage services that can protect your information. 

These alternatives will have the same features as Dropbox. There’s the extra advantage of these alternatives being unable to see what’s stored on their servers. 

Use a more secure cloud storage alternative

What is pCloud?

You can use pCloud to store your data on your PC securely. It’s a desktop app that builds a safe virtual drive on your PC. With pCloud will be able to effortlessly keep and work with the files you’ve stored in the cloud. 

pcloud

You drag and drop your files and data to your virtual drive or copy the files to your pCloud Drive. You shouldn’t copy and paste the files with big files or large amounts of files. 

You should sync your files for big files or large amounts of information. You should also stop the syncing process when all the files have been successfully uploaded. 

There are added benefits to using a pCloud Drive that include file sharing integrations and synchronization throughout your PC.

Best of all, pCloud is secure. pCloud Crypto is the simplest and most secure way to encrypt data. Using unique client-side encryption your files are safely hidden from any unauthorized access.

Visit pCloud.com now … or read my pCloud review

What is Sync.com?

If you have a small to midsize business, you might want to consider using Sync.com. This service is a solution that assists companies with backing up and recovering data and collaboration. Sync.com is available in on-premise and cloud-based deployment options.

sync

This solution also includes apps that companies can use on Android devices and iPhones

With Sync.com, you will be able to control who has access to shared files by using expiry dates and passwords, email notifications, and uploads. You can also give small access permissions with read-write and read-only controls. 

In case of a ransomware or malware attack, the data recovery and backup will assist you with getting access to an earlier version of your files. You can also use this function to recover a deleted file. 

With Sync.com, Vault Storage also allows your business to archive documents straight to the cloud from your hardware or system. 

Visit Sync.com now … or read my Sync.com review

Consider using Boxcryptor

With Boxcryptor, you’ll have an extra layer of security for storage that’s easy to use. This Windows desktop app will encrypt your folders locally on your PC. 

Boxcryptor is an add-on encryption integration for Dropbox – (and for OneDrive and Google Drive)

boxcryptor

Since it was founded, Boxcryptor has been designed for cloud storage. This design means that Boxcryptor will encrypt each file independently from the other files. This is on top of supporting features such as selective sync. 

With Boxcryptor, you can create a folder with a password. Then all you need to do is drag and drop the files you want to protect. This app will immediately encrypt your files with AES-256 encryption.

Summary

So the question remains, is Dropbox secure? The simple answer is that Dropbox is not very secure. The storage service may have been founded with the best of intentions, but there have been significant security breaches that led to passwords and emails being leaked since then. 

I recommend that if you have any private documents and want to stay private, you should use another cloud storage service or add an extra bit of security using Boxcryptor's add-on encryption. 

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our weekly roundup newsletter and get the latest industry news & trends

By clicking 'subscribe" you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.